koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
We have in previous topic that we felt cars that were "overrated";

here's a list of cars that are brilliant, good, excellent design/ride but were underrated & didnt receive the credit by industry, buyers, magazine writers, & even mistake(s) by car manufacturer in misreading consumer taste, hence lack of promotions, etc) ;

Have you ever given your all for a huge project at work, only to have your boss take credit for the results? At least you're not alone; the automotive world can be like that, too. Some models steal the spotlight while other, often superior vehicles are largely ignored.
These new and late-model underrated rides have a lot going for them, even if you don't see many going down the road. They made our list largely because they offer decent performance, but lose sales to better-known models in their respective classes. Unless otherwise noted by model year range, these vehicles are currently available as new models.
http://www.askmen.com/toys/cars_100/134_car_review.html

1) Nissan Sentra SE-R Spec V
2) Panoz Esperante
3) Volvo V70 R
4) VW EuroVan (1999 - 2003)
5) Toyota MR2 (2000 - 2005) or MR-S (Spyder)
6) Acura NSX

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
1) Nissan Sentra SE-R Spec V

The previous-generation Nissan Sentra SE-R has become a cult favorite after spending its production run in near obscurity. Underrated status, it seems, is genetic with the current model -- especially with the even hotter Spec V package.

Car guys are always willing to sacrifice comfort in the name of performance for their compact Asian sedans. With the Spec V they're given a head start, but that really won't be an issue with Nissan's target buyer. Part of it is age-related, too. The current Sentra platform doesn't seem as refined as, say, a contemporary Civic. But, again, that shouldn't scare away guys looking for performance on a budget. Besides, we all exhibit more noise, vibration and harshness with age, right?

If you find yourself more than 10 grand shy of your dream to own a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution or a Subaru Impreza WRX, the Sentra Spec V can provide a healthy dose of performance at a fraction of the price.

What's more: The 2007 Sentra will be a fresh design, but little is known about the next-generation SE-R and Spec V variants.

2) Panoz Esperante
So you want a two-seat GT in the upper five- to lower six-figure range. Peer pressure tries to steer you towards the more "common" offerings. But there's an uncommonly great alternative out there with an equally uncommon name: the Panoz Esperante.

Like the rival Jaguar XK and Mercedes-Benz SL, the Panoz Esperante is for guys who appreciate a little size and comfort with their speed. Unlike the others, however, the Esperante has more of a sporting character, even in base form. This is no doubt the trickle-down effect of strong racing efforts. Yet the street version still offers all the creature comforts buyers have come to expect, backed by the power of a Ford V8. Its sleek form -- available as a coupe or convertible -- suggests power and grace without shouting the message.

3) Volvo V70 R
We're reminded of the marketing concept from the movie Crazy People: "Volvo: They're Boxy but Good." However funny this slogan may be, it also nailed the collective North American ho-hum view of the automaker. Volvo is out to change that. The sharp, right-angle lines have softened slightly in recent years, without losing the inherent character (exactly where rival Saab has stumbled). For those who want briskness with their boxiness, Volvo offers their R-series.

It would be easy to dismiss the stealthy V70 R at a glance on the street, only to be humbled when the light turns green. It's a surprisingly athletic wagon that -- if you'll forgive the pun -- really hauls. Its five-cylinder turbo is rated at 300 horses, and its cargo space would carry echoes if the interior wasn't so generously upholstered. What's more, the cubism-on-wheels look doesn't cut into the V70's utility (as is the case with other haulers with more sloping sheet metal).

So with its conservative clothes, decent gas mileage and power to spare, it's a wonder this qualifies as an underrated car. It should be selling like crazy. Yet with drivers tiring of large SUVs yet still in need of a capable ride, the V70 R may not be underrated much longer.

What's more: Thanks to the V70 R, we can now say, "Volvo: Boxy, Good, and Brisk."

4- VW EuroVan (1999 - 2003)
For the nonconformist in all of us, the Volkswagen EuroVan was a nice update of the old Bus and Vanagon. The final four years in the North American market saw not only the engine in front, but one with six cylinders delivering (gasp!) triple-digit horsepower and torque. At last, sustained freeway speeds didn't have to coincide with tailwinds and downhill grades. Design, ergonomics and creature comforts evolved with the times, as well.

Too bad it wasn't enough. Buyers were wooed by more contemporary, if more bland, minivans from America and Asia. Other buyers skipped minivans altogether and went for SUVs. VW unceremoniously pulled the underrated EuroVan from North America after the 2003 model year.

Finding a used EuroVan may take some effort, but don't let that stop you. The reward is a vehicle that holds its value reasonably well and doesn't emasculate you for being seen in it. Bonus points for one equipped with the versatile Weekender package, complete with the pop-up top and mini-mini-mini RV accoutrements. Hip? That's in the eye of the beholder. Cool? In its own way. Underrated? Most definitely.

What's more: Rumors suggest a redesigned, neo-retro, Microbus-esque van is on the way.

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
sports cars

5) Toyota MR2 (2000 - 2005) or MR-S (Spyder)
The third time should have been the charm for the underrated little MR2 from Toyota. This here-again, gone-again sports car was at first an essentially better-conceived and executed alternative to the Pontiac Fiero (though the MR2 faithful tend to bristle at this comparison). After a brief absence from North America, the second generation arrived with more power and a fresh design, kind of like a diminutive Ferrari 348. A few years later, Toyota left us hanging again when Mister Two was pulled from the continent again.

Turns out they saved the best for last. 2000's reentry and redesign, this time as a convertible, was the most distinctive. Suddenly, Mazda's Miata had competition in bang-for-the-buck honors. And now, they're an even better deal. History has repeated itself: The MR2 will once again disappear from the continent after this year. Lame-duck models -- however cool -- are never dealers' favorites. Move fast for the best bargain while inventory remains.

What's more: Opinions vary on the name definition, but "Mid-engine, Rear-drive, 2-seater" is one of the most popular and logical. Unofficially, a "u" should be squeezed in for "underrated."

6) Acura NSX
The luxury sedan establishment was seriously jolted when Japan crashed the party 15-odd years ago. It was a sobering wake-up call when buyers defected to Acura, Infiniti and Lexus.

Acura broadened their horizons further when their mid-engine NSX hit the road. This time, the exotic car community took notice. A low-volume, high-performance car with reliability? Maintenance that didn't require weeks in the shop on a regular basis? Anyone who thought it couldn't happen was proved wrong.

We quickly point to the Porsche 911 as a timeless design, but often overlook the NSX. Its lines have gone a decade and a half without major revision. Some now dismiss it as dated, but we still find it unique and attractive. Inside, well, that's another matter. Here, the lack revision has produced an interior that fails to inspire drivers to a great degree. But that all changes when you're rewarded with amazing performance from the six cylinders pumping behind you. It's often said the best NSX is a used one: all the looks and performance without the new car price. Either way, it remains an underrated ride in its class.

What's more: If you must have that new car smell, keep in mind a redesign is on the way. Just don't expect major changes.

credit where credit is due

Just because a car is popular, it isn't necessarily the best of the bunch. There are plenty of models that perform as well or better. When it comes to underrated rides, the commercial tagline, "If you can find a better car, buy it," takes on new meaning. You just might find a better car... if you look for it.

TiBuN

May 16, 2004
Penang / BM
I have a few Underated Unsung car on my head right now, namely DMC De Lorean Stainless steel car, even after you die and rot, the car still stays the same :P

Ford TX3 kereta sampan, solid, good engine, and will float during flood time.
Many people forgotten this car d.

Honda CRX, first sketch design sports car from Honda, with full 4 sides double wishbone suspension system and a strong B16 engine, problem is the market at that time hate big a$$ car I guess, not popular among ricers and street racers.

Toyota AE86 Trueno, prior to Initial D manga, nobody gives a shit about this car; see also like a Mazda Astina only...

and of course the Charade Detomaso... inheritantly able to smoke stock SGTi, main contender for any SOHC 1.6 and considered underdog due to its mother company's popularity (Daihatsu).

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
One of the all time under acheiver /underated car #1 nominee. in terms of sales/popularity..

Honda NSX

all aluminium construction. screamer NA engine.

developement process "blessed" by Ayrton Senna's presence .

daily drive usability

But never challenged the 911 and mid engine baby Ferraris in terms of sales...

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
DMC De Lorean is a car that one of a kind but hardly underrated. (there was a forumer (spyder owner) in US i know who bought one. Yes granted there were stares & attention showered (thanks to the infamous scandal of the CEO & back2future movie) was there but the built quality is really terrible. the aluminium body is hard & expensive to take care. (BTW that forumer is a mechanic owner/has his own shop)

Tough on the NSX, the brand conscious clueless well-heeled one are mostly to blame.
even the ferrari president (Luca something) was so worried when the NSX came out that he acknowledge & lambasted his ferrari engineers to come out with something better then their current stable back then. (so the story goes).

infernaL

May 22, 2005
N/A

imoloq

Nov 1, 2005
TiBuN said:
I have a few Underated Unsung car on my head right now, namely DMC De Lorean Stainless steel car, even after you die and rot, the car still stays the same :P

Ford TX3 kereta sampan, solid, good engine, and will float during flood time.
Many people forgotten this car d.

Honda CRX, first sketch design sports car from Honda, with full 4 sides double wishbone suspension system and a strong B16 engine, problem is the market at that time hate big a$$ car I guess, not popular among ricers and street racers.

Toyota AE86 Trueno, prior to Initial D manga, nobody gives a shit about this car; see also like a Mazda Astina only...

and of course the Charade Detomaso... inheritantly able to smoke stock SGTi, main contender for any SOHC 1.6 and considered underdog due to its mother company's popularity (Daihatsu).

I think the Toyota Trueno AE86 is overrated. Just because of the manga Initial D it shot to fame and now whenever someone mention a drift car, poeple always mention the AE86. And the price tag of around RM40k for a 20 year old car makes it one of the most overrated cars today. Heck, there are better drift cars around going for a lot less. Just my $0.02

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
KE70!! T_T it had basically the same platform like the ae86, great balance through the bends, tho the chasis might be weaker but why the hell such big diff in popularity.. grrrr...

KE七十わ八六の先輩よ!!!

alexz

Nov 22, 2004
Hmm...

I think its the Daihatsu Mira L200 and its modded malaysian cousins Kancil turbo. Ive seen those smoking full tilt EK Type R's on the traffic light drag, and seen one tailing blackie's supra up the genting touge route...

Still most people (westerners) think daihatsu cars are boring...

ModMaestro

Jun 13, 2005
PJ & Sandakan
The Esperante might be overlook at this part of the world, it has quite a formidable following in the states.

And if I'm not wrong, the Esperante is actually made to comply with the American LeMans Series homologation rule. But hey, what do I know.

DRFT_240sx

rx7's , all generation.....

and they think the 13b is troublesome ......

seen so many 13B-rew smoke corvettes and vipers and exotics with blank look on the owners face goin WTF car is that?!?

*laughs*

si|verfish

Apr 28, 2004
Stock RX7s ain't smoking nobody.

Once you talk about mods, it's a sticky business. Fancy a drag with a Lingenfelter Vette? Or Vipers which can eat Veyrons for breakfast?

DRFT_240sx

well they are still underrated in my books. at stock trims they can put up quite a fight in track course. ain't just straight road =)

A Post Every 5 Mins

The Problem:
Many people COMPLAIN about the rising fuel cost and the cost of vehicle maintenance, but very few ACT on it.

The Solution:
CNG - Compressed Natural Gas. It is a well-known fact that CNG is a SAFE and ECONOMICAL form of energy to run your cars

The Facts:

Please click on the links below to get an in-depth idea of the BENEFITS involved in NGV conversion...