help,, my car got problem (electrical).. anyone can help?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
hi all..
my old car (datsun 120y) got problem need help.

ok i traveling...
then i notice something strange. when i press brake or put signal,
the light will dim for a moment, then back to normal..
(seem like battery not conencted? when need electric, the alternator cannot giv that much
usually the battery will 'stablelize' so we not see the 'dim')

then i wan to go toilet.. i stop by a petrol station
then there is few bump on the road, and just when i turn into the station
whole car die! everything electric not functioning
(lucky if not on the road,.. if not i cant even turn on the hazard light)

ok then i try to start.. cannot
even the 'battery' light on the dashboard not lid
then cabin light also no light.
just like everything electric just down.

so i go to toilet lar..
then after i 'do small business'
i come out open the bonet
and touch here touch there the wire
then can start again! (but seriously i not do anything.
cause i dono what to do)

now the car can move, but no air cond (no wind)
then after i drive a while.. air cond back..
then after few minute, air cond down again.

then later on the air cond back
then i use until today also no problem

so anyone know what have been wrong?
how can i check? anyone can help?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
battery is ok.. :(
dono what else can be the problem

very scary
if i in middle of road
and at night (like that day)
sure kena langgar one
lights also cannot work

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
beter send to electrical shop to check....car too old...wire oso old oledi....

in ur case..it doesnt related to ur battery or alternator coz sometimes wil start..sometimes cannot....maybe some relays or main current wire KAPUT oledi

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
so .. where do i start checking.. :(

really sad lar..
suddently got this strange problem
all this while she is a reliable car...

but these few days i everyday drive also no problem

Hi all. My brother's car (Gen-2 1.6 MT year 2004) got overheated because of thermostat failure. After he changed the thermostat(original proton) the engine goes well for about 2 months then it got overheated again also because of thermostat failure. He changed the thermostat(ori proton) and do the top overhaul but the engine got overheated during the test by the mechanic. The mechanic expected the engine head got warped. He said usually Campro head cannot be skimmed but he knows a machine...