Question on Evo6 & 7,8,9

cannondale>

Apr 29, 2005
kepong
hks is like that 1, got the eek eek sound. if gear change not match the speed, u will notice something hit from behind.

H22-C

Jul 23, 2007
hks is like that 1, got the eek eek sound. if gear change not match the speed, u will notice something hit from behind.
are all the twin plate from different brand almost the same ?
which is the recommended one ? budget is concern also :P

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
oh ic, thank bro.....some friends told me not to launch the car hard coz it might burn the clutch.

bump....

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
you mean i can launch it even though its has the loud clamp sound when i shift from 1st to 2nd?

cannondale>

Apr 29, 2005
kepong
i always do that, hehe sometimes it works better at high rpm, at low rpm, its abit hard to drive, but i aredy used to it, so no problem.

of cause if u always launch the car , the tear and wear will be faster, but hks replacament is cheap ma.

B18C-R

Mar 27, 2005
Hi EvolutionZ,

The 'Guk' sound when you release your clutch is most likely the sound of the 'grip locked' in your rear differential. It's not recommended to 'hard release' your clutch ofter as you might end up stressing it too much and might end up repairing it. With twin-plate cluthes, the grip is also too grippy hence ofter launching (full launch) your car from stand-still is very stressing to the differential and transmission mechanism.

You don't get this with original clutch as it is designed to slip a little at hard launch/gear change and not as grip as aftermarket, especially twin or triple plates clutches. I am using my second set of HKS GD-Pro as well. Is not that good in terms of overall lifespan but it's sure good in grip. Even the replacement plates and bearings are cheap and easily available, the main pressure plates cannot be changed and over time, it will 'bend' and lose pressure hence is EOL (end of life).

B18C-R

Mar 27, 2005
cannon, mine tahan 2times only and even 2nd time, i use less than 50% before the cover springs gave away (and upon closer examinition, it was slightly bent). I check ard and was told it is quite common after repair 1 time. I changed my bearings and cluctch pads x 2 back then.

end up i bought another new set coz I tested other brands at that range, grip not as good as gd-pro/max unless you go higher range, which I can't afford. zzz

B18C-R

Mar 27, 2005
btw, I hardly trash my car...easy driving most of the time or crusing highway and only once in a blue moon go ulu yam gila-gila a bit.

is my weekend car so if you drive daily, my guess is the clutch would had gone soonner due to traffic jam and mileage wear & tear.

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
bro cannondale & bro B18C-R,

thanks for such useful info, i do agree that its hard to drive rpm with the noise and jerks....but at high speed, it really grips well....indeed.

and for the launch, i guess next time i just full throttle it when i am on 2nd gear onward....if not costly ler to repair...

hope to learn more bout my evo in here...cheers....thanks again

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
another new question,

i am using Greddy boost meter & controller, am not sure how to set it to high boost....that day i tekan tekan also cant find it....now it is set at lo boost 1.0bar. wanna try the max that is shown there 1.32bar. any bro can advice

lan evo

Nov 24, 2003
cannondale:others car sure can 3 times but b18c-r car cant

b18c-r:ben,yes,easy and weekend ride.BUT ur car full boost at 2krpm and pull all the way till 9krpm.so u need at least quad plate:biggrin:

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
9000rpm....wont break the engine ah...i did max 7500 only....but power seem drops liao at that time

lan evo

Nov 24, 2003
his car using tomei porn cam,so easily rev past 7.5k

his engine using forged internal parts so wont break.not advisable for stock engine:biggrin:

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
oh ic ic......mine not forged iron so must keep within 7.5

lanevo6

Sep 29, 2004
jb-melaka
his car using tomei porn cam,so easily rev past 7.5k

his engine using forged internal parts so wont break.not advisable for stock engine:biggrin:
Ken,
he using porn cam meh? i tot he using porno cams :burnout:

hi guys...

i have few power part to let go..

1. Garrett T2530 ball-bearing turbo
@Rm1000 (original from japan)

2. Apexi Hybrid Intercooler (similar size with vr4 i/cooler)
@Rm500 (original from japan)

3. Blizt 2nd generation BLow off valve
@Rm250 (original from japan)

4. Greddy 2nd generation(profecB) Boost controller
@Rm600

5. 510cc Evo injector
@Rm320 x4
@Rm160 x2
RE: someone reserve two...but if he not goin to collect these few day i will let it go at 4 piece...