- Sep 17, 2008
Bros and friends of ZTH, I would like to seek your advice on Room Rental procedures.
Usually, as far as I know, if u want to rent a room, you are require to pay a certain amount of deposit maybe example 2 months of rental Deposit and need to give 1 month notice before you move out.
So, I have encounter one problem which I do not really know what to do if the owner refuse to pay us back the full deposit.
The story goes like this, we have adi given 1 month notice and rental for this month has due, but all this while no matter whether u stay or not staying there for a month, water, electric and streamyx bill will be split among 4 rooms including the owner's room.
The owner is staying one of the rooms as well. So, as for this month, we have not stay there for the whole month liao and we find it fishy when the owner called and told us about the water, electric and streamyx bill cost.
It was much higher than usual whereby I have been staying there for years and this time is the highest cost for our room of shares. 2 rooms have shifted out and we did not stay for a month. I mean, is really unfair to us.
U r the only one staying and use all the electric, water, and streamyx. How can u split only between two of our rooms? The rest of the cost u shud bear it urself cuz is unfair that we did not stay and u charge us not according to our usual share of costs. I don't mind paying even If im not staying since it is the procedure but this time round is too much and very unfair to us. As a human and owner, we have been staying with u so many years. How can u be treating us like this? Where is your integrity as a person?
So, I suspect that she split the cost of the bills among 2 rooms. She said she will deduct the room rental and bills on our deposit that we paid. Can u imagine, no one is staying and we have to fork up 100+ for electric bill? or is just a terrible way that she settle the deposit that she have adi used and no money to pay us back the deposit?
The only thing I'm gonna do is ask her to show us the bills and calculate ourselves again. I'm just worried that no matter what we say or how we argue, she won't pay us back the right amount of deposit that we rightfully deserve back. I can't do anything if she refuse. What can I do? Bash her up? Break everything in the house and get in trouble?
No contract was signed during our agreement which was a mistake.
Please give some advice bro. Really headache. Going there to see her tonight. Please Help me...
Usually, as far as I know, if u want to rent a room, you are require to pay a certain amount of deposit maybe example 2 months of rental Deposit and need to give 1 month notice before you move out.
So, I have encounter one problem which I do not really know what to do if the owner refuse to pay us back the full deposit.
The story goes like this, we have adi given 1 month notice and rental for this month has due, but all this while no matter whether u stay or not staying there for a month, water, electric and streamyx bill will be split among 4 rooms including the owner's room.
The owner is staying one of the rooms as well. So, as for this month, we have not stay there for the whole month liao and we find it fishy when the owner called and told us about the water, electric and streamyx bill cost.
It was much higher than usual whereby I have been staying there for years and this time is the highest cost for our room of shares. 2 rooms have shifted out and we did not stay for a month. I mean, is really unfair to us.
U r the only one staying and use all the electric, water, and streamyx. How can u split only between two of our rooms? The rest of the cost u shud bear it urself cuz is unfair that we did not stay and u charge us not according to our usual share of costs. I don't mind paying even If im not staying since it is the procedure but this time round is too much and very unfair to us. As a human and owner, we have been staying with u so many years. How can u be treating us like this? Where is your integrity as a person?
So, I suspect that she split the cost of the bills among 2 rooms. She said she will deduct the room rental and bills on our deposit that we paid. Can u imagine, no one is staying and we have to fork up 100+ for electric bill? or is just a terrible way that she settle the deposit that she have adi used and no money to pay us back the deposit?
The only thing I'm gonna do is ask her to show us the bills and calculate ourselves again. I'm just worried that no matter what we say or how we argue, she won't pay us back the right amount of deposit that we rightfully deserve back. I can't do anything if she refuse. What can I do? Bash her up? Break everything in the house and get in trouble?
No contract was signed during our agreement which was a mistake.
Please give some advice bro. Really headache. Going there to see her tonight. Please Help me...