Best Spark Plugs for 3SGTE

TaE|VoN

To all 3SGTE users,

What is the best spark plug for 3SGTE?

My 3SGTE is the 2nd gen 225ps version for MR2...

Read from the 3SGTE power primer website that the NGK 6097 copper spark plugs
is good for 3SGTE.

Another other good recommendation.

Tell you guys wat. I'm now using oem proton spark plugs on my car.

:D

HKS 30i Iridium Spark Plugs on my car.
RM160/RM260 I think...forgot liao.
Buy in N1 in Sunway.
BKR6EP8 I think is the original spark plug.
Make sure gapping is 0.7-0.8mm if not u might have misfiring.

Originally posted by MRMIC2@Dec 7 2004, 23:47
Buy in N1 in Sunway.
So late mic still surfing ZTH ah.
I'm at work now. Night shift. Kindda bored now.

my own application, NGK BCP6ES(low boost), BCP7ES(high boost)

0.9 - 1.0 bar still consider low boost rite?

planning to up boost to around 1.0 bar using the stock ecu...

do able? Gonna bypass the fuel cut system.

Originally posted by MRMIC2@Dec 7 2004, 23:47
Buy in N1 in Sunway.
Mic, i think quite difficult to find 0.7mm - 08mm gap spark plugs leh...

I cannot go N1 lah. I'm in JB leh.

Originally posted by TaE|VoN@Dec 8 2004, 19:32

errr

dont bypass the fuel cut at 1 bar UNLESS u've already upgraded ur fuel delivery system.
dont want u to end up wif a blown engine, thats wat happened to me

Originally posted by krow+Dec 9 2004, 17:06 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (krow @ Dec 9 2004, 17:06 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-TaE|VoN@Dec 8 2004, 19:32

errr

dont bypass the fuel cut at 1 bar UNLESS u've already upgraded ur fuel delivery system.
dont want u to end up wif a blown engine, thats wat happened to me [/b][/quote]
Ok. Guys.

Bought my HKS iridium spark plugs today at singapore Garage R for S$117
A guy there by the name of Lance was very friendly. Thumbs up for service.

Guess wat krow.
Today we boost my car to 1.2bar successfully, and yes i'm still running on proton oem spark plugs.

Gonna install HKS spark plugs in tomoro and install a AFR gauge to see hows the mixture in the combustion chamber.

Hope everything will turn out good for me.

Krow: I'm not using 1.2 bar for daily driving. Just for Sunday's drag at P.G circuit.

I will push my stock car to the limit. Everything stock. Internals and ECU.
See wat our 3SGTE are capable of.

don worry ...yours is gen 2 225 can push 1.2......my fren in ipoh gen 1 225 running stock engine ,1.6 mm metal gasket,2 sub injector,piggy back com,pushing 1.5 bar .....notting hapen

tae,

check some articles on pinging and detonation on turbocharged cars. mine was a gen 2, 225hp air cooled 3sgte from a 185. i bypassed the fuel / boost cut at 1 bar by using a RM5 DIY FCD. everything else was stock.

i was boosting 1.2 bar for around 10 secs before the 3rd piston blew. was on a top speed run and had a boost controller on (set at 1.2bar). on sprints before that it was OK, as i only reached 1.2bar for a few seconds. anyhow, after i did the FCD, the engine lasted around 3 sprints and 1 high speed run at 1.2bar.

if u wanna run safe. install the following

1. high capacity fuel pump
2. 540cc injectors x 2 (get the drop in supra TT side feed)
3. some fuel management gadget to contol the injectors
4. a fuel pressure regulator
5. a fuel pressure meter

like MK said, get a spare engine ready. :D
im not putting u down at all and definitely encourage your testing on the 3sgte. (im driving one too). just dont wanna see u holding a piston with a hole in it... like wat happened to me hehe

good luck!

Thanks Krow for the advice.

Had the O2 sensor on today to my car.
at 1.2 bar, car is running super lean. haha.
Somehow today we hit 1.4 bar max with everything stock.

Installed HKS spark plugs to the car.
Down boost to 1.0 bar
Took out my HKS exhuast. Now running with no exhuast.
Sounds great. (Now it sounds more like a car, it was a pussy with the drager)

Ok. Test run. Reach max boost sooner than i expect. A few more kph speed increase over the same area. No timer to time my run.

Keep practising my launch today. Quite back.

Launch my car at 3k rpm. Bad. Response too slow.
Launch car at 5-6k rpm. Wheel spin like hell. Bad.
Still practising launch at around 4.5k rpm like that. not bad.
I'm now using 16" 205 Eagle F1 at my rear. Not bad for that tyre.

Tomoro will try to fit in a 15" Nitro Drag Slicks. The slicks very big. Donno can fit my car or not. If can. :D :D If cannot also nvm. Still got 15" semi slicks standing by. AV gas going into my car as well.

de blues' : I'm running 3sgte completely stock. no metal head gasket. no extra injectors. no nothing. 99% stock. 1% for the HKS spark plugs.

Hope my car continue running good for this sunday's dreamcar asia's event in Johor Circuit.

Originally posted by krow@Dec 10 2004, 09:25
tae,

check some articles on pinging and detonation on turbocharged cars. mine was a gen 2, 225hp air cooled 3sgte from a 185. i bypassed the fuel / boost cut at 1 bar by using a RM5 DIY FCD. everything else was stock.
krow: i know bout all those dangerous things. But then wat i lack is the dough.
Most of the equipment i have is borrowed items. I only paid for the spark plugs and the av gas. rest FOC.

I didn't DIY a FCD. I just away airflow tubing to the turbo pressure there. then everything bypass already. but then still got some engine check problem when we boost to 1.2 bar. Check engine light comes on. Have to reset ecu. then 2nd time ok. Donno why. Haha

Originally posted by de blue's@Dec 8 2004, 22:48
im using hks s45i ....very good
Hehe...your car very high horsiepower canuse 45i lar...we lower horsiepower use ..sparkplug sure koyak very fast wan...not our heat range..hehe

Originally posted by TaE|VoN+Dec 8 2004, 19:39 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (TaE|VoN @ Dec 8 2004, 19:39 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-MRMIC2@Dec 7 2004, 23:47
Buy in N1 in Sunway.
Mic, i think quite difficult to find 0.7mm - 08mm gap spark plugs leh...

I cannot go N1 lah. I'm in JB leh. [/b][/quote]
BKR6EP-8 is 0.8mm ori settings..
If you buy HKS spark plugs...I think also 0.7mm-0.8mm setting.
If you use too big gap and u using stock ignition system,might misfire on boost ler... ;)