Disgruntled Altis 1.8 Owner

Shamanraj

Known Member
May 4, 2006
Guys,

Here is a story to share. This happened to a colleague of mine and i was with his yesterday. This is the exact complain letter going out to the Toyota Customer Service Center.

Dear Customer Service Manager,

It is a big shock to me after a few months of support from the TOYOTA BAYAN BARU outlet in Penang.
It has been ~ 4 months owning the TOYOTA ALTIS 1.8 PHK 9**8 and the 1st service was superb and the car in general is a good buy.
It is my first time owning a car and I was under the impression that a 113K car should be covered in all area with insurance. To my
surprise, I had a weird crack in my front screen passenger area on the top which seemed unusual as per attached picture.
As you can see, I am an engineer my self and I sincerely don’t believe tempered glass behaves this way if there was any impact towards
it, a force dispersion pattern will be formed as stress relieved patterns on the glass. I believe it’s got to do with reliability of the glass
itself. I was stunned to know when I approached the sales branch in Bayan Baru on 11/27 during my lunch hours and attended by Mr.Nikolas
that my car insurance does not cover for windscreen, the salesman who attended to me Mr.Ken was apparently absent attending to some
personal issues in the hospital according to him. Guess what after that, when I told them I am suspecting it’s a reliability issue, they turned
around saying to me that TOYOTA does not warranty the windscreen and other parts of the car except for the engine. I was caught with
surprise in what 6 or 7 star safety test was being run that it doesn’t catch this serious safety issue. It could endanger the life of the people in the car.

Well I had to take the car on my own to the shop to replace the car, well Mr Nikolas did say that he will dispatch one of his runner Mr Shukur to assist me,