Turbo Maintainance

• See what others are reading now! Try Forums > Current Activity
  • Search function more powerful with google results! Try Search

Itab

500 RPM
guys,i'm kinda new in this thing,i'm using a GSR turbo,besides more frequent oil change,what else is needed to service the turbo?and how regularly?heard tht need to lubricate the turbine or something,not so sure,n have to service the intercooler also,how to service it ah?

service the intercooler? cleaning it u meant? so far my mech always tell me to use good grade oil and most people overlook transmission oil change... i change both my engine oil and transmission oil at 5K kms interval and 10-15K kms for transmission. Also the vacuum lines.. have to replace the rubber once in a while.. I changed mine to aftermarket hoses. This is to prevent vacuum / boost leak in future.

Yeah, all parts need to service but who cares :lol:

I guess mostly of all ppl use it until kaput lar.

For example turbo, yes u need to service your turbo once in a while but dont see anyone doing it. Cos very costly. Also sometimes very funny, it will not work after u install it back. Funny hor.

If u r in less modification the u dun need to worry much unless the car is well known a problematic car :D .

Originally posted by moppy@May 18 2004, 01:12 PM

Sounds so Malaysian. :lol: :lol: Why fix it if its not broken. :lol: :lol:

A turbo engine is like any other engine. Normal regular service and periodic maintainance will ensure the engines long life and trouble free usage.

Also not forgeting to mention, turbo engines are not suppose to be abused.

Frequent drag launches and 8K RPM pulls will accelrate the engine's wear and tear.

Originally posted by Joeker+May 19 2004, 10:57 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Joeker @ May 19 2004, 10:57 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-moppy@May 18 2004, 01:12 PM