sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Buying A Car - Understanding Your Needs

Thinking about what you need from your next car purchase will help you avoid ending up with a van when an MPV is really the order of the day. If you need more help in pinpointing some suitable cars, always consider:

Do you ever actually use the rear seats or would even a five-seat compact MPV be too small to cope with your family plans?

- Do you need a lot of boot space or will the car only ever be used for the weekly shop? If you carry lots of things around, you’ll benefit from added room.
- What sort of journeys will you make? A tiny runabout is great if you just need to buzz around town but, if you take to the highways often, a little more power and comfort would be welcome.
- How many distances will you cover? The more distances you do, the more likely it is you’ll be able to pay off the added cost of a diesel and start saving cash.
- Is outright performance important to you? Would you spend the next three years kicking yourself if you got a 1.6 instead of that 2.0-litre?
- Is safety the top priority? Do you want the best Puspakom score and as many airbags as possible?

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Setting A Budget

Understanding your budget and getting a good price from the dealer is crucial if you don't want the car buying experience to leave a bitter taste in your mouth. Look through our tips to get some pointers on making your cash work for you.

- Set a budget and stick to it, no matter what the dealer or finance company says you can afford.
- Work out how much cash you realistically have to spend after mortgage/rent, tax, bills, entertainment and other outgoings have been considered.
- Besides any repayments on the car itself, you also need to consider other running costs such as fuel bills, insurance premiums and servicing, these will cost you thousands each year. Look at sen-per-km/true-cost figure to see how much the car you've got your eye on will cost to run, on top of the loan/finance.
- Consider whether you really need a brand-new car. Depreciation is the biggest cost in owning a car with the biggest drop coming in the first year. If you buy used, even just a one-year-old model, you could save plenty and still have warranty protection left.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Finance

It's relatively easy to get confused when it comes to car finance. There are many variables and, if you're not careful, you may end up paying more than you have to.

- You might think we're jumping the gun by talking about finance now, but it's never too early to start thinking about it. Dealers love buyers that haven't done their homework and uncovered the competitive rates they can get. Leave it to the last minute and you could lose all the money you've saved haggling and getting a decent price on your trade-in.
- Do your research. Find out the deals that the manufacturer currently has on offer. These might include interest-free or low BLR rates, or even deposit contributions. Manufacturer websites are a good place to check.
- Compare like with like. Check all the details and don’t just focus on the rate or monthly repayments. Look at the total repayable amount to understand exactly how much a loan will cost you over its lifetime.
- A dealer should provide you with a written quote upon request, so don’t be fobbed off with excuses. Get everything in writing, so you can confirm an offer later.
- Shop around. Don’t assume that the dealer is the best place to get your finance. Many Banks now provide competitive loans.
- Haggle. A salesman will not offer you their best deal straight away. Bargain hard and you could make some worth-while savings.
- Don’t be talked or tricked into something you’re not sure off. It’s easy to get confused with numbers, so if you unsure of something say so. Don’t sign anything that you don’t understand.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Where To Buy

Where you buy your car will affect the type of car you buy, and the level of service that you receive. Think about what you're looking for, and the best place to find it.

- Main dealers' sticker prices, those you see on the windscreen, might be the most expensive but you should be getting the best service. You’ll be quoted the highest prices but you can haggle a good discount.
- Brokers put you in touch with dealers offering competitive new car prices but you might have to travel to pick up the car.
- Internet companies allow you to quickly search and find the best prices on a wide range of cars. However, just because they’ve advertised a car, it doesn’t mean that they’ll be able to supply one quickly. Sometimes they sell used cars as well.
- Independent car supermarkets offer a huge number of cars covering the popular brands but, if you're looking for something unusual, you may be disappointed. These are sometimes a good place to pick up a nearly new car.
- Importers can often supply cars at lower prices than anyone else, depending on exchange rate and AP. But make sure you’re buying a car with the correct specification.
- Smaller independents usually stock a wide range of used cars but might not have the largest choice in terms of specification and colour. They tend to sell the cars that are too old for franchised dealers but they are more expensive than buying privately.
- Online auctions are becoming more and more popular. You could find a real bargain through the internet like this, but there’s a lot to bear in mind so take a look at our dedicated advice page.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
How A Showroom Works

Be under no illusion, as soon as you've walked into a showroom, you've entered the salesman's world. They will want to be in control and guide you towards the car that they want to sell. Keep you wits about you and keep to your agenda.

- Answer any questions truthfully and stick to what you use your car for and the sort of car you’re looking for.
- Listen to what the salesman has to say, but don’t be talked into accepting something that you don’t want.
- A common sales trick is to try to intimidate customers, so don’t allow yourself to get bullied into committing to something you don't want.
- Sooner or later, you’ll have to talk money and you may find yourself in front of the sales manager. Their job is to try to get you to spend as much money as possible. If you have a budget, stick to it. Be wary of being talked into increasing it.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
How To Test Drive A Car

It's all very well kicking tyres on a forecourt or shopping in the showroom but that's no substitute for getting behind the wheel. A test drive is a vital part of the decision-making process, never buy a car without one. Here's how to get the most out of your test drive.

- If you’re comparing a wide range of cars, try to test-drive them back to back, or with the smallest gap between each. It’s difficult to remember how one car compares with the last if you drive them two weeks apart.
- Weekdays are a bad time for test drives if you’re looking at a popular car from a dealership. Test-drive when the dealership and the roads are quiet.
- Once you’ve decided on the best car for you, give it an extended test drive. A dealership will probably resist but push for at least a half-an-hour drive.
- Don’t just drive around the block; make sure you cover a variety of different road types. Try towns, country roads highways and a road to get a feel for how the car handles.
- If you have a bad back or suffer health issues, make sure you can easily get in and out of the car, and sit comfortably for a period of time.
- If the car is to be used as a family vehicle, make sure they all fit in the car, can easily get in and out, and check for cubby holes and storage space if you need to.
- If you have a hobby, or a particular need from your car, make sure you try it out properly.

You need to check all the aspects of how a car drives in order to access if it will really suit you. When out on a test drive, make sure you’re happy with the following:
1. Steering
2. Gear change
3. Acceleration and brakes
4. Overall size
5. Ride comfort and noise
6. Seat adjustability
7. All-round legroom
8. Boot and storage space
9. Visibility
10. Entertainment systems (radio, CD, DVD etc)

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
How To Haggle

To many, haggling is a dark art but, without it, you could end up spending thousands more for a car than you have to. It doesn’t have to be this way, and there are some simple pointers to help you become an effective negotiator and clinch a great deal.

- Do your research. Before you visit a dealer, do some homework and find out the size of discounts that companies are offering. Brokers, and even information online. Target Price will show you the average price that you can expect to pay for a car.
- If buying privately, find out what similar cars are going for, set your price and then negotiate to it with the seller.
- Stay calm. You’ll get a better deal if you are cool, calm and collected.
- Decide on your specification of car, know what you're looking to buy, and don’t be talked into taking a lower specs car unless the price reflects it.
- Start at a low opening price but be realistic. Let the other person negotiate you up to a price you are both happy with.
- Don’t be put off by special offers in the showroom. Check the details to see if they are as good as they look. It might better to get a bigger discount than to go for a special offer.
- Show commitment. If you look as if you want to do a deal, the other person should work harder to reach an agreement.
- Deliver an ultimatum. If you are getting close to a deal, say that you will buy a particular car at a particular price – if they agree now.
- Walk away. Don’t be afraid to leave if you can’t reach the deal you're looking for. There is always another car and another deal.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Delivery Times

Depending on whether you’re buying new or used, you can expect a variety of delivery times but make sure you know when the car is ready to be picked up.

- New cars may have to be ordered from the factory, depending on the specification, so you can expect to wait as long as two weeks, or more if the car demand from market.
- Recondition cars, CBU cars and used cars should be ready for collection fairly soon after you agreed a deal, so agree a delivery time of no more than two weeks.
- When buying privately, the seller usually wants to arrange the hand-over as soon as possible, so you should expect to set an early delivery date.
- If the car requires servicing, optional extras fitted or any other work, agree on a realistic timescale for it to be completed. Allow time for the work to be carried out correctly.

Once you’ve found the perfect car, you will probably be asked to leave a deposit before you pay the full amount and take delivery. There are some simple rules to follow to help things run smoothly.

- Remember that a deposit is just that; it removes the car from sale on the premise that you will buy it. If you cancel because you’ve changed your mind, or have found another car, you could stand to lose your deposit.
- The level of deposit required will depend on where you are buying. A small independent dealer may only require RM 300 against a cheaper car, while prestige dealers could want RM 3000 against a factory order. When buying privately, negotiate a sensible amount, RM 200 is fair.
- At a garage, you can pay a deposit with cash, cheque, or credit card. Personal cheques take time to clear and credit cards offer the highest level of protection because any payments made are covered by the Consumer Credit Act. This will give you greater rights if the garage tries anything underhand.
- Only pay the balance of the deal when you pick up the car. Personal cheques and bankers drafts are easier but personal cheques take time to clear, while bankers drafts take just 30 minutes to verify.
- Don’t try and pay large sums of money in cash.
- Credit cards may be the safest way to pay but a dealership may charge a handling fee on larger amounts due to the commission they have to pay on every card transaction.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Contracts

When you’ve found the right car and you want to leave a deposit, make sure you get a sales contract or, if buying privately, a receipt. This will not only give you peace of mind, but could protect you if things go wrong.

- Ensure that all the details are written on the contract, including your name, address and the full details of the car.
- Make sure that the purchase price is clearly displayed so that there can be no confusion later. Details of the deposit should also be recorded so you can easily see the balance to pay.
- If buying from a garage, take five minutes to read the terms and conditions (which should be on the back of the paperwork). If they are not there, ask for a copy, you are entitled to see them before you sign. If you are unsure on any points, ask. If you don’t feel comfortable, don’t sign.
- Sign the paperwork, and make sure the other party does as well.
- Even if you’re buying privately, you can still ask the seller for a receipt.
- Stay in contact with the seller to ensure that you can collect the car when agreed.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Taking Delivery

When the big day arrives, you’ll want to pick up your new car with the minimum amount of hassle. However, get complacent or rush things and you could end up regretting it. Check your car carefully to makes sure all is as it should be.

- Arrive on time and inspect the car before you hand over any money or complete any paperwork.
- Don’t try to do a thorough inspection in the dark or wet: you won’t spot bodywork problems. If buying from a garage, take delivery of the car but ask it to be recorded on the sales invoice that you have not been able to adequately examine the vehicle.
- Walk around the car and check all corners, along with body panels and windows.
- Check that the car is as specified and that all the options you expected are present. If buying used, check that everything works correctly.
- If buying from a dealer, make sure any accessories have been fitted to the car as requested.
- If buying a new car, check the pre-delivery inspection (PDI) has been carried out, and the service book is stamped to reflect this.
- Make sure you ask for both sets of keys, especially if buying privately.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Paperwork

When buying a new car check the paperwork carefully to ensure you get no nasty surprises.

- Examine the registration document and check the registration date, number of owners, engine and chassis number.
- When you complete the sale, ensure that the new owner's section of the registration document is filled out correctly, and that you take the relevant sections with you.
- Look at the service history and see if it has been completed and, if buying a used car, see if important services have been carried out.
- Make sure the inspection has been done, and the report is issue by PUSPAKOM.
- Make sure you get an invoice and sales contract showing that you have completed the deal and that the balance has been paid.
- If you’re opting for a finance package from a dealer, check the paperwork and sign.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
How To Reject And Complaint

If the car is not as expected, you may need to act quickly to save the situation.

- Keep all records and paperwork, in case you need to refer to it later on.
- If you are concerned that the car is not as advertised, you should let the seller know before you take ownership. If buying privately, it might be more difficult to negotiate an agreement. If you are not happy, avoid taking delivery of the car.
- If buying from a garage, they may try and negotiate a settlement with you. This may take the form of an additional discount or extra incentives. Look at these carefully and decide if they are fair compensation.

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
we dun mind any copy & paste as long as it's a constructive thread.

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
why are u getting excited?

all i said was, nice copy and paste?

ya but still,

nice copy and paste

so why are u getting excited for nothing? :thefinger:

nope,im not getting excited & yes u r nothing for me to get excited :rofl:

The rally continues between Mitsubishi Evolution X and Subaru Impreza WRX STi...

At ROADAndTRACK magazine, the debut comparison of these 2 giant monster woes.

The new Subaru Impreza WRX STi will likely bow later this year and go on sale in early 2008. The design ethos for the STi is one of muscularity, and we have to say...