Converting FF to FR

Danny

After sitting in Stanley's S14 gian already. Can a 4 wheel drive gearbox be locked at the front, thus converting the car into a FR? How can this be implemented, if at all possible?

paultantk

May 22, 2004
someone posted about it in zth before. dont know real or not lar. he says a wrx did it.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/index....=28352&p=474331

but...

CarismaGT
it is possible for WRX bcos of the engine layout... the flywheel positioning are more or less facing the same side with the FR cars...where by the Evos are not.. there is this aftermarket gadget for STI8 that u can switch the power to RWD....

the WRX u saw in the Japan GT in Sepang couple of years back are running on 2WD and its RWD....

MitonCT26

Nov 16, 2003
Seremban
hehehe...danny...bitten the drifting bug eh...kakakkaa :lol:

buy FR car la..buy toyota KE30 and put 12A rotary inside enough already... :lol: :P

i dun think so can convert to FR leh..our gearbox config cannot permit it leh..

unless you pasang one FR halfcut terus la.. :P

Danny

haha yea la after experience drifting on a FR an FF can throw away already..keke so much more fun compared to a FF.

MitonCT26

Nov 16, 2003
Seremban
buy KE70 leh...cheap cheap + halfcut + pasang = less than rm 15K. ;)

if you mati mati want your putra become FR can la...pasang 4WD front driveshaft take out lor... :lol: :P :lol: :P

power terus out 50% :P

DRFT_240sx

seldom see s14 in malaysia... got pix of it

cmng

yea.. i saw stanley drive it when i pick up some stuff from him yesterday night
S14A SHARK EYE

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
a WRX in taiwan is doing it.... he lock the front gearbox.... :D

jethrel

May 18, 2004
So Danny, gonna convert to FR ar?

At autoworld, there's a Ford Escort MK2 (2 door) for sale wor ... FR ... still stock original engine ...

FR / RWD for life ... :D

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Originally posted by evo3@Dec 31 2004, 11:34
a WRX in taiwan is doing it.... he lock the front gearbox.... :D
Got any links to read about it?

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
teamshadowrider.multiply.com
hmm
i heard too
the ECU (or smtg like that) in WRX can set weight distribution among the F and R tayar...

Danny

jethrel, just wondering about the possibilities la..keke

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
i think perdanas can be converted to FR. cause they can just bolt on the 4wd system right?

but power distribution is another thing la.

It might share as much in common with Volkswagen’s road-going Touareg as abstinence and the porn industry but the all-new Touareg Race 3 is ready to ravage the Atacama desert in the upcoming Dakar Rally...