Autocross : Turbo and NA

alien

Apr 21, 2004
kuala lumpur
how would a turbocharge car perform in an autocross compared to a non turbocharged one, with the same size and class..

would the extra torque be an advantage for the turbocharged car?
turbo lag?
and if there were minimal turbo lag?

or would a turbocharged car be a bit more 'harder' to manouvere?
when the turbo juz kick in in a middle of a turn?

MRMIC2

Apr 18, 2004
use very light or small turbines.Ball bearing turbos will help.
If u use a big turbo chances are you might not even use it on boost through out the race. :)
Turbos will definately help on the straights but a definate no-no on the corners.

VictorGR

Sep 24, 2004
for me i still prefer light engines with instant throttle respond (like carbs)

KillerB

Nov 20, 2003
Ahmelicans used to say horsepower sells cars, torque wins races. In recent R3TA2dot6, starlet turbo has triumphed over ek9 over a tight course.

tryforce

May 4, 2005
i prefer NA more than turbo in SSO. But also depends what class u join. If the sifu EK9 2.0 can exchange with my starlet i will be very happy :_:

eater_eg6

Feb 15, 2004
east coast
www.geocities.com
tryforce , ur car n hamlai's car also very the fast n 'geng' .. :)

I dun think turbo is slow lor..just c how u set it to gua... listen to the turbo car driver n sifu like MRMIC2 n tryforce is better.. :)

VictorGR

Sep 24, 2004
eater_eg6 said:
tryforce , ur car n hamlai's car also very the fast n 'geng' .. :)

I dun think turbo is slow lor..just c how u set it to gua... listen to the turbo car driver n sifu like MRMIC2 n tryforce is better.. :)
then your car not 'geng'

alien

Apr 21, 2004
kuala lumpur
with the amount of corners and turns..
the conclusion is a NA is the most prefered choice?
MRMIC, the mr2's a 3sgte or an NA version..?

MRMIC2

Apr 18, 2004
alien said:
with the amount of corners and turns..
the conclusion is a NA is the most prefered choice?
MRMIC, the mr2's a 3sgte or an NA version..?
3sgte is turbo.
NA or turbo...u need a very quick response engine,light car ,grippy tires and maybe less grip on rear for certain tracks.Most of all...drumroll ****** is the Driver!. a person can have a good car but cant go fast (like me).and some drivers can win in any cars..like Ian.So do come and join us to learn.

julianpang

Mar 15, 2004
MRMIC2 said:
3sgte is turbo.
NA or turbo...u need a very quick response engine,light car ,grippy tires and maybe less grip on rear for certain tracks.Most of all...drumroll ****** is the Driver!. a person can have a good car but cant go fast (like me).and some drivers can win in any cars..like Ian.So do come and join us to learn.
Ya...... come come come.... We all learn during the GRA driving clinic. It is coming up soon so Stay Tuned.

KP61

May 12, 2004
Power is not everything in autocross if u don't have skill.........that's why i join auto-x to gain more experience hopefully not more cones.....

hi bro
got a prob here
at the rear part of my car...oil stains are found on the floor near the tyre..when i tried 2 smell it...its odourless...and its brownish yellow color
wat are the causes bros?