All about tires (tyres) setup

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
BS, need to appologize to you lah...don't shoot me ah. This morning I just found out that I'm actually using 215/45/17. My tyre is Hankook Optimo XQ. hehe..sorry ah..:embaressed_smile:

But still I suspect the top mounting is one of the caused. You can check visually when it is due by poping your hood. If you see tiny crack or the center part is bulging up then it is time to change.

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Yu, i changed my top mounting 2 years ago (40,000KM travelled so far) at Chui Sunway workshop.

The thing still in good shape, will take a picture this weekend when I do more test.

Ace, hahaha, I knew it.
I also original thought that my rear is 235/45R17 :biggrin:

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
I guess 215 is the max width you can go for. But yu's 245 is scary man..won't that be too big?

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
it's a gamble. I wanted to have that balance long time, but as i was told by the tyre seller earlier, Michelin Pilot 225/45R17 = 215/45R17 other brand.

I'm not sure why michelin have different measurement, which is different from other tyre manufacturer.

Do you guys aware about the number and alphabet printed at the end of the sidewall reading? Careful, don't get anything less than 90X for Coupe.

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
Are you sure the 225 of Michelin is equivelant of others 215? If yes then you shouldn't have any rubbing problem issue already.

As for the reading, to those who don't know. These are load and speed index that are rated by manufacturer. 90 means the tyre able to withstand 600KG. 90 x 4 will be 2400KG which is more then enought for our coupe including full load.

Where the alphabet will indicate the speed limit. "U" is already capable of handling up to 200KM/H where "V" is able to go at 240KM/H. So ideally our coupe should be using "V" rated and higher.

BS,
There is no "X" index for tyre though. Maybe you put an X to indicate the alphabet?

Rgds,
Ace

Yu911

Aug 17, 2006
www.cardomain.com
I think the 'X' is for V, H & W, an I right?
all the size is the same, as 215 is just 215mm, but michelin is more round, the others is more flat, so will look like smaller with round.
As the link from Ace, the Venturs HR II H405 is flat & the XQ Optima H422 is more round, so with the same size but 1 is flat & the other is round, will look not the same, get what I say?
Ace, if can fit biger size I will go for it, I like 255/35/18" but.......
For me, the price come 1st. & the tread wear 2nd. I need some thing tahan lama, can save $$$, kekeke...
eeh, wana list down how far our car goes? my car is more than 300K km:emoticon_U: still very good, coupe realy can tahan lama lah,:Not_Impressed:

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
Agreed with you Yu. I use Yokohama ADVAN before on a 15". The tyres look like 16" to 17" series to me. But BS is using a more rounder tyre right? BS? One should consider whether his rim is 7J or 7.5J or more extreme 8J.

As how far our coupe can go? I think YU will be holding the record lah. I only drive during weekend. So very low mileage.

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Ace and Yu, yes, both of you got me right for the alphabet

Full table from Bridgestone.

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
RD1 and RD2 can go more than 200KMH, so do not get any class lower than V.
V, Z, W, Y are the class we need to pick.

And yes, Michelin is more rounder tyre.
For those who wanna have 225 width setup, 7.5JJ rim is the minimum they shall go.

Ace, 8JJ not extreme, you can check with Yu. :biggrin: kekeke

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
guys, Yu is right, 225/45R17 still touch the fender under certain circumstances.

Like if I go down hill and try to make a turning at the slope and flat surface.
I believe the entire chassis move forward a bit which cause "The Touch".. :biggrin:

so safest setup shall be 215/45R17 for the front.

PS: I'm still very happy with the setup.
PS: No problem entering 1 Utama new wing parking, only old wing parking give problem if go basement parking.

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
would like to let go my previous tyres.

Anyone or your friend interested? :biggrin:
Help me to spread.
thread in zth
http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=121901

Hi all,

Would like to let go 2 piece of Bridgestone Potenza GIII 205/40R17

Brand: Brigdestone
Model: Potenza GIII
Tires setup: 205/40R17
Load: 80
Speed: V

Manufactured: 2004, 32th Week
Thread left: ~60% (view the pic)
Mileage travel: ~8000KM (or less, installed on weekend car)

Price: RM120 per piece
Payment: COD

communication: PM me (my phone is kind of hard to reach during office hour)

Potenza GIII

205/40R17 80V

Manufactured 2004, 32th Week

overall

thread view [1]

thread view [2]

thread view [3]

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Yu, actually what happen? Your tires pecah so frequent?

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
maybe road surface condition, Yu's coupe run hillroad everyday. :biggrin:

Hi all,

I would like to know is it possible to change a 4g15 engine to a twin cam 4g91 engine by just inserting a 4g91 engine and using the same 4g15 ,gearbox ,extractor and so on.