My review on kumho ku36, and toyo r1r.

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
Bro vr2turbo, what tires would say that is comparable with PS3 ( in the same Max category) but have stiffer sidewalls?

Price for RE-002 for 15" range?

Bro vr2turbo, what tires would say that is comparable with PS3 ( in the same Max category) but have stiffer sidewalls?

Price for RE-002 for 15" range?
Some say GY F1D5 quite close to PS3 in performance. Sidewall not too sure, maybe slightly stiffer only. And is directional pattern....
195/55R15
Bridgestone Potenza RE002 - RM350 Tee 3 Auto & Tyre Service Sdn Bhd (May-13)
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM260 SLWH Tyre, Jln Tuanku Antah, Seremban (Nov 12) B+A
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM250 Ban Hooi, Klang (Apr 13)

phobian

Jan 7, 2004
Someone pointed me to this thread of sharing my personal experience with Federal 595 RSR since there are no proof points laid out so far.

Let the pictures speak for themselves first..

Cut story short, tyres was newly purchased. Changed all 4 in end April 2013. So much hype about Federal's 595 RSR UHP category tyres but 1 out of the 4 bulged and cracked as shown in the picture above. Tyres only lasted me less than 8000kms and 1 session of track day with no more than 18 laps. Tyre gave way at the end of the track session - with 32PSI on cold. Seriously, this is a manufacturer defect as a simple Google image search has lead me to believe I got a very bad lemon due to poor quality assurance or it is just my dumb luck. An associate of mine has his fair share of tyre bulging on the same tyres - 2 out of 4 and he is much less of a spirited driver like myself. I have also heard of other many that shares the same pain points - but there were lack of evidence to share. I am not trying to bad mouth the manufacturer for the claim of such UHP tyres, but I would want to stress that similar issues have been happening too often - word from locally and abroad.

Anyway, did you try putting up a claim and/or asks what happened to the tyres?

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
wif federal rsr595, all my four tyre that bought last yr julai do hav problem like phobian...

seller told me no problem, i dun claim, waste of time.....for sure next time no more federal tats all....

mADmAN

Some say GY F1D5 quite close to PS3 in performance. Sidewall not too sure, maybe slightly stiffer only. And is directional pattern....
195/55R15
Bridgestone Potenza RE002 - RM350 Tee 3 Auto & Tyre Service Sdn Bhd (May-13)
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM260 SLWH Tyre, Jln Tuanku Antah, Seremban (Nov 12) B+A
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM250 Ban Hooi, Klang (Apr 13)
holy shit....re002 got so expensive meh? my friend bought the other day for ard 300/pc iirc....basically significantly cheaper than rsr...n my 205/50/15 rsr was at rm365/pc

if thqts the price of the re002, id rather get the rsr man...or ku36 may even be cheaper

wif federal rsr595, all my four tyre that bought last yr julai do hav problem like phobian...

seller told me no problem, i dun claim, waste of time.....for sure next time no more federal tats all....
Not only Federal but any brand for that matter, should claim as least as consumer rights. If not, they get off scotch free....:banghead:

---------- Post added at 07:46 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:44 AM ----------

holy shit....re002 got so expensive meh? my friend bought the other day for ard 300/pc iirc....basically significantly cheaper than rsr...n my 205/50/15 rsr was at rm365/pc

if thqts the price of the re002, id rather get the rsr man...or ku36 may even be cheaper
Even at RM300 still more expensive then PS3. Did mention it was expensive....:smokin:

WPQ800

Apr 7, 2008
well to be fair, u cant get everything all in one...

just to address this, i used to own few sets....
1 set daily use or inter state highway high speed driving type (ps2/3, csc, assymetrics 1/2, etc), its comfortable and reliable across all kind of weather...

1 set for trackdays (r888, re55, fz, etc), with forged wheel, as wide as possible and as small diameter size , just enough to clear brakes... (te37, ce28, re30, type c, rega, etc)

1 set for show n aestatic will be using the best street tyres (toyo r1r, ad07/08, rsr, re11, etc) with rare forged / hard to get @ custom order specs like cp035r in sbc/chrome, gramlights 57f, oz f1 racing cup, prodrive gc05/07, etc (more of bragging rights)

so i have 3 sets of wheels.... but....

the funny thing is, i ended up riding my bike more than my car now.... rear tyres per pc already rm1000++.......... hahaha

mADmAN

hahahahahaha...same here..i end up riding my bike more now that driving my car...but I only have 1 set of wheels n tires la..

n my bike rear tire is rm80 only wakakakakaka

fiuz85

May 26, 2009
KL-Kuantan
thanx for all your tips and info, i already bought kumho ku36 but the wall is too hard so its really hard to fit my 9.5jj rim. is toyo R1R wall softer then kumho ku36??

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
thanx for all your tips and info, i already bought kumho ku36 but the wall is too hard so its really hard to fit my 9.5jj rim. is toyo R1R wall softer then kumho ku36??
Can't imagine it would be. Extreme tires usually comes with stiff side wall anyhow.

mADmAN

yeah the R1R sidewall should be softer than the KU36... the KU36 is known to have one of the stiffest sidewalls around

If want softer sidewall get Max or UHP tyres.....

sifu,

i heard 1 xpert driver said he prefer t1r, if play2 at genting touge, said this tyrd wet n drh also gud...
Depends on the car and setup then and probably personal perference.
My VR4 on 215/45R17, have used from GY F1GSD3, Falken FK453, Yoko S-Drive, Toyo T1-R, GY Asy, GY Asy2, Stiletto Blue Streak and GT radial HPY
The weakest in the wet was of course Blue Streak which is a budget tyre, next is T1-R, FK453
In the dry also in that manner as the T1-R sidewall is too soft for the VR. Pumping more air pressure becomes bumpy.
For me my personal preference from the list is GY ASy2, GY Asy, GT HPY, S-Drive, F1 GSD3, FK453, T1-R, Blue Streak.
Yes, for me even budget tyre HPY is up higher on the list...

WPQ800

Apr 7, 2008
Depends on the car and setup then and probably personal perference.
My VR4 on 215/45R17, have used from GY F1GSD3, Falken FK453, Yoko S-Drive, Toyo T1-R, GY Asy, GY Asy2, Stiletto Blue Streak and GT radial HPY
The weakest in the wet was of course Blue Streak which is a budget tyre, next is T1-R, FK453
In the dry also in that manner as the T1-R sidewall is too soft for the VR. Pumping more air pressure becomes bumpy.
For me my personal preference from the list is GY ASy2, GY Asy, GT HPY, S-Drive, F1 GSD3, FK453, T1-R, Blue Streak.
Yes, for me even budget tyre HPY is up higher on the list...
yes yes, i also vouch for GY Asy2 and Asy1.......... excellent tyres given you dont track em....

I just got myself a GSR transplant into my car..a Cordia..I'm new to what I can do with the engine and what is best to change/modify to enhance performance? Whatever opinions, comments or advice from you experts is much appreciated. What should I do first? How do I upgrade GSR? What is best to modify it with? What products? Which part of the engine? :P I know, much questions. But I'm open to any words of advice. Thanks.