Unichip VS E-manage

David_KIA-Racing

Feb 15, 2005
Pahang~KL
www.mynazakia.com
Need help here...

tat day i go Puchong a Unichip dealer,Volvo specialist...
There workman told me if my Kia Sorento install the unichip piggy back ecu,
then change it drop-in air filter,will get more 35-40hp...but the price is RM2499
the price with installation n tuning...

But...now i wanna ask the unichip is same like Greddy E-manage??
If same better i use e-manage,coz is cheaper...:X-:

So pls help here...:cry_smile:

Battousai

Nov 16, 2003
www.durifto.blogspot.com
What's most important is the tuner, not the ECU. This has been discussed many many times.

But if you must know, the E-manage is technically superior. Just make sure you find yourself a good reliable tuner.

David_KIA-Racing

Feb 15, 2005
Pahang~KL
www.mynazakia.com
that mean is a same thing la...also is a piggy back ecu.
Erm...if i buy a new e-manage from N1,them will help tuning tat ecu,then can get more hp??

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
David_KIA-Racing said:
Need help here...

tat day i go Puchong a Unichip dealer,Volvo specialist...
There workman told me if my Kia Sorento install the unichip piggy back ecu,
then change it drop-in air filter,will get more 35-40hp...but the price is RM2499
the price with installation n tuning...

But...now i wanna ask the unichip is same like Greddy E-manage??
If same better i use e-manage,coz is cheaper...:X-:

So pls help here...:cry_smile:
E-manage wasn't as good as you tot....

alvin24

I'm not too sure of the unichip's specs... compare their specs then u'll know which is better... functionality should be about the same (maybe some extra functions here and there)... just have to see which ones has more mapping points then u'll know which one is better lor.

Needless to say tuner is also very important... but things like this, unichip/emanage... give an experienced tuner do... quite 'sap sap sui'... in other words, easy to tune. So which ever tuner u go to (that has a dyno machine), links, N1 racing, amoil, gt auto... u'd probably get back about the same tuning... they'd just plug up the wideband sensor and tune according to the AF readings. =Þ If standalone like haltech, fcon vpro... that one needs professional tuners coz' got a lotta stuffs you gotta set.

If u ask me... my preference goes to emanage. Why? Coz' its more general, well known, branded, but more importantly; u could tune it anywhere. NOt everywhere can tune the unichip. End up u gotta go back to the same few places... and if u happen to not be happy about their tuning... u don't really have any where else to go. =Þ

David_KIA-Racing

Feb 15, 2005
Pahang~KL
www.mynazakia.com
Lenon,thx for so many information...u got using e-manage now??
Now market for new e-manage is how much??
Erm...which workshop tuner is more professional??

AcuraV

May 12, 2005
Jb
David_KIA-Racing said:

hi..just wonder what car u using? if u driving normal saloon car...better to get emanage price around 1.2-1.4k (prices may vary on different workshop) with installation and dyno tuning and it is more simple and ease of use and also can easily find tuner for emanage and well tuned to ur car.

actually i am using unzip v32 but i don feel it is good for my car ( i use it on my fgt and honda )...secondly it is hard to find different tuner (only one tuner in JB who has the program for unizip, even KL i believe there is only one who has the s/w for unizp)
some more unizip is more expensive, althoght it has more function than emanage but some function is useless unless you add in addtion $$$ for addition module like vtec module and boost module (turbo car), each module cost rm5xx.
price for latest unizip increase up to rm1999 (basic set) i belive JB here rm1999 include first time installation and dyno tunning.

overall i would suggest emange cos commonly use and ease to get tuner here and there.

AcuraV

May 12, 2005
Jb
David_KIA-Racing said:

hi..just wonder what car u using? if u driving normal saloon car...better to get emanage price around 1.2-1.4k (prices may vary on different workshop) with installation and dyno tuning and it is more simple and ease of use and also can easily find tuner for emanage and well tuned to ur car.

actually i am using unzip v32 but i don feel it is good for my car ( i use it on my fgt and honda )...secondly it is hard to find different tuner (only one tuner in JB who has the program for unizip, even KL i believe there is only one who has the s/w for unizp)
some more unizip is more expensive, althoght it has more function than emanage but some function is useless unless you add in addtion $$$ for addition module like vtec module and boost module (turbo car), each module cost rm5xx.
price for latest unizip increase up to rm1999 (basic set) i belive JB here rm1999 include first time installation and dyno tunning.

unizp has more power function but with lack of knowledge on this kind of piggy back, l i would suggest emange cos commonly use and easy to get tuner here and there.

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
David_KIA-Racing said:
Firstly why did RS-Impression quote you RM2499??.... Do you have turbo in your Kia Sorento?? From what i know RM2499 includes turbo module.... If you don't have turbo then it would be RM1899.... I knew Anthony from JB Viswork... N i went purposely to his shop for opinion on the ecu i bought back from Aus.... I can see that car is he's interest, not the income....

I 'm using E-manage (it's come in package) n i feel that it's useless to new models car which runs on 32bit original ECU (RX8, Integra, 350Z and etc)..... Some tuners found E-Manage quite unaccurate in some point..... They vary the Air Fuel ratio from rich to lean, but the HP remains the same...... I gonna change it soon....

The E-manage works well on my bro's Civic Type-R..... It can easily get 200hp on wheel.... It's all depends on wat car and Tuner......

David_KIA-Racing

Feb 15, 2005
Pahang~KL
www.mynazakia.com
thx all taikor gv so many good information for me~thx...
Yup...my Sorento is 2.5 CRDi intercooler turbo.
RS-Impression told me if i use Unichip n tuning good will get more 30-40hp,
if NA car jz will up more 8-15hp only...turbo car is more different.

My car i oso duno is how many bit ecu,but i got the ecu diagram...
In KL town got who is good for tuning n install the e-manage??
i call N1 there jz for sale,no workman install n tuning,so cheap...

alvin24

David_KIA-Racing said:
thx all taikor gv so many good information for me~thx...
Yup...my Sorento is 2.5 CRDi intercooler turbo.
RS-Impression told me if i use Unichip n tuning good will get more 30-40hp,
if NA car jz will up more 8-15hp only...turbo car is more different.

My car i oso duno is how many bit ecu,but i got the ecu diagram...
In KL town got who is good for tuning n install the e-manage??
i call N1 there jz for sale,no workman install n tuning,so cheap...
N1's price is 1.4k for basic package inclusive of installation and tuning. If you want ignition harness... i think have to top up 200 bucks. =) So total is 1.6k.

alvin24

additional wiring for the emanage.. so that you can tune ur ignition timing...

Umm... not to insult or anything... but if u don't happen to know these things... that most probably u won't need it. =Þ mite as well save up and do other upgrades.

mojam

Feb 24, 2005
David, I installed Unichip a week back and got 34hp out of it.... It was on a Volvo B230FT Turbo engine...... the hp was still gaining at redline and we didn't get to fully tune it again due to time factor... the car is still there cos I didn't want to take it out yet... gonna retune it again... I think 40hp gain at 6K rpm is posible.....

I also heard good things about e-manage... superchip... and other ecu wonders.... have fun tuning the car....

David_KIA-Racing

Feb 15, 2005
Pahang~KL
www.mynazakia.com
mojam,u driving Volvo which model??That day i drive a S80 go there repair,
then RS-impression say the unichip how good how good,but no $$$ la~Hehe...
The boss tat demo car Volvo 940 turbo got 300++hp,crazy man...

mojam

Feb 24, 2005
It's a 760 Turbo station wagon..... lefty... Yeah, Unichip drills a hole in your pocket.... but for me, I have very little choice when it comes to EMS/piggyback ECU.... most of the stuff are from over seas and nobody can install/tune it here... warranty also don't have.....

Plus, in my opinion, I think he does a good job. The person tuning the Unichip is Robyn, a smart/genius feller with a lot of patience. So, I'm happy besides the fact that my pocket liao already.... hahaha...... I'm not a full supporter of Unichip but I do recomend it if you have cash to spare and your car is turbo/super charged.... I do not recommend it for NA engine as the gains are ridiculusly low.....

David_KIA-Racing

Feb 15, 2005
Pahang~KL
www.mynazakia.com
mojam,ur car is gold colour,right??I saw ur car in workshop,got a big s/rims.Right??
So ur car now got how many hp??Izzit original engine??
I hear fren say E-manage cannot use in Diesel car.Izzit??Not all same meh,jz the ecu only mah~
I scare when i use unichip or EMS,got many problem for my car...
then when rosak,warranty oso not approval lo~Hai...duno how la.

Ur 760wagon so nice,tat day i go Turbo Lim try the S60 T5(unichip)
he say this car got 245hp...wow!!!And hear the ekzos sound.Damn nice man~

mojam

Feb 24, 2005
haih.. don't compliment so much.. shy la... it's only 17inch, summore it's not ready yet.... cannot beat your VIP optima... The car is running with it's original engine at 230HP (temporary tune)... I'm looking at 300 for everyday drive..... That 60 t5 got lots of potential..... it only has unichip so... imagine putting in more stuff... woot... summore can become nice VIP car..... lol

btw, I got an optima 2.5 V6 from the korean embassy with gear box issues and need to find a place to fix/replace it.... hope you can help...

David_KIA-Racing

Feb 15, 2005
Pahang~KL
www.mynazakia.com
U mean u got a Optima 2.5 V6??Izzit same Carnival engine??
230hp is very powerfull lo~my car so under power 1.
So ur tat Volvo engine is same the Turbo Lim tat 940 monster engine??

Sorry if i repost it. I tried to search but cant find it.

Anyone actually tried it yet?
well I just found it out from this Motor Trader Magazine 17th-23rd August 2006 Issue 295
Page156 ...advertisment is at the corner (south-east)

It stated like this ,
SAVE FUEL running more 20km-60km per tank, 30days money back guarantee
RM98.00
call XXX-XXXXXXX
location KL

I just want to check if anyone use it yet???