engine conversions - worth it ??

• See what others are reading now! Try Forums > Current Activity
  • Search function more powerful with google results! Try Search

Dec 16, 2005
it seems that engine conversions almost always come with problems... it doesnt mean if u install a new engine... you're ready and can zip around.. there're bound to be problems.. are these problems really worth it ?? i drive a new saga lmtd edition 1.3.. new jpj regulations only lets me to convert to 1.6 max.. that means im looking at mivec turbo's n stuff.. old engine's.. all ya'll over here.. is it really worth changing my engine.. or should i just soup my current engine and save the cash for a real car.. im just looking for a decent pickup.. good sub 6 second 0-100 time.. can my engine manage that and how many hp's can i extract from my current engine.. update me guys.. im a freaking newbie that knows jack nutz about all this...

gsrTurbo9166

500 RPM
Apr 23, 2005
bro
1st thing to make sure that saga engine mounting is totally different wif the mivec engine mounting
which mean that u need to modify the mounting points for the new engine
that is the problem when u come to modifying the mounting where JPJ will not approve the car
if u really wan a turbo engine
the best choice is 4G61t which the mounting is almost same wif ur saga
but the disadvantage of having this engine is that the engine is too old n the spare parts are quite hard to find
if u need a 6 seconds car
u need to put in an evo or a vr4, unless u mod the mivec engine "kaw kaw"
for ur 1.3 original engine, i don think that it has the ability to mod til become a 6 seconds car
for ur current engine
if i not mistaken, ur car hp is around 80-85 only

so my opinion is
1. change ur current engine to mivec(if u wan n able to settle wif JPJ)
2. change ur current engine to 4G61t
3. sell ur car, buy wira that share the same chasis wif lancer which u can easily mod any engine to it (4G93t,mivec,evo,etc)