Aluminium engine internals?

ken yeang

I'll be doing an overhaul of my 1.6 car engine. I'm just wondering if having aluminium piston and aluminium flywheel can make difference in terms of hp gain and fuel consumption?. What would be the disadvantages using aluminium engine parts?, prices of these part? izit very expensive?

ken yeang

Cek Pit,

aluminium piston not necesary forged, it can be cast aluminium. Both oso aluminium.......I want to know if aluminium piston any better than standard piston....in terms of engine performance, broadly speaking la....

AcuraV

May 12, 2005
Jb
ken yeang said:
Cek Pit,

aluminium piston not necesary forged, it can be cast aluminium. Both oso aluminium.......I want to know if aluminium piston any better than standard piston....in terms of engine performance, broadly speaking la....

aluminium certain better than ur stock. cos it special made for ur car requirement whether more lower or higher comp.

Cek Pit

Banned
Apr 16, 2006
nothing!...maybe slight difference...only difference is when you start altering the compressions...

ken yeang

oh,,,,,,how abt aluminium flywheel? can it do any good to the engine?

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
SkYwAlKeR said:
slight performance increase compare to the price u pay... u are better off getting some other performance parts.....
agreed. if comp ratio is the same, you theorically only feel better respond from the engine. same goes for the flywheel.

ken yeang

Skywalker,

In short, u suggest it's better to invest my money on other performance part for my stock 1970s corrola engine. what else can I do to the engine beside using weber carb and better air filter? I wish to retain the stock engine though as it got sentimental value to me.......hehehe....

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
ken yeang said:
Skywalker,

In short, u suggest it's better to invest my money on other performance part for my stock 1970s corrola engine. what else can I do to the engine beside using weber carb and better air filter? I wish to retain the stock engine though as it got sentimental value to me.......hehehe....
1970... a 3K engine? you wanna keep both the engine head and block?

prodigy

Aluminium is actually quite soft you know. Unless of course, its composite aluminium ie. those already mixed with other materials to make it tougher. Audi uses aluminium composite for its chasis and the main benefit is the lightness and rigidity.

Besides, aluminium has got pretty low melting point and i'm not exactly sure but i think its not really suitable to be used at high temperature or those under high stress ie. engine components.

IMHO, you're better off buying aftermarket engine internals that are proven.

ken yeang

rollakid said:
1970... a 3K engine? you wanna keep both the engine head and block?

hehe,,,ya, that's the engine...so how ar?

Cek Pit

Banned
Apr 16, 2006
just skim the flywheel while u change the clutch...more economical than putting webers...gas guzzlers.

omnikron

Dec 13, 2005
just a simple engineering point of view. lighter internals means better engine response because lesser energy lost to push the pistons.

but are you sure it's aluminum and not forged steel pistons? because aluminum pistons are pretty expensive.