Honda Integra DC5 FuelConsumption SUCKS

Lancerboy1

Jun 11, 2006
i was told that iVtec can make fuel consumption good, well read on..

I just purchased a 2006 Honda Integra DC5 (auto, non type R)
THe engine is stock K20A3 with Open Pod filter and Tanabe Exhaust muffler.

Travelled 200km, i need pump 25l of petrol. Damn bad FC!

anyone can advise me,

should i buy a piggyback to tune it? will it be better?

ANd if piggyback, other than Kpro, Unichip and EManage ok?

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Go diagnosis check. Most probably it is faulty O2 sensor. I had this problem before....

MKMD428

Aug 21, 2005
johore
like veloc said..best to diagnose first rather jump straight to piggyback. dont waste your money.

FC high is too general..various factors contributes to it..even to the tiniest and simplest of thing.

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
get it checked first...NA cant be so thirsty..

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
That FC is more than a 2JZ-GTE seriously.

afariq

Nov 2, 2005
tuning it should help.. i get 250km for 26l of ron 95.

kaderAE101

Mar 6, 2010
K.L / Ampang
Hi..
Since u just bought the car.. have u done complete servicing..

Flush the auto gearbox
Flush the engine
Look for 3M de carbon .. it removes a lot of carbon...
Change your fuel filter **
Change to K&n drop in filter..
Get a good injector cleaner ..

hope these will bring back yr fuel consumption :)

Lancerboy1

Jun 11, 2006
thanks all brothes for replies.

I guess its the tanabe jasma exhaust? i got that striaght flew in from Japan.

I changed my air filter to Hurricane open pod.

and my ride is a automatic...

did serviving..

hmm any clues?

---------- Post added at 01:02 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:57 AM ----------

and btw, i will go nsh to clear carbon later, i did not clear any carbon yet.

And i realised the carbon smell is very strong whenever i hit redline..

---------- Post added at 01:03 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:02 AM ----------

one more thing, the previous owner did not clear carbon before, only pure city drive..

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Bro...

Open pod and straight flow are known to increase fuel consumption and decrease torque and response for auto. I also had this experience. Use back a drop in filter. Can use aftermarket drop ins like knn. And use high flow s-flow muffler. Do not use oversized pipings too.

Lastly, I strongly urge you to go for diagnosis. It's not expensive. Under hundred. All errors codes will come out and you will know clearly what is wrong with your car. Normally FC this high is caused by faulty O2 sensor and/or AFM (if you car running on AFM). Remember, even though if you tekan kaw kaw, your car is still 2.0 NA. Not 2.0 turbo. And try to go to workshops specialised in honda so that you can get the best out of the diagnosis. You can go to a general one, but the diagnosis machine they use might not be able to show as detail as the ones made specially for honda. Seriously, diagnosis is worth it. Peace of mind for about 80 bucks?

Lancerboy1

Jun 11, 2006
points well noted, never a penny wise pound foolish guy here ;)

yup i will go just that on Monday.

I will post the error here afterwhich.

Stay tuned,my friend ;)

terry_ysk

Nov 26, 2008
serdang
no for flush....flush fluid ll remain inside...even manufacturer not allow flushing..who can guaranty flush is no harm....but can u say freq 5000 km engine & gearbox oil change are not helping......i have done this test....my wira auto...flush after 3 month condemn....after change to other 1 oil change every 10k...now my wira 1.6healthy till now...13yrs oledi...just sharing

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
no for flush....flush fluid ll remain inside...even manufacturer not allow flushing..who can guaranty flush is no harm....but can u say freq 5000 km engine & gearbox oil change are not helping......i have done this test....my wira auto...flush after 3 month condemn....after change to other 1 oil change every 10k...now my wira 1.6healthy till now...13yrs oledi...just sharing
Flush? Flush is ok. Done it before... But use good brands la... I don't know what you mean by flush butI did during one service. The mech pour some engine flush solution into the oil pan, start and let it run for a while, the off engine and drain out the liquid. No problem. Smooth after that. I used 76 brand.

I think for our current technology, oil change of at least 5000km for mineral and 8000km for semi syn is good. There is no use to change every 3000km. This is necessary for old days, but we have to keep in mind the technology of the oil already evolved since then. Oils are built to last longer. Changing too often will only waste money and kill the environment more.

And about gearbox oil... I don't know if it requires change. But I think most people never touch that and the gearbox last over 10 years :biggrin: ??? Actually why have to change if it runs fine without you changing it? Not that I support this action, but just curious.

kaderAE101

Mar 6, 2010
K.L / Ampang
Flush? Flush is ok. Done it before... But use good brands la... I don't know what you mean by flush butI did during one service. The mech pour some engine flush solution into the oil pan, start and let it run for a while, the off engine and drain out the liquid. No problem. Smooth after that. I used 76 brand.

I think for our current technology, oil change of at least 5000km for mineral and 8000km for semi syn is good. There is no use to change every 3000km. This is necessary for old days, but we have to keep in mind the technology of the oil already evolved since then. Oils are built to last longer. Changing too often will only waste money and kill the environment more.

And about gearbox oil... I don't know if it requires change. But I think most people never touch that and the gearbox last over 10 years :biggrin: ??? Actually why have to change if it runs fine without you changing it? Not that I support this action, but just curious.

I agree with u bro.. I also flushed using a good brand for the first time.. after that I changed gear oil regularly..

The life span of the gear box will be good, gear change will be smooth.
The gear oil gets very hot when driving, so oil properties will change after long use... so when the colour not bright red, i'll change it.. :proud:

With new oil, the seals are also protected.. less headache..

NEW comer here!!! I'm 2nd batch GTI owner which using siemens not mmc engine, what can i do to upgrade my existing engine?? is it reasonable if i install turbo kit to my engine...wut choice i hav??? could u guyz help me???