Learn Japanese @ Taishou Nippon-des

sakuraguy

Learn Japanese @ Taishou Nippon-des

Hi friends,

Japan is a beautiful country as their language too. Want learn? come on i teach you .. :) also please share among us into this useful thread.

Regards.. Presented by. SakuraGuy

Japanese Characters

Long time ago, Japan didn't have any characters. The oldest literature says mythology was handed down from mouth to mouth. About 5th century, people from China taught they Kanji. But Japanese and Chinese are different languages, so they made Katakana and Hiragana. Katakana were made by priests and scholars to read sacred books. Katakana were made from a part of Kanji. The other side, Hiragana were made by ordinary people but they must be high grade, to use for daily life.

Hiragana were made from running style of kanji. Japanese people didn't throw kanji away. They chose beauty and feeling of sight rather than complication, so nowadays they have 4 kinds of characters (Hiragana, Katakana, Kanji, Romaji).
At Japanese elementary school, they learn hiragana first.

After that they learn kanji and katakana. Hiragana and katakana don't have meaning, they only show sounds. They are phonetic symbols. Only kanji have their meanings. Japanese think when Western people learn Japanese,it is better to learn kanji with hiragana than hiragana only.

Hiragana (The first characters to learn) :

hiragananohyouia3.gif

hiraganahyoyouonbw1.gif

hiraganahyoudakuonjr6.gif

Katakana (For foreign names & loan words using long vowels):

katakanahyoukv5.gif

katakanahyoudakuonvp7.gif

Kanji (First Grades) :

ichinen1gh3.gif

ichinen2tu7.gif

Learn Basic Words :

kurisumasugp5.gif

kurisumasu2lh8.gif

kurisumasu3cr9.gif

iroqe8.gif

youbihv1.gif

GREETINGS
-----------------

Hello - Konnichiwa.
Good Morning - Ohayou. or Ohayou-gozaimasu (Polite way to say)
Good afternoon - Konnichiwa
Good evening - Konbanwa
Good night - Oyasumi or Oyasuminasai
Good bye - Sayounara
See you later - Dewa mata
See you tomorrow - Mata ashita
How do you do - Hajimemashite
I'm glad to see you - Oai-deki-te ureshii-desu
How are you - Ogenki desu-ka
I'm fine - Genki-desu
And you - Anata wa
I'm fine, to - Watashi-mo genki-desu
Thank you - Arigatou Arigatou-gozaimasu.(Polite way to say)

EXPRESSION & REPLIES
-----------------------------------
Thanks - Arigatou or Doumo or Arigotou gozai-masu (Polite way to say)
Thanks a lot - Doumo arigatou or Doumo arigatou gozai-masu (Polite way to say)
You're welcome - Dou-itashimashite
The pleasure is mine - Kochira koso
Sorry / Excuse me / I'm sorry - Gomen or Gomen-nasai or Sumimasen or Moushiwake-arimasen or Moushiwake-gozaimasen
I'm really sorry - Hontou-ni gomennasai or Hontou-ni moushiwake-arimasen or Hontou-ni moushiwake-gozaimasen
That's OK Don't worry about it - Ii-desu-yo or Goshinpai-naku
Never mind - That's all right.Ki-ni shinaide or Shinpai shinaide
Yes - Hai
Yes it is - Hai sou-desu
I got it / I see / I understand - Wakari-masita
I know - Wakatte-imasu
I think so - Sou omoi-masu
Sure / Of course - Mochiron-desu
O.K - Ii-desu or Ii-desu-yo
No - Iie
I don't understand - Wakari-masen
I don't know - Shiri-masen
I didn't know that - Shiri-masen-deshita
I don't think so - Sou omoi-masen

EXTRA STUDIES & LEARN FAST!
-----------------------------------------

When you are asked "Ogenki desuka? (How are you?)"

Usually,you say,"Genki desu.(I'mfine.)"
Other answer's examples are; I'm not good="yoku nai desu."
yoku nai=not good
warui=bad
maa maa=so so
itsumo douri=as usual
yoi,ii=good,OK
byouki=sick
kanashii=sad
happy=siawase
isogashii=busy

"Omedetou" is "Congratulation!" or "Happy...."
You can use it for every good thing.
"Omedetou" or "Omedetou gozaimasu(polite)" is almighty phrases.
We say this for every good news, birthday, anniversaries,holidays, etc.

Happy Birthday is "O-tanjoubi omedetou (gozaimasu) ."
Birthday is "tanjoubi".
When we say it polite, we put "o" on the top,
so "O-tanjoubi is better.
Birth is "tanjou".
Day is "hi".
But in this case, it is put after another words, so we say
"bi".

New Years greeting is "Akemashite Omedetou (gozaimasu)".

have... is "Watashi wa .... wo motte imasu."
motsu=have
I have a pen.="Watashi wa pen wo motte imasu."

When it is animals,
"Watashi wa inu (a dog) wo katte imasu."
"Watashi wa neko wo katte imasu."
kau=have
Inu=dog
neko=cat

I play baseball.="Watashi wa yakyuu wo simasu."
baseball=yakyuu
tennis=tenisu
soccer=sakkaa
suru= do,play

I have a cold.= "Watashi wa kaze wo hiite imasu."
kaze wo hiku=have a cold

like... is "Watashi wa .... ga suki desu."
I like an apple is "Watashi wa ringo ga suki desu."
I=watashi
like=suki
apple=ringo

I love .... is "watashi wa ...wo aishite imasu."
love=aisu

I hate ... is "watashi wa ... wo nikumi masu."
hate=nikumu

I dislike ....is "watashi wa ....ga kirai desu."
dislike=kirau

In Japanese language, it is important whether vowels are long.
For example, "suki" is a verb means "like", but "sukii" is a noun means "skiing".
In Hiragana we write long vowels, "aa" "ii" "uu" "ee" "oo" "ou".
In Katakana we use "". It is not a hyphen."aa" is "a" in Katakana.

FINAL STUDIES
-----------------------

Shikata ga nai:

Its meaning depends on whether "shikata ga nai" is in what kind of context.

(Generally)
It cannot be helped.
There is no help for it.
It is inevitable.
There is nothing for it but to do.
have no choice but to do.
have no other way (than).
It is no use ..ing
helplessly,
against one's will,
unwillingly,
reluctantly,
be obliged to do,

(Or)

be anxious to do
be dying to do
want very much to do
be dying for.

EXAMPLE:

- I am anxious to drink beer - "Watashui(I) wa biiru(beer) wo nomi-taku-te (to drink) shikata ga nai."

Dark - kurai
Darkness - kurayami
Black - kuro
Shadow - kage
Evil - jaaku na
Ichi-ban - (No.1) or Number One

Similar words .. usually say "ai to heiwa" for "love and peace".

Strength and courage

Tsuyosa (strongth)
Chikara (power)
Tairyoku (physical strength)
Seishin-ryoku (mental power)

Clean
Kirei-na (adjective) = not dirty ; neat
Kirei-ni (adverb) = in a clean manner / cleanly
Kirei-ni-suru / Souji-suru (verb) = make clean
Souji (noun) = cleaning

Ice
Koori (noun) = frozen water
Kooru (verb) = freeze
Hiyasu (verb) = cool something

Regard
Chuui = care
Kanshin = attention
Kouryo = consideration
Keii/Sonkei (noun) = respect
Yoroshiku (greeting) = best wishes
Jack ni yoroshiku = give my regards to Jack
Keigu = sincerely yours (at bottom of a letter)

.. Happy Learning ..

To master, have a good talk and practice as "Practice makes Perfect"

SakuraGuy wishes thanks to Yuki for the articles​

'Arigatou'