Evo 1 engine

speedy_05

Jan 7, 2005
hi allll....

i got some question for all sifus out there..
- how standard / max boost for stock evo 1
- what parts i need to change for go high boost (budget <3k)
- did i going modified to high boost, is that my engine not last longer

thax for help

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
speedy_05 said:
hi allll....

i got some question for all sifus out there..
- how standard / max boost for stock evo 1
- what parts i need to change for go high boost (budget <3k)
- did i going modified to high boost, is that my engine not last longer

thax for help
1.standard boost for evo 1 is 0.7
2.change i/c piping, wastegate
3.it all depend on ur foot

jinkl-

Klang
what is ur aim , 1bar ?
above 1bar we might have problem
for 1bar the main thing u have to do is fueling
make sure enough fuel enters for burning , no knocking and u will run good.
more than 1bar
- intercooler pipes
- wastegate
- metal gasket
- fuel pump
- fuel regulator

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
Boost controller ... bro - RM700 used
Intercooler Piping - RM1,000 (with hoses)
Fuel pump - RM700 new
SAFC or some fuel controller or piggy - RM600 - 1,000 used

ben_gsr2s

Apr 3, 2005
Offshore
hi..

new here.. currently using putra 4g63 evo 1.. bought 2nd hand... old owner already
upgrade dat car to evo engine... so generally i dunno what kind of mod that the old owner done...

my question:

1. what's the function of fuel regulator & boost controller?

2. if i wanna maintain standet one, do i need to add fuel regulator?

3. how can i know (my current engine setting) max boost for my engine? is dyno will do it?

4. standet spec for evo 1?

5. if normal boost 0.7... anyting below dat no need to upgrade rite?

hope sifu (s) can help me here

ben_gsr2s

Apr 3, 2005
Offshore
PutraCraze said:
i will have chance to c another engine kaboom... muahahahahah
hi..

wadda ya mean bro?.. r u referring to my post?

pls help... just trying to get better pict. about turbo

mine one...
- all piping done (stainless steel)
- hybrid gearbox (what kind of hybrid dunno yet)
- quiet a lot aftermarket acc.

p_EVO3

Mar 21, 2004
hey there ben....how long does the owner kept the car running?just want to know some background of the car....try n ask him back,what parts that have been changed......since u said the gearbox is hybrid,then better start gathering some money for future emergency...u'll never know what he has done to the engine......i hope ur not scared or panic....there are many zth member's here who can help u....or why dont u search around the force induction thread to get some more info for your self....currently what is your boost reading?surely the owner left a boost meter for u:D

hope all of us can figure out sumthing for your car..turbo need a lot of caring..try to treat her as your wife...ehhehe...but u know,once u play turbo a lot of money is going to spend if your right foot is heavy..:D..cheers

ben_gsr2s

Apr 3, 2005
Offshore
p_EVO3 said:
hey there ben....how long does the owner kept the car running?just want to know some background of the car....try n ask him back,what parts that have been changed......since u said the gearbox is hybrid,then better start gathering some money for future emergency...u'll never know what he has done to the engine......i hope ur not scared or panic....there are many zth member's here who can help u....or why dont u search around the force induction thread to get some more info for your self....currently what is your boost reading?surely the owner left a boost meter for u:D

hope all of us can figure out sumthing for your car..turbo need a lot of caring..try to treat her as your wife...ehhehe...but u know,once u play turbo a lot of money is going to spend if your
right foot is heavy..:D..cheers
hi..

thanks bro..

if i'm not mistaken laa.. the car been running w/out problemo since been konverted to evo1 back in 2002... what make me 'pening' is amount of mod that the old owner did to that engine.. i have no idea... currently i'm using dat car very careful laaa... kekdg jer boost sampai 1.0...

i got that car from used car dealer... so, generally i dunno well la the old owner...
bro..
do u have spec for evo1?
do i need to overhaul that engine? (to play safe)

ben_gsr2s

Apr 3, 2005
Offshore
my spec:

proton putra yr '97

konverted to 4g63 evo1 yr 2002 (if i'm not mistaken)

interior:
GTi seat - front & rear
evo 4 dashboard
mirage door panel
apex'i boost meter
pivot shift lamp
hks type 0 turbo timer
ICE - pioneer ( dont remember wat no.)
ralliart gear knob
short shift
razo pedal

F-con (old owner take)

exterior:
evo hood
mivec bumper
4 potenza
17" rays GT7 (made in taiwan)
4 GAB hi/low soft/hard abs.
HKS muffler (dunno wat name)
3" stainless steel piping

engine bay:
4g63 evo 1
stainless steel piping complete
big i/cooler (dunno from which evo)
Greedy type S BOV
Pivot voltage stabilizer
NGK plug kabel
CF plug cover
Trust airnyx

other mod... still dunno...

1. do i need boost controller?

if yes,
digital @ manual?

2. fuel regulatror... what for?

p_EVO3

Mar 21, 2004
hey there ben...ok...from your info...im guessing that...

1. air fuel ratio must be tune back..cuz
the owner took fcon..previously,he
must be boosting let say 1.3 bar laa

2. so there must be a metal gasket lying
under the engine....i assume only

3. i think get safc1,blue screen type and
brand new sard regulator will cost u
around rm 450 with installation and the
meter with hoses of course..safc is
around rm 600 n below i think ?

4. boost controller..if got some extra cash
i dont know which brand is suitable cuz
my fren only use tulang ikan...fish tank..
but u need to becareful not to adjust it.

5. check both drive shaft's for oil leaking.
see whether the joints between the
shafts has some black rubber protecting
the joints(it's for preventing grease and
oil leaking...,i think laaa..and also sand
or small stone hitting the joints)

6. hopefully your fuel pump is still in good
condition..maybe the previous owner
had changed it to a newer fuel pump.
so that it can support higher boost..
for example external fuel pump used by
my fren is volvo bosch....but it's noisy
and one thing u need 2 remember is
u need to have some petrol so that the
pump wont be empty n if not.....u will be getting a new pump again...

pm me for workshop details.....:D

* edit - > fuel regulator is 2 control
the petrol flow into injectors
.eg....faster or slower at 60% from
fuel pump flow rate...
sumthing like that...i dont
know how to explain..ehh..
sorry...:D

ben_gsr2s

Apr 3, 2005
Offshore
hi..

bro..

but which one first... i mean which one is more important?

a. boost controller
b. fuel regulator
c. safc

sutiable boost? (let say with stock internals)

let say i'm lowering my boost to max 0.7... does that effect my fuel consumption? need to re-tune?

standet (factory claim) fuel consumption for evo 1?

p_EVO3

Mar 21, 2004
erm i think.....first step is

1. try n purchase safc 1,get it tune...

2. buy either new sard regulator or try n search at performance thread.....

3. 2 of this gadgets will help tuning up your current air fuel ratio......if boosting around .7 bar....stock factory it will be ok...just that the gforce isn't kicking enough...dont worry the fuel consumption...the higher u boost or your right foot is alwiz on the pedal....your fuel will drink like water...

fuel consumption will be affected by your driving style....if u change gear b4 the boost kicks in,your fuel wont be going low....that's what i think....mostly car use who has turbo for surely one to hear the pssssstt....or.....any other sound coming from the b.o.v...

ben_gsr2s

Apr 3, 2005
Offshore
hi..

thanks bro..

rite now i think i got the big pict...

just need to read more n learn more...

do u drive a turbo?

what kind of setting u use?

mine.. i'm looking for one that 'biasa2' laaa...
just need simple car wif power when needed