Superstrut hell

xMika

Feb 28, 2010
superstrut hell !:rofl: cant wait to try out the superstruts ~ another 2 weeks to complete my car ~

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
hi all SS user. how do you all adjust camber angle on SS?

xMika

Feb 28, 2010
I think no point trying to adjust camber on Superstrut because it will stay at 90degree right angle to the road lol ..

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
The biggest enemy for SS lower arms are hammer and water. If you direct hit the ball joint with hammer (in order to separate it from the halfcut) the ball joint will get kill instantly! Some mech like to do that because it just greatly cut down their work time. If this happened, you will get kok kok sound coming from the suspension.
To avoid the above problem, some smarter mech tends to side hit the ball joint (to apply impact to separate the arms) but most of the time the ball joint's rubber cover will get hit at the same time. This will slightly lifted the rubber and allow water to seep inside and damage the moving part (and you will get eeek eeeek sound), especially during raining season. This explain why some ppl blame that SS lower arms only last for a year.
So if you want to have a longer lasting and hassle free lower arms, ALWAYS USE A PULLER!!!
how much u buy the tools?

i might change to SS :biggrin:

xMika

Feb 28, 2010
its quite easy to get super strut arms isnt it .. just look for ST202 or ST205 which is quite common in halfcut shops ..

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
its quite easy to get super strut arms isnt it .. just look for ST202 or ST205 which is quite common in halfcut shops ..
my car is ae101.. can interchange meh?

JAP_AUTOPARTS

Nov 5, 2009
PENANG
I do believe that super strut from st202 and AE111 is not compatible..... Last time i have compare it and i found out the lenght is abit different...

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
bring up an issue & they'll show up :biggrin:

yloon

Mar 31, 2005
recently my superstrut noisy for the 2nd time.
now both side noisy, it last only around 30k km or less.

Any mechanic that can diagnose properly rather than just replace figure 8 and control arm? in fact i dont see anything wrong with the old figure 8 and the control arm that taken out last time too.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
u should buy either 1 of this tool.. it's to open ur superstrut..

usually mechanics doesn't have this special tools.. they'll use hammer to open it.. so, u need to buy it urself..

picture credit to mr levin818 :wink:

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
From my experienced, I need to use both of these tools.

this one to remove upper joint

and this one to remove lower joint

yloon

Mar 31, 2005
but from the half cut, mechanic also knock or hammer out the figure 8 and the control arm out.
unless buying new, the figure 8 and control arm is come separately.

me2kimi and D7zul, do you guys DIY to repair your SS?

Hi guys, just wanna know if any of you or your friends lost a BLUE Proton Wira.
If yes, please state out what it has on its' exterior mods...

Will tell you the location if it matches.

You may pm me if you want...

Cheers! :beer: