Honda Type-R wat d difference??

drewn123

Known Member
hi....i'm new here. :cool: So i wanna ask sumthing from the Honda driving sifus out there......... I knew there are honda civic EK type-R (3 doors and 4 doors)

1. wat ar the difference between d type-R and stock EK?? My pals said a EK type-R (3 Doors) are capable of smoking GSR (wira converted to 1.8GSR Turbo)...ignoring the driver's skills and traffic, is tat true??

2. I heard bout VTEC controller unit, stock EK dun have rite??? So does typr-R got the VTECH controller :questionm

2. according to d market price..... the pricing is usually 10k higher than stock 3 doors EK.... so i would like to know whether it is wiser/economical to buy stock EK (3 doors) and convert it's engine... it's B18C rite??? OR juz settle for EK type-R.

Thanks all

i'm no expert, but this is what i know....

The civic Type-R (Sticking to EK's) lets not mention the EP3
Basics: -
Body code : EK9
Engine Code : B16B
Only comes in 3 drs form
Don't use "VTECH" its strictly "VTEC" :biggrin:
Engine: -
Its hand made
Bigger Throttle Body
Bigger Intake Manifold
Dual Valve Springs
Head is ported and polished as standard
Cams profile is the best of the b-series (mid range is better than JUN and Toda)
Piston is moleb-denum coated
Exhaust manifold also different
Block has longer stroke
Chassis: -
Suspension is slightly lower by a couple of mm
Spring rates are revised
Comes with Anti roll bars and struts
Brakes are 5 knuckle lugs
Interior: -
Red Recaros, and door trim
Momo steering wheel with airbag
Type-R Meters
Titanium gear knob
Other info: -
Yes it can smoke a GSR
Prices for the parts are ridiculuosly priced
Items are rather rare
You're one lucky devil if you can find an ORI EK9
Yes ur paying abit more for ones that have been done up, but all in all u save a bit in comparison to doing a full conversion urself, plus if you don't have the patience, the goodies mentioned are not actually easy to find...