Be careful! New version of pick-pocket, now push-pocket

carworld

Feb 2, 2009
www.carworld.my
PUSH-POCKET IN KUALA LUMPUR

I am sure you all have heard of 'pick pocket'.
A new trend 'push pocket'.
Read on..

A few days ago a new type of crime has surfaced in town.
It goes something like this:-
Somebody slips a hand-phone into your pocket,
sometimes it could be just a wallet with
an identity card and a few RM.

A few minutes later, the 'owner' comes up and confronts
you, the 'thief '. He makes a big commotion that you
stole his stuff.

You, caught unaware, are then pulled aside by the 'owner'
for a settlement. You are intimidated and threatened that
if you do not pay up the police will be brought in.
If you pay up, this 'owner' lets you go.
If not, the police are brought in.

Another strange thing is that there always seems to be a
'witness' to your 'theft'.

I am told this often happens to foreigners at the Kuala
Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) or even at LRT trains.
Given that you're 'guilty until proven innocent' as far
as the Malaysian police are concerned, I understand some
poor people are in jail for these 'offences'..

At the KLIA, the 'owner' throws his hand-phone and wallet
with the few ringgit notes into the luggage trolley of a
just arrived passenger.
The drama unfolds a few minutes later. The real culprit has
easily convinced our Malaysian police to arrest the real
victim (if he has not paid up the 'settlement' demand).
This is a very serious matter.

This is another form of extortionists operating in broad
daylight.
They are disgusting criminals! As who will do anything to
rob and steal. The sickening part of the whole scenario is
that unless you pay the 'quoted settlement' money, they
will put you in real trouble by calling the police.

The real culprit gets back his hand-phone and wallet but the
real victim ( i.e. could be any one of us) is thrown into
the police lock up and charged in court.

So do be careful, otherwise you may end up as a 'thief' as
you have no way to prove your innocence.

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
Always watch your personal belongings, don't leave them unattended even for 1 minute.

Hi. I need a GOOD workshop around subang/sunway/puchong area that can help me solve some problem of my car. My interior got alot of sound and dunno whether exterior got any or not. I want a GOOD workshop that can help me get rid of those sounds so that my car can be solid like original. Any recommendations? Thx.

marcus 0122042820