Brake Modification

ccc628

hi, anyone out there know where i can upgrade my waja 1.6 brake? preferably in JB. Coz i found it inefficient during hard braking.

Thanks.

erm...actually u should try better brake pads 1st...
if not change the braking hose 2 steel braided 1s....
wat pads u using now?
u can try bendix metal king gold o mintex...
mintex i've not try yet...gonna try it when my current bendix KO...

Yong_5290 said:
erm...actually u should try better brake pads 1st...
if not change the braking hose 2 steel braided 1s....
wat pads u using now?
u can try bendix metal king gold o mintex...
mintex i've not try yet...gonna try it when my current bendix KO...

Yes true, especially if there is no major engine upgrades yet.

Get better brake pads and steel braided brake hoses.

dear sifis
den how about dics rotors...
like those in the hypertune bmw project car?

hav any recomendation on brake-X
any wan heard of it?
cos i think i saw it on hypertune website

well...like KCT said...u dun need those bigger rotor n caliper if u have no any major modification 2 ur engine (transplant)
bcoz 1st of all...u need a bigger rim...xample...1.6 wira disc cannot put in 13" rim....

yup...many ppl using vr4 twin pot o evo's....but tats a lot much more cheaper than those brembo alcon o wat u mention,brake X....

bcoz we get chop shop stuff...tats y cheaper...

I hagree with wat acbc sez.. try the steel braided brake lines first. That's quite good actually. Average retail price is abt RM170 or so for these lines from UK. Cums in a set of 4. Shud fit Waja no problems. Ultimately, get the brembos from EVO 5/6. Eh. 5 using brembo ke? 4gottt la!

I'll say try the better quality brake pad as well before you swap everything and find out later the improvement is minor...

another one try master pump n servo... waja can fit 2 layer master pump from vr4 or evo? the two layer master pump compare with single layer is big diff even u feel like the same... two layer will give more pressure with soft braking prevent less brake lock during hard braking....

THe brake system must compliment the vehicle's power and weight.

Having a too powerful brake will result in locked wheel and spin out of control.

hello...i fitted brake-x few months back on my waja 1.6(m)
the braking power do increase alot..but unfortunately what joeker said is right...having a too powerful braking system for a standard waja,,result= LOcked,Locked,Locked....
the spec=285mm,sloted disc,twin pot,it comes with 0-550c
brake pad....i also changed my brake hoses to pro rs steel braided hose..but still using the original brake pump...plan to change it later..any good suggestion aorund/?!? :)

locked wheels because
1) brakes are too powerful
2) and dont have ABS

i don't think locked wheel due to tyre...cause i'm using advan neova AD07 215/45r17...i don't think is a bad tyre anyway :)
maybe due to NO ABS!!

it may be due to your master pump. Use dual layer, you feel a progressive feeling. I will always opp for good brakings. Using bigger rotors will help prevent tyre lock.

Joeker said:
THe brake system must compliment the vehicle's power and weight.

Having a too powerful brake will result in locked wheel and spin out of control.
Hi Joeker,

Juz like wat u said....am planning to change the standard one to twin port for w/b 1.3,
so that mean it not suitable for my car?

Thanks.

so izzit the brake mod is not so much need like uprated servo, rotors, caliper if not going to install big engine

jus upgrade the hose and pad first is sufficient

yup...if u do not have future plan 2 upgrade ur engine...using good brake pads n stell braided hose is way enuf...

my fren's wira change his brake pump n servo 2 double layer vr4 1...at the end...his mech didnt set properly..his brake locked...which he didnt know n still throttle all the way...which lead 2 his engine kong...

Agl..4 example...lots of ppl put twin pot...but think bout it...does ur 1.5 engine need such stoping power?