V6TT, EVO3, RVR & VR4 which to choose for easy maintenance?

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
i m currently searching for a 2nd hand perdana already transplant
budget around 20K+ cash

from my survey i found that there r 4 kinds of engine can transplant into perdana

1.V6TT
2.EVO2-3
3.RVR
4.VR4

and from some of the forumer saying that V6TT will have a higher maintenance and the turbo easy spoil especially that one at the back due to no air blow to that turbo. and the cost of maintenance is very much higher due to V6 timing belt, water pump, labour .....etc

Evo 2 - 3 the drive shaft (long one) easy spoil due to the angle and mounting not same with lancer but evo 3 is easy to maintain

VR4 is way too old already and not recomended

RVR this one is 4G63T same with EVO2-3 but wat;s the different???

thanks for the advise!!!

and from some of the forumer saying that V6TT will have a higher maintenance and the turbo easy spoil especially that one at the back due to no air blow to that turbo. and the cost of maintenance is very much higher due to V6 timing belt, water pump, labour .....etc

**actually its not that true, cos the radiator fans are designed to blow air up onto the bonnet & into the rear so that the rear turbine is cooled. so far mine has been 4 years still have not serviced my turbine yet. still spooling well....but for me, i jacked my bonnet abit as hot air could be released more efficiently.

Evo 2 - 3 the drive shaft (long one) easy spoil due to the angle and mounting not same with lancer but evo 3 is easy to maintain

**yes its kinda true. thats y u cant lower your car too low. need to use thicker tyre series.
i heard the best is evo 2, but not sure how true is that.

VR4 is way too old already and not recomended
**but the engine block is very rigid, some ppl uses evo 3 head with Vr4 block.

RVR this one is 4G63T same with EVO2-3 but wat;s the different???
**ecu, injectors, turbine, its like a detuned 4g63T version. its a cheaper alternative to evo 1-3
same goes for VR4.

thanks for the advise!!!

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
bro, the long drive shaft for that EVO3 how much ah??

every time change die also

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya
vote for 4g63T - evo or rvr or eclipse..

fyi, if u maintain stock, the maintenance is ok.
but for v6tt, it requires more work due to the v6 configuration and limited space to work with.
for 4g63 engine, more space to work and less hassle to do any operation..

if u can get perdana + evo3 engine with rm20k, better go for that lah..

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
i search in Mudah.com for a 95-97 manufacturer year pedana With EVO 3 or V6TT or RVR is around 23K - 30K

i still consider which to go with?

i scare the 1st time maintanence will cost me a boom

EVO drive shaft really cost alot problem????

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya
i think if the driveshaft (DS) still use the elbow (2 pieces) for the long one, ok kot..
and if u always play2 pikap surely any DS will break.

i have not experienced any DS failure since i transplant rvr.
but i do encounter some annoying sound from the left tyre area when i play pikap and press accelerator when turning right.
i have changed the DS but sound still there.
i dono if its related to the DS..

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
bro, how much u transplant RVR into ur perdana??

or else i may consider the GSR in Waja or Gen2 - for more reliable

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
how much u do ur RVR transplant all include until OTR?

---------- Post added at 04:28 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:25 PM ----------

any one wanna sell of their perdan with trubo engine without modification?

---------- Post added at 04:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:28 PM ----------

and bro ONE can share ur FC of RVR ??
Ron 95 can use??
easy to look for sparepart of RVR and
how may HP on ur perdana?

thanks thankls thanks

kumar22mostwanted

Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
vr4 lah best rock solid bottom end just change bearing and piston rings good for 1.7/1.8 bar of boost from td05 with good tuning :biggrin:

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
Wat;s the Different btw VR4 and EVO3?

Block more solid, ecu?, wiring? turbo fin? piston? cam shaft? crank? valve? intake?

can interchangeable?

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya
how much u do ur RVR transplant all include until OTR?

---------- Post added at 04:28 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:25 PM ----------

any one wanna sell of their perdan with trubo engine without modification?

---------- Post added at 04:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:28 PM ----------

and bro ONE can share ur FC of RVR ??
Ron 95 can use??
easy to look for sparepart of RVR and
how may HP on ur perdana?

thanks thankls thanks
transplanted rvr all in about rm8.5k.
but i did a lotta miscellaneous stuff also..
engine mount, gb lock to 2wd, wiring, IC piping, IC, 2.5" exhaust piping, 2.75" muffler, 2 layer alum radiator, change belting, new sparkplugs, etc..

my RVR is auto, FC is like perdana v6 auto.
gets about 7.6 km/L town, 11.4km/L hiway.
if manual, sure can get at least 10% better FC.

and yes, i use ron95 no problem.

sparepart quite easy lar, 4g63 engine can interchange items.

hp i dono la, never dyno but stock 4wd RVR gets 220ps=217.14hp=161.81kW (that's hp on crank)
i've seen a wira with auto RVR gets about 165whp (about 25% power loss thru transmission). so i guess my hp is around that la.
my fren's manual RVR gets about 180whp

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
and wat is this

Halfcut mit eclipese 4g63t

selling halfcut RM6000 only

is this RVR??

they claim the mounting exactly same with perdana and no modification og mounting require

so if this engine shouldn't have any drive shaft problem loh??

---------- Post added at 05:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:31 PM ----------

and one more question

how to test a healthy engine??? since i plan to buy 2nd hand perdana!!

from sound? blow off sounf?

need to rav it kau kau to tests or drive slow slow to test? or wa't the technic to test it??

I'm trying to upload a pic of disklok on my car but the damn upload screen keeps on telling me 39.1k is the limit. What is the problem?