Good double sided tape???

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Hi all,

Just want to ask if anybody got experience with double sided tape on car panels.

The reason is that I would like to stick some rubber or pads to my front passenger door. There has been an accident and even though fixed, wind and road noise can be heard. When I inspect, there is one part that doesn't seal well (got slight gap).

I have tried to stick before, but those stupid cheap tape deteriorated and not only the rubber fall off, but cleaning it up is a PITA. Full of sticky gum that is very tough to clean.

My question is:

1. Anyone got good recommendation of double sided tape?
2. What tape/gum that accessory shops use to stick those LED light strips to car? Is it good?

Thank you...

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Have you tried using 3M double sided tape? It's quite good IMO. I used it to stick my door visor and it been 4 years now. No problems!

ken yeang

3M tape should do the trick, but be careful with imitation 3m tape out there....

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Thank you people... I will try to find ori 3M or some german made tape that Pangyau intro to me a few days ago. I am not so fond of 3M because there are lots of imitation here. Even those door rubber with self adhesive that costs RM8 per meter, the tape at the back says 3M. I was like wtf... That is not even ori 3M.

herrenmann

Sep 2, 2009
Use 3M bro..
Get it from ACE Hardware and u r safe from imitation..
I got my 3M tape there and it's pretty good for my door visor..
:D

boi

Sep 4, 2008
Im also choose 3M...strong but hardly to remove back from the sticked surface...
another one i prefer transparent silicone one...easy to stick out from the surface...

bLACKjAC

Aug 11, 2007
The full name is 3M exterior mounting tape 10mm x8M, selling price is RM18.50. It is hot resistable. the 3M mounting tape (white color) is for internal use, not suitable for outdoor.

Jun 19, 2012
Canada
3M(exterior mounting tape 10mm x8M),
i personally used it...good one in this regard...

mcliong1

Jun 30, 2010
Else than 3M brand any acrylic double tape should perform a good job in that... there also local made sell in Ace or any hardware shop...

---------- Post added at 09:22 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:21 AM ----------

it should hold better although expose to sun n rain..

ABitNuts

Oct 26, 2012
www.abitnuts.com
yup...3M acrylic (exterior) or other brand acrylic tape should be able to handle it. Acrylic can tahan temperature.

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
Everyone is talking about ACE hardware,

Think i should go have a look....

BTW if double sided tape fails....

Maybe can use ELEPHANT glue... (ori and also beware of imi) :idea: