[HELP]: Steering Squeak After Changing Steering Fluids

pangyau

[HELP]: Steering Squek After Changing Steering Fluids.

I need your help/advise.
Yesterday I change & flushed the Steering Fluids and replace with MOTUL ATF-1A (Compatible with Dexron 3 as steering fluids).
After I fill with the ATF 1-A, it produce squeak sound if I turn the steering hard to left or right.
I even tested on the road for almost 50km but problem not solve.

Some said:-

1. Might be some air trapped during the process & probably gone after few minutes drive but unfortunately not.

2. Tighten the steering belting?

3. Not compatible fluids?

I never had this problem before. Reason of changing the fluids is for maintainance.

Or anybody could guide me how to flush/change the Steering Fluids, maybe with picture.

My ride is EVO8MR (JDM)

Thanks in advance.

• PA150890.JPG
    PA150890.JPG
    240.9 KB · Views: 192
Re: [HELP]: Steering Squek After Changing Steering Fluids

Aiyoo latok, DIY kaa?

Changing wear&tear la..
All hoses need to change coz my lower radiator hose "kembang" already (manyak kerja ooo).
At the same time, I change also the Power Steering Fluid hose (lower part - upper pasrt still ok).

Razali: Normally just use those Universal Power steering fluids (PSF) can already .. STP PSF, Redline PSF are ones that i've used before ... no problem ..

For Motul u should use Dexron III instead of ATF-1A laa .. I'm no expert in Motul oil but looking at their viscosity of the Fluids for Dexron III and ATF-1A different laa ... probably that difference is what is giving your squeaks ... See when u operate the steering if alot of bubbles?

http://www.motorspot.com/Dexron_III_3870_(GB).pdf
http://www.high-n.com/images/motul/20100318101152.pdf

Would suggest that you replace the Power steering Fluid before your steering gear pump and rack/seals kaput ..

If u siphon out the Fluid, then u don't need to worry about 'bleeding/purging" the air bubbles ... however in your case, would suggest that you drain/flush and then replace with 'correct' PSF..

Bleed it by turning the wheel completely to the right and left(pour in fluid as needed) till the sound goes away.

ive never had dis problem before, thanx for the info iceman.

according to pangyau, the motul is a lil outta spec from the oem fluid? but whats making dat squeek ler? and also, the sound is imminent only at lock-to-lock steering jer.. pelik jugek tu

because what i know is that the additives is different in the 2 products .. the specs for ATF-1A says it's superior friction capabilities ... don't think that's what you are looking for when it comes to Power steering ... which has a pump ...

Thanks PabloIceman & xtremeleo (for the guideline)

I already solve the problem by changing to Dexron III (suitable for steering oil).
The Motul ATF-1A change to dark color after 3 days use (only less than 70km)
Done the flushing + bleeding cost me almost 3 liter.
The squeak sound has been reduce.
I also asked & compared to other EVO in here & all the same.
Lock-to-lock (hard right/left) position also squeak but not too loud...
Can be notice if open the hood.