Adjustable Coilovers

anyone tried tien type basci before? heard it tune for malaysian road..:Not_Impressed:

tein type basic is the soft version much like type wagon.
comfort is the main priority.

yes Tein type basic is for comfort ride. supposed to give u same effect as original absorbers.. and its only Hi Lo ... no soft hard... costs around 24++ ......

anyawwys GT-AUTO,
thanks for your recommendation on Tein SS!!!! its amazing... great .... makes you wet!!! hahaha but of course its a big burn in my pockets now.... but u just can't say no to taking high speed long corners anymore..... u can just push it harder and harder.....
No effect of over steer or understeer felt.... just nice.... in and out .....
if i were to rate this TEIN SS, i would give it a 9 out of 10...... 1 point out maybe for the price..... hahaha....

Anybody use Koni before? I heard that is Semi adjustable. Can adjustable hi lo soft hard. Price around Rm1000++

just wanna enquire/need ur opinion,

i got HKS hiper D (HiLO/SoftHard) taken out from evo 4,
i wanna suit with waja 1.6(M).

question is:-
1. is it too stiff?

2. rear abs got some nut like air nut (same as tube head-dont know what to call it). what is it for?

3. how to use soft hard setting (front) ot some pulley whch can pull to clock wise & anti clockwise about 13 setting. what mean if i pull it clockwise? or anticlockwise?

tqvm all.

powergigi,glad to hear that u like it.

t_trax100,it would be very stiff for ur car.the suspension is attended for
evo4 that weighting 1380kg while waja only tip the scale around 1200kg.
that's not all,evo4 is a 4wd car while ur's a ff car.as i mention before,the
spring rate tend to be the same on all 4 corner to avoid the evo squat
while accelerating.this suspension is as stiff as hipermax 2 n tend for
drift or gymkhana where u go fast in a tight corner.imo,it will be stiff for
u unless u like stiff suspension.
about the knob,i can remember which way to harden n soften the damping
of the absorber.about the nut u mention,i realy don't know.maybe it's there
so u can add more gas in it to make it more stiffer or it tend to make
the suspension more easier to service..:regular_smile:

powergigi,glad to hear that u like it.

t_trax100,it would be very stiff for ur car.the suspension is attended for
evo4 that weighting 1380kg while waja only tip the scale around 1200kg.
that's not all,evo4 is a 4wd car while ur's a ff car.as i mention before,the
spring rate tend to be the same on all 4 corner to avoid the evo squat
while accelerating.this suspension is as stiff as hipermax 2 n tend for
drift or gymkhana where u go fast in a tight corner.imo,it will be stiff for
u unless u like stiff suspension.
about the knob,i can remember which way to harden n soften the damping
of the absorber.about the nut u mention,i realy don't know.maybe it's there
so u can add more gas in it to make it more stiffer or it tend to make
the suspension more easier to service..:regular_smile:

thanks to GT AUTO 4 ur explaination..
yup its really stiff to my car even i set it to the minimum soft level...
waja weight is 1185kg while evo4 is 1350kg...
but if need stiff setup it is the best..cornering superb..but no comfortable to
bring family...hehehee..

already check wif Suspension specialist at Sri Kembangan, the air nut is for gas...
soft / hard level for rear abs is upper the abs by using allen key.

that's hot bits right david?well,there's hardly anyone use it cos of the price.
it's quite expensive.with the price that u pay for dt-1,i think u can buy tein
super street liow.which 1 will u choose if u have that kind of money,tein or
hot bits?:regular_smile:

that my friend,u have to ask melissa liow...hehehehe....i think dt-1 also
expensive to service cos it's also come with damping adjustable.

hi guys i'm now using hwl 8kg front 5kg rear on my gen2. sometimes i find it a bit too stiff and recently there're a lot of irritating noises when going over potholes or uneven roads but i still enjoy my coilovers. my question is will changing it to progressive spring helps? thanx.

8kg front for 1.6 gen2 is kinda stiff, usually meant for 1.8L engines... try 7kg or so....

yes, changing to progressive soften the ride abit... a lil more comfy...

talking bout absorber, based on my experience its all bout what did u expect frm your car.for street driving better go street use abs or apm,monroe or stock absorber hot bits, d1 blaa...
if u kaki corner of coz your need a stiff setup. there is no magic absorber that can handle fast tight corner and soft enough to absorb any bumpy road in malaysia.
even me in hiway puchong heading to cyberjaya i oso bawak 80kmh bcos the road is really bumpy.bcos im using a hard setup.
but during corner i even can half or full throttle in the apex line.ehehehe!!!
problem here u guys using hafkat abs, u need to tune it. my advise if ure buying hafkat absorber, go for hi-low and soft hard or soft hard.bcos soft hard setup are important to suit your vehicle weight,your driving behaviour and skills.
im personally using cusco abs.what i did to my setup is front stiff and softer on rear,bcos my car is FF.
so ppl,tepuk dada tanya selera. kita makan dulu!

for those can afford the edfc go for tien adjusterble and install the edfc. sure u wont regret.....

but its really bumpy when i travel on straight road...on uneven road its still ok..when i put it on soft,its more worst.....really headache...haha..

listen to raja.what he said it's true."tepuk dada,tanya selera".:biggrin:

but its really bumpy when i travel on straight road...on uneven road its still ok..when i put it on soft,its more worst.....really headache...haha..

that should be the re-bounce of the spring is too high while your absorber's re-bounce duty setting too low causing the abs unable to hold the car during re-bounce cycle.

don buy halfcut abs la.....tend to be very very hard like track car, why don u buy a new set of gab, hwl, hotbits for ur car? so uc an pair with different spring to ur car to suit ur taste....more easy for u also...if u wan combine racing n comfortable then use gab or HWL hi low soft hard abs...got warranty somemore

my wira using HWL MT-4 hi low soft hard, 8k front,6k rear spring rate.

if i wan take peopls then i just turn the knob under the car to harder then even u lowered ur car too low also can prevent those hump....or u wan comfort then turn the knob to soft then will be like performance ABS.....i bought for 2400++

may i ask a silly question. where we turn the knob? is it near the absorber spring there? so we need to turn 4 times for 4 tyres?