262 cam vs 272 cam

alexklg

Feb 13, 2006
wooo.... Hijack a bit here.. coz i'm thinking of changing my cam pulleys to those adjustable ones. However, my friend from speedworks advise me that stock camshafts are good enough already. dun need change cams... but i doubt that.. i think he said that bcoz he dun have the cams YET.. hahaha.. anywayz, I'm driving a 1.6 campro neo.

So, for street use, 262 or 264 good enough? what can i expect in terms of performance?

Why is it recommended to change the valve springs and retainer if use 272?

man_

Dec 13, 2005
im using 272 for my 4g15...got 12 hp extra than 264...still used stock valve spring n retainer.. idling it same as 264...its a billet camshaft(not regrind)....came from Australia... done by Powerzone....

JGE_4G15

Aug 26, 2006
sorry to intervene but juz wanna find out can 4g15 (a) change cam shaft/
if yes, wats is the reconmend 1?

man_

Dec 13, 2005
that billet camshaft not from Rpw......cost me around RM 1400+

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
JGE_4G15 said:
sorry to intervene but juz wanna find out can 4g15 (a) change cam shaft/
if yes, wats is the reconmend 1?
yes.... boleh....
for beginners, mayb u can try powerzone camshaft... i heard reviews saying its not bad... suitable for daily use.... power increasement wise, not that extreme la... more or less a mild cam....

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
last time when i used 292 cam also using 100% stock valvetrain. stock valve springs, stock retainers, everything stock. full race cam from RPW. in my opinion, stock 4g13/15 valvetrain can support 8000rpm without breaking a sweat. beyond that, dunno coz i seldom shifted after 8000rpm...

JGE_4G15

Aug 26, 2006
SkYwAlKeR said:
yes.... boleh....
for beginners, mayb u can try powerzone camshaft... i heard reviews saying its not bad... suitable for daily use.... power increasement wise, not that extreme la... more or less a mild cam....
thank for the input.....
then wat is he reconmend 1?
272 or 264?
any idea wats the price like?

theorekz

Mar 29, 2005
hiztorikal.c.t.
how about matspeed's cam...? i eye-witnessed myself the difference of their cam on my friend's stock satria se.... once reaches high-end rpm, his car accelerates very fast....

or like what khoyos said, rpw from australia... but it'll cost a bomb...

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
we're not in the stoge age anymore... even full race cam can be streetable nowadays with lots of piggyback tuning gadgets... but if u want aircon with stable idling just like standard car, while in the same time want the car to "jump" when the cams open, hard a bit la bro

alexklg

Feb 13, 2006
khoyos bro, i agree with you.

however, currently, my ride using Siemens VDO ECU and there has been some speculation of using piggybacks on this ECU. Lots of debate had been going on as to how to tame the comp but i can't find sufficient concrete evidence that there is any good piggybacks out there than can crack the stubborn chip.

Thus, using a high cam like a 272 lift profile cam on my ride might be slightly tricky. I think, judging from flushafteruse bro's opinion, maybe i can't use the 272 just yet.

what do you think? Maybe you have some info for piggyback ECUs for EMS700.

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
272 cams need to change valve springs meh...? tot juz tukar rocker arm only?

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
based on some feedback from some R3 owners friends, even R3 division dont know how to tune the EMS700. even the famous R3 division base their tunings on "luck" in adjusting fuel regulators and cam pulleys... no fuel n ignition tuning from the ecu. when asked, they would just recommend motec hahaha...

lucky i'm using 18 years old mitsubishi engine management technology.....

alexklg

Feb 13, 2006
hehehe.... based on "luck" huh... i think that's explained my erratic line graph on my torque curve... hahaha... oh well then... when the time comes... STANDALONES!! wahhaha... ;)

thanx khoyos bro... ;)

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
alex, if u fancy a standalone ecu, can get megasquirt. cheapest standalone ecu, proven worldwide. complete kit cost less than 400USD. plus install, customs tax and everything, may come up to rm3k plus minus. can get rid of the "superb" siemens management hehehe... if u have electronics background, can DIY.
check out www.diyautotune.com .

i just installed quickshift gear lever into my iswara, and i think the pros are:
1. shorter shift length
2. firm shifting
3. no big clearance between gears

cons:
1. use more energy to shift
2. shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear and 4th to 5th gear a bit difficult since we have to find the correct line before shifting. (compared to standard gear lever where when u free up the gear it will automatically centered itself)

what u guys think?