B18CR on EJ/EK

civic_pai

Sep 6, 2006
Hi All Honda Sifu...

Need your advice on putting B18CR engine on EJ?EK Body.

1. Is this the right choice?
2. is there any problem on mounting? since we know by changing the mounting position will be rejected when we do the endorsement in Puspakom?
3. How about the:-
a. reliability
b. FC
c. spare part availability
d. spare part price
e. common part that need periadic maintenance

Since, I'm thinking to do the endorsement without runner, would be any problem to endorse this conversion beside the mounting problem?

Thanx in advance for those willing to help me.

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
1.shud be yes
2.no problem on mounting. most wshop now how to do it. its minor.
a.type r engine can be consider as reliable engine. 10 years engine oso running well.
b.FC depen on ur mods n engine setup.
c.general parts easy to get but type r parts some a bit hard to get n pricey.
d.anything got type r mark sure a bit expensive
e.common parts need periadic maintenance like wear n tear parts - piston rings, valve seal, head gasket, oil seal etc...

budin99

Mar 19, 2006
waaa...Vtec sifu oledi speak out. saw on your website, selling B18CR hafkat. How much is it? PM me your best price Mie.

Civic_pai, this guys has the hafkat. Try to ask him if you still looking. (Mie..10% for me haa...hehehhe)

For me, it's better to take B16A and the balance($$$) that you had, do some upgrade. just my 2 cent.

avantasia

Sep 27, 2004
TeAM C.R.D KL
-----------> yes B18CR is the right choice

2. is there any problem on mounting? since we know by changing the mounting position will be rejected when we do the endorsement in Puspakom?

---------------> nope only block mounting need to change to EK mounting n gearbox mounting if u r in auto mode at present...........and the wiring

a. reliability
---------------> yes, reliable for standard set up!!!!!

b. FC
----------------> standard B18CR (ECU standard also) + 2.3" piping + 2.3" straight flow muffler - 38liter = 400km

--------------->easy to find out except for used crankshaft+bearing+conrod, all the parts like standard timing belt, bearing, water pump, clutch plate + cover, metal gasket etc etc same as B16 availability

d. spare part price
---------------> standard spare parts price is almost the same as B16

e. common part that need periodic maintenance

-------------->standard timing belt, bearing, alternator belt, power steering belt, air cond belt, oil seal, cam seal, o-ring, water pump, clutch plate + cover, metal gasket, engine oil, oil filter, spark plugs

just my 1 cents :cry_smile:

civic_pai

Sep 6, 2006
hattech-v said:
1.shud be yes
2.no problem on mounting. most wshop now how to do it. its minor.
a.type r engine can be consider as reliable engine. 10 years engine oso running well.
b.FC depen on ur mods n engine setup.
c.general parts easy to get but type r parts some a bit hard to get n pricey.
d.anything got type r mark sure a bit expensive
e.common parts need periadic maintenance like wear n tear parts - piston rings, valve seal, head gasket, oil seal etc...
Thanx Mie..
Waa...mean B18CR suitable for EK huh! yum! yum! hopefully got enough money for this conversion:X-:

civic_pai

Sep 6, 2006
avantasia said:
-----------> yes B18CR is the right choice

---------------> nope only block mounting need to change to EK mounting n gearbox mounting if u r in auto mode at present...........and the wiring

a. reliability
---------------> yes, reliable for standard set up!!!!!

b. FC
----------------> standard B18CR (ECU standard also) + 2.3" piping + 2.3" straight flow muffler - 38liter = 400km

--------------->easy to find out except for used crankshaft+bearing+conrod, all the parts like standard timing belt, bearing, water pump, clutch plate + cover, metal gasket etc etc same as B16 availability

d. spare part price
---------------> standard spare parts price is almost the same as B16

e. common part that need periodic maintenance

-------------->standard timing belt, bearing, alternator belt, power steering belt, air cond belt, oil seal, cam seal, o-ring, water pump, clutch plate + cover, metal gasket, engine oil, oil filter, spark plugs

just my 1 cents :cry_smile:
Avantasia..
Thanx for your advice and sharing...seem to me you are using B18CR. mind to share your experience?

bro_torex

Jun 28, 2006
I think if you need more power,

Get a b16a and using b20b block.

:)

avantasia

Sep 27, 2004
TeAM C.R.D KL
no harms sharing with u guys

if you need more power!!!!

a. P n P on your B16A head + CTR cam set + adjustable cam pulley with proper setup

b. B20B block with B18CR crankshaft + conrod + bearing + 84mm High compression forged piston (JE, TODA, crower etc) + H22A injector

c. proper engine management (tuning)

confirm sangat laju!!!! hehh hehhh hehhh

sasuke

Nov 23, 2004
avantasia said:
no harms sharing with u guys

if you need more power!!!!

a. P n P on your B16A head + CTR cam set + adjustable cam pulley with proper setup

b. B20B block with B18CR crankshaft + conrod + bearing + 84mm High compression forged piston (JE, TODA, crower etc) + H22A injector

c. proper engine management (tuning)

confirm sangat laju!!!! hehh hehhh hehhh
Wow... Avantech recipe... :_:

sasuke

Nov 23, 2004
civic_pai said:
Hi All Honda Sifu...

Need your advice on putting B18CR engine on EJ?EK Body.

a. reliability
b. FC
d. spare part price
e. common part that need periadic maintenance

Since, I'm thinking to do the endorsement without runner, would be any problem to endorse this conversion beside the mounting problem?

Thanx in advance for those willing to help me.
All ur questions already answered by Avantech techical support... :_:

To answer ur main question... it's depends how u want to drive ur car.
If u wan it very very fast B18C5 will quite hard to catch up with B20B or turbo. If u want a problemless daily driving car (with power), B18C5 is definately a rite choice after K20A. Good fuel consumption, good torque... No regret!!!

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
since v r in d topic abt Type R here,cud i ask?how much work need 2 b done on a B16A 2 get power close 2 a stock std B16B?....

avantasia,
u mention abt proper cam set up w d cam pulley.is it really necessarily 2 use cam pulleys?n how 2 get d proper set up?dyno tune?..hope u can help.i haf a slow bai B16A here... =(

kRiminaLz

Docklands/SAlam
err.. need to know sumthing..
shouldt we use a ctr camshaft instead of itr cams?

civic_pai

Sep 6, 2006
bro_torex said:
I think if you need more power,

Get a b16a and using b20b block.

:)
bro-torex look likes the B20B rojak becomes more common recently. I totally blur on this setup. Another things, is this conversion legal? I meant can get approval from JPJ? because from 1.6 to 2.0 I think more than 25% already.

civic_pai

Sep 6, 2006
civic_koled said:
guys.....how about B18C gsr???? is it better than B16A or same??
ya lorr..how bout dis B18C GSR. Not much people used dis engine compare to b16A. Is there any reason? how much BHP can produce by dis standard engine?

aeonic

Nov 9, 2004
normally ppl use this block with b16a head. produce alot of HP too.

I suppose it was inevitable; Porsche recently announced that the name for the new SUV in their line-up is Macan. Derived from the Indonesian word for tiger, it is said to combine suppleness, power, fascination and dynamics - core characteristics of this new car. This new SUV is said to slot in below the Cayenne.

The Macan will be sixth in the model...