muffler question for turbo car

evolancer

Mar 29, 2005
hello all sifus:
i just upgraded my engine to 1.8gsr....my mechanic changed the exhaust piping to 2.5'' and oval shape muffler..the muffler tip is 4-5''(not sure)!!!im happy with the car performance but the problem is i cannot tahan the noise produced..somemore i dont like the big exhaust tip...
so i changed another type of sillent muffler but the car performance was so suxx that i had to change back to the previous one due to the restricted exhaust flow...

Any muffler that is suits for turbocharged car without generate so much noise yet the car performance not much affected??
as for the muffler outlet,wat is the best diameter(prefer small one)..

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
yo bro
i'm driving a gsr oso n i'm using RSR oval muffler n 2.5" for piping
u can try RSR bcoz my 1 does not produce any noise n the performance is superb
the outlet diameter for the car u can use 3"

Kelis

Jul 5, 2004
Hi, maybe u can try adding a bullet? Or maybe u can change to a bigger muffler, should be able to tone down the sound a bit.

Just my 2 cents... :wink:

evolancer

Mar 29, 2005
gsrTurbo9166 said:
yo bro
i'm driving a gsr oso n i'm using RSR oval muffler n 2.5" for piping
u can try RSR bcoz my 1 does not produce any noise n the performance is superb
the outlet diameter for the car u can use 3"
yo turbo9166:
any pic to view this RSR muffler??where to get and how much??

evolancer

Mar 29, 2005
turbo9166:
one more thing bro,RSR is a brand name??more detail pls..
ur rsr muffler wat model ah??dont mind can share..thanks

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
yo evolancer
RSR is a brand
i donno wat model is it

soli la bro
the muffle is install to my car liao
hard to take pic 4 u

sta

Dec 26, 2004
when ppl say 2.5 inch or 3 inch, means the inner or outer diameter?
if i use a measuring tape to measure is it accurate ?
bcos im afraid of buying a muffler which doesnt fit my piping.

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
it is hard to measure
for eg:
japan 2.5" is measure the inner diameter
but malaysia is measure the outer diameter
it is depend on the brand of the muffler u buy n where it from

evolancer

Mar 29, 2005
gsrturbo9166:
any link for this RSR brand muffler??i did search through a yahoo...
the problem is dont know which onr to select??my main concern is the
noise level,scare buy a wrong one..anyway thanks

sta:
no worry la...they sure have some fittings for diff diameter one la

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
juz drop by to Jafa exhaust shop
n tell him wat u wan
be sure that it got JASMA tag to it
coz JASMA is some kind of our JPJ that has same function in japan
if the exhaust wif JASMA tag it mean that the exhaust is approve by them n pass the noise test

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
i heard about RSR muffler when i visit jian hang previously too, but too bad he doesnt have any stock .. i guess RSR is really a good muffler eh ...
any link to get this muffler ?

kRiminaLz

Docklands/SAlam
theres a few actually...
for performance wise, try tanabe hyper medallion or HKS hyper dragger...
it sounds like a deep bassy tone..

juz my 2cents

zakie

Jul 7, 2005
evoLancer.... :cool:

i think the noise is normaL, u've oredi said, big muffLers best performance, sMaLL muffLers suxx..... there is nun of sMaLL muffLers that couLd give satisfaction, coz the smaLL muffLers is hoLding the power inside it, whereLse we need to unLeashed the power..... correct me if i'm wrong.... :rock:

:dancing2: :dancing2: :dancing2:

evolancer

Mar 29, 2005
zakie said:
evoLancer.... :cool:

i think the noise is normaL, u've oredi said, big muffLers best performance, sMaLL muffLers suxx..... there is nun of sMaLL muffLers that couLd give satisfaction, coz the smaLL muffLers is hoLding the power inside it, whereLse we need to unLeashed the power..... correct me if i'm wrong.... :rock:

zakie:
yes u are right...but some mufflers like wat turbo9166 and kriminalz said can offers a greater flow and noise level is lower,this is wat im trying to get for one....

Speed Demon

www.freewebs.com
The loudness of the sound produced by a muffler depends on the internal design of the muffler, not the size of it. Having a larger diameter piping allows for more exhaust gases to flow faster. As such, it depends on whether your muffler can effectively "muffle" the volume of gases effectively.

Since some mufflers can't handle this volume of gases, mid-boxes are sometimes used to aid in the sound dampening process.

But take note that theoritically, this slows downs the flow of exhaust gases and increases backpressure.

For more info, browse here: http://auto.howstuffworks.com/muffler.htm

Hope this helps.

zakie

Jul 7, 2005
evoLancer..... :rock:

:albertein

mY suggestion wouLd be
1 APEXi
2 HKS super Dagger
3 RsR

tis 3 mufLers are in mY top 3 List, and im using the RsR for mY 2.0turbos..... quite nice the sound..... but in mY opinion u stiLL cant avoid the 'bising' sound...... :biggrin:

sumtimes mY car can be heard a miLe behind Like LorrY sound, ha ha ha, that during warming up session in the morning Loorr.... :rock:

peace man....

evolancer

Mar 29, 2005
zakie:

ur RSR oval shape type or other type??u know the model name??

ya i agree,the sound level still high but not as high as those ciplak muffler gua??
how about ur car performance??feel any restriction of the exhaust flow??
how much u bought the rsr??thanks

supernatural

Aug 2, 2004
Bro Evo Lancer, for turbo engine of course it will make a loud noise.
but the diff just onli the level.
may u can try HKS Super Dragger. this muffler very nice sound and the sound lower than other such as N1,Hyper etc. or maybe u can try FGK(Fujitsubo Giken) oval type and u won't regret it.
i far as i know, the diameter 3" mean the size of the outside diameter.for the 3" piping maybe the inner diameter arounf 2.8".

just my opi. correct me if i'm wrong.

A Post Every 5 Mins

yo guys....

I need to be changing my tyres soon ... they are 15" .... anyone have any reviews of goood tyres besides ADVAN NEOVA.... and their prices.....
there are so so so many tyres out there..... never know which 1 is good... go to the shop and they will all say ... "ini bagus ini bagus.."...
plus anyone heard of bridgestone MY-01..... any reviews ?

Need you guys' help
THANKS!