How to Colour your own dashboard

everblur

Mar 9, 2006
I saw ACE hardware selling a mini spray gun without compression for less than RM50. It doesn't require an air compressor to function.

jh_b13

Oct 4, 2005
hi,just to know...where the heck is the ACE hardware location?hehe

everblur

Mar 9, 2006
It's in Mid Valley, KL.... Old Klang Road and Ikano in PJ has it too...

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
the salesman in ACE hardware shop say don't have

damn...............
how??

everblur

Mar 9, 2006
Try other ACE hardware stores. I remember I was looking for a particular item and it was only available in some branches.

jh_b13

Oct 4, 2005
Can someone that already bought this dye from the ACE hardware give an exact location of the store that sell it?

ektony

Apr 23, 2006
What about ottercolor ? The label specifically mentioned it can be used for dasboard and also soft tops for convertible. No peeling, no flaking. Available in some Petronas Stations. (e.g. TTDI )

jh_b13

Oct 4, 2005
any update though?anyone used the ottercolor?:confused_smile:

Raja_Mongkut

Apr 14, 2005
the ottercolor might work.. but tough luck finding it in Ace

confirm dun hv.

closest u can get is plastikote. which is not a dye in the 1st place

tajulsans

Jul 31, 2004
Soo Bang
Raja_Mongkut said:
the ottercolor might work.. but tough luck finding it in Ace

confirm dun hv.

closest u can get is plastikote. which is not a dye in the 1st place
this brand sounded like a made in Malaysia dildo brand pulak.. hahaha

mr_maverix

Sep 30, 2006
i plan to paint my nissan sunny dashboard to black..its now in grey..kinda aged..
wana match my new momo steering..hehe..

so how do i start seniors??the plastic iz a bit hard-compound..do i need primer for it??

ur help iz mucho appreciated guyz!!

ikan_laga

Aug 19, 2006
i wonder what do u all mean by spray the dashboard?do u guys spray the plastic (hard) part or the soft part (got kinda cushion underneath it)..

broken sword

Feb 17, 2006
GTpuI said:
I got the experience. I used it since 2 years ago and it is still ok.Just buy the plastic sealant and spray it before u paint with another colour. I spray my dashboard with anchor brand and it look real like GTi or Wira SE black dashboard. just call or sms me 0166035994.u can save budget....selamat mencuba...

what brand plastic sealant? does it really works? just spray the whole dashboard without taking it out?

Teflon

Nov 19, 2006
I 've read in hot4's magazine, they use vinyl spray to colour their dashboard usually brand VHT. where can we get one here??? anybody know???

cheryl923

Jul 20, 2006
You can get dye at west springfield auto parts. Its made by dupont. It works great. It is sprayed on with a piant sprayer. I did the hard parts, doors etc. hope this helped. later :)

basikalmerah

May 2, 2006
dont spray your dashboard!

:retarded: haiyaa...dont do this...if you want change your color dboard, it will looking suck at 6 month later or maybe early. if u spray using normal spray can it will scrath. Use only vinyl spray!.
Ottercolor suck, dont buy it. They good for old black rubber bumper and also good for tyre only, cannot paint at pvc, vinyl and plastic.

FOR BETTER RESULT, WRAP YOUR DASHBOARD WITH PVC OR VINLY OR LEATHER, CHOOSE YOUR FAV. COLOR. SOME 'KEDAI KUSYEN' MAKING IT.:shcokedcamo:

cheryl923

Jul 20, 2006
basikalmerah said:
:retarded: haiyaa...dont do this...if you want change your color dboard, it will looking suck at 6 month later or maybe early. if u spray using normal spray can it will scrath. Use only vinyl spray!.
Ottercolor suck, dont buy it. They good for old black rubber bumper and also good for tyre only, cannot paint at pvc, vinyl and plastic.

FOR BETTER RESULT, WRAP YOUR DASHBOARD WITH PVC OR VINLY OR LEATHER, CHOOSE YOUR FAV. COLOR. SOME 'KEDAI KUSYEN' MAKING IT.:shcokedcamo:

i didnt have a problem using the dye for my dash and it looks hot. its not a spray can which will look crappy in a few months. its what they use to spray your stuff in the manufacturing process so it will last.... take care

K

KucingKelabu

could someone post pictures of the plastic sealant/primer? I have a hard time finding them :(

cheryl923

Jul 20, 2006
I dont have any pics but i will make a list for you. You can find them at an automotive store.... ttyl,

Hey all, Just having thoughts on installing lighten crank pulley to a vtec engine. Any opinion from you guys? cause i rarely see people installing this on their Hondas.:slug: