Newbie needing advice on l2s

aroon

Jul 10, 2012
Finally getting my kancil a turbo engine ...:driver:
Transplant on the way now ..wanted to ask the sifus a few questions:adore:

1. Wat problems should i look out for when i collect the car n during testing (while 1 week warranty is still on)

2.wat are the common problem with l2s turbo? (for future reference)

3.lastly do any of the sifus hav any experience with this workshop ?( reviews n feedback would b most appreciated)

Arc parts and service aka arc parts and conversion
Kg melayu subang

Thnk u

penagihdadih

Feb 9, 2012
Need to test kaw2 within that 1 week warranty.. Usually the halfcut engine have problems with temperature/turbo failure/wiring (human error). Make sure timing belts changed, engine oil flushed, break fluid flushed, transmission fluid flushed, and all hoses not leaked. Those are the most important thing.

aroon

Jul 10, 2012
Thnk u for your input penagih dadah..:adore:

Warranty is up , but i pretty much trashed the car during the one week..in which time the gear linkage broke...only 3 n 4 would go in
At this point they changd it for me

So far no temperature issue or wiring issues..

Bt the engine oil cap cnt seem to hold the engine oil in ..i tried changing the cap..
The foreman even told me tht this is common with the l2s n tht some of his frens would "lapik" the cap with 2 layers of tire tube..tried it , hasmt workd so far..

Also the blow by hose which i took off for blow off sound :driver: seemd to have engine oil coming out frm it..the foreman says thts normal for a turbo engine bt the airbox is soaked in oil..

Its been about 2-3 weeks n the engine oil is at half..is it because of the above issue??

bo093

Jul 6, 2011
Also the blow by hose which i took off for blow off sound :driver: seemd to have engine oil coming out frm it..the foreman says thts normal for a turbo engine bt the airbox is soaked in oil..
Use a oil catch tank. ;)
Catch the oil but still allow the fumes to flow back.
My brother just got his L2S and we bought the wrong size. Hard to install. :(

aroon

Jul 10, 2012
Thnk you Bo093 for your reply..
Yes bro good advice indeed i hav an oil catch tank in mind n will b getting it soon..
Wher did u do ur transplant if u dnt mind me asking?
As in ur oil cath tank to big ?

Update on current issues:

Engine oil was at 1/4 left...top up with magnatec 10w-30 while saving up to do top overhaul or full overhaul.
Definately changing all radiator vacuum n turbo hosing together with the overhaul..

Which bring me to the question:
which overhaul to do?
Wats the respective cost?Included estimate extraes
Any suggestd workshops?

Thnks..will continue updating over time

peeche

May 16, 2006
Sin City, MY
1. Wat problems should i look out for when i collect the car n during testing (while 1 week warranty is still on)
L2s - problem during testing = speedcut at 140km/h :rofl:

2.wat are the common problem with l2s turbo? (for future reference)
turbo kong - can be solved by upgrading to subaru RHF4 turbine

Thnk u[/QUOTE]

aroon

Jul 10, 2012
thnk u peeche for ur input.

yes the 140 speed cut is annoying bt i wouldnt knw as going above 130 was very difficult.

i was told

1.must change to bigger exhaust first.(currently using stock kancil piping)
-will b changing to 2" with one straight flow muffler soon.

2.must put air scoop on the front first.

the first reason seem realistic but the 2nd one doesnt seem believable to me though

the rhf4 subaru turbine..did a bit of research. that would be a ball bearing turbo commonly used in a subaru legacy?

sounds good to ,me .wat about the pricing and any other options?

also will there be an issue of turbo lag?

thnk u

bo093

Jul 6, 2011
Thnk you Bo093 for your reply..
Yes bro good advice indeed i hav an oil catch tank in mind n will b getting it soon..
Wher did u do ur transplant if u dnt mind me asking?
As in ur oil cath tank to big ?

Update on current issues:

Engine oil was at 1/4 left...top up with magnatec 10w-30 while saving up to do top overhaul or full overhaul.
Definately changing all radiator vacuum n turbo hosing together with the overhaul..

Which bring me to the question:
which overhaul to do?
Wats the respective cost?Included estimate extraes
Any suggestd workshops?

Thnks..will continue updating over time
Didn't do transplant. My bro bought it with L2S inside already. :biggrin:
Is too big to be install with stock engine.
But now, already change to turbine to RHF4 VF20.
Remove the airbox, no air filter(temporary only, waiting to install new intake pipe with new filter.).
Now have room to install at the airbox old spot.

Recommend to change all the vacuum line and hoses.
I suggest full overhaul. Old engine, give it some love.

thnk u peeche for ur input.

yes the 140 speed cut is annoying bt i wouldnt knw as going above 130 was very difficult.

i was told

1.must change to bigger exhaust first.(currently using stock kancil piping)
-will b changing to 2" with one straight flow muffler soon.

2.must put air scoop on the front first.

the first reason seem realistic but the 2nd one doesnt seem believable to me though

the rhf4 subaru turbine..did a bit of research. that would be a ball bearing turbo commonly used in a subaru legacy?

sounds good to ,me .wat about the pricing and any other options?

also will there be an issue of turbo lag?

thnk u
Best get that speed cut remove if you wanna go faster. :rofl:
It can easily reach 140 with 2 people.

1. Change to 2" or 1.8" with straight flow, you definitely won't regret unless JPJ caught you.
Like all straight flow on turbo cars, spool faster. In this case around 500 RPM.

2. Please install air scoop. For better cooling to intercooler and engine. But they are there for a purpose. I can't really provide better confirmation on this since I didn't get to monitor the effect.

RHF4 VF20, the one you talking about?
Cause that is what my brother recently installed.
I tried, it feel underpowered during 2nd gear.
3rd and higher, you can feel the pulling power.
But sadly, is not tune right yet.

Project Tittle : Project Y
Summary :
Build from zerotohundred... I was start with collecting all the information before start. and all the great advise from circle budy...

Specification :
1.3cc / 4inline to 1.6 / 4inline...
Rehore...
Piston Pocket Calculation
Bearing Fitting Calculation
High Comp Piston & Size

Will share on you for next step after this.... keep it view budy.
Thanks...