Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Volkswagen CC

• Mercedes C200

• Total voters
Apr 30, 2013
My company has very kindly allowed me to pick my own company car (woohoo!) and I've narrowed it down to a few makes/models after test drives. I'm not particularly knowledgable about cars which is why I'm here to get feedback from more knowledgable people (aka you).

Criteria are:
Efficient running costs (fuel consumption, maintenance costs etc etc)
Driving experience.

Makes/Models:

#1 BMW 320i
#2 Audi A4 1.8 TSI (comes with Bang & Olufsen as standard :D)
#3 Volkswagen CC
#4 Mercedes C200

Personally I am partial to the 320i and VW CC for the drive, but I really like the look of the Audi (though I hear the repair/spare parts costs are insane) while the Mercedes has a lot of convenience with regards to service and repair (4 years unlimited mileage warranty).

Could I get some feedback regarding these makes/models? Any input would be much appreciated.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
The BMW 320i is the newest model among the group so one can say that it is ahead of the A4 and C class in terms of new technology. The A4 is a front wheel drive car like the CC, so it probably won't handle as well as the 320i and C class. Volkswagen CC is the largest among the group since it belongs in a different car size category. The C200 is the oldest model among the group. In my humble opinion, you should consider the 320i as it is the newest one among the group and it comes with a 8 speed automatic transmission.

leonl

Aug 16, 2009
USA
#5 Bentley Continental GT.

Company car right ? Tell them if no Bentley, you quit !! :biggrin:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Hehe saw the same post in LYN.
Anyway if it's company car, why bother much about maintenance?? Company will pay anyway, right? Or you have to bear the maintenance cost?

alwinnng

Sep 22, 2012
golf gti yo

free 5 yrs warranty

---------- Post added at 12:17 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:16 AM ----------

golf gti yo

free 5 yrs warranty

Wah! you are pretty high up the ladder to get these model of cars. VW CC fo me.....:biggrin:

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
My ex company director had just bought Audi A6 Hybrid as company car. Price is less than 300k. Can consider that. If not, my vote is on 320

Audi A6 Hybrid, if own car, I would recommend cuz is real cheap for that kind of specs and is Audi A6.

But if company car, is there any price range? If not, could consider 5 series instead :rofl:
I mean if there is no limit, there are so many to choose from besides what was listed in your wish list.

Is like why A4 if can get A6 sort of thing.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Audi A6 Hybrid, if own car, I would recommend cuz is real cheap for that kind of specs and is Audi A6.

But if company car, is there any price range? If not, could consider 5 series instead :rofl:
I mean if there is no limit, there are so many to choose from besides what was listed in your wish list.

Is like why A4 if can get A6 sort of thing.
A4 1.8 is at 235k while the A6 Hybrid is at 280k. 45k difference. Maybe his company had a budget for him? But I do agree that the A6 Hybrid is worth is at 280k.

Yup, if me I would get a Subaru WRX STi as company car :rofl: RM260K :biggrin:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Yup, if me I would get a Subaru WRX STi as company car :rofl: RM260K :biggrin:
The boss would kill you for the fuel consumption. Worst if he doesn't know about cars. Asking things like "Why your car 2.5 litre(non JDM models of WRX STI are 2.5 right? only JDM are using 2.0) also consume more fuel than those higher cc cars? Waa, you car look so ugly compared to korean makes and still consumes so much fuel. Your car cacat ah, now still using manual?"

I know many common people who doesn't care about cars will say something like that.

The boss would kill you for the fuel consumption. Worst if he doesn't know about cars. Asking things like "Why your car 2.5 litre(non JDM models of WRX STI are 2.5 right? only JDM are using 2.0) also consume more fuel than those higher cc cars? Waa, you car look so ugly compared to korean makes and still consumes so much fuel. Your car cacat ah, now still using manual?"

I know many common people who doesn't care about cars will say something like that.
Then consider Legacy Wagon then :rofl: A/T turbocharged :biggrin:
Can always say, since you gave permission to choose the car I like, then this is the car I like.
Got to be man of your word. :rofl:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Then consider Legacy Wagon then :rofl: A/T turbocharged :biggrin:
Can always say, since you gave permission to choose the car I like, then this is the car I like.
Got to be man of your word. :rofl:
Legacy looks less racer-like unlike Impreza WRX STI. Then maybe your boss might not be so noisy over the legacy. But still packs enough power to outrun your boss's car if he is using cars like E class, 5 series, S class or 7 series. If your boss using AMG or BMW M series, then different story already la.

BMW 335i is a good choice too :biggrin: 300HP, 3.0L twinturbo inline-six. I would pick this
over BMW 320i. Should be able to give the Legacy a good run. Never try never know yet :biggrin:

Just love the sound from the exhaust...:top:

2013 BMW 335i Coupe - YouTube

But among the 4 listed, I would still go for BMW.

hi all i saw modification of this on bike.
i just wonder if it will work on car's engine

its a thing to let us save fuel, and preserve the low end torque.

see the pic, (plz dun mind it is a 2 stroke, more later)
it menas when the intake is close, there is something like 'reverse flow' of fuel+air
or maybe it means momentum of intake air still comming in
so the reserve actually can hold it (something like the air inside get compressed?)
than when the intake open again it can suck from...