What's the differences between racing and non racing lubricant?

Automotive Lubricant

May 23, 2012
As often as we come across racing and non racing automotive lubricant, but what is the differences between these two type of lubricant?

please feel free to discuss this topic, cheers!

racing lubricant mostly have lighter viscosity to keep power loss from fluid shearing force inside crankcase while maintaining lubricant properties at higher stress and temperature that are common to racing situation.....another key factor was the addative in the oil was specially formulated to help in racing condition...that's why it was expensive than normal oil...

BUT...sometime they have short life (short service interval) and most of the time the price isn't really benefits for daily driver.....unless u were using that car for weekend trackdays/competition......

so price wise it depends on ones pocket.....

while normal oil doesn't focus on performance,they focus on durability instead thus long service interval can be achieved and cost effective..especially on daily use car with high mileage usage/day.....

if u wants something better for your normal car and doesn't mind the price....why not use it...

don't use racing oil for street car, unless you want to change oil every race (<100km?) and rebuild engines every 5,000km or 1 year whichever comes first - that's the typical lifespan for a race car for a track. in fact if the race car is going into storage, they would immediately change the engine oil after the race before storing it.

people don't skimp on actual race cars.

as ^pomen_GTR^ said, additive package. the engine oils are engineered differently to fulfill its purpose.

Automotive Lubricant

May 23, 2012
ixeo, i would say that racing lubricant is definitely much better than typical lubricant and yes the service interval will be shorter compared to normal lubricant but it doesn't goes as what you said for every 100km that you need to change the lubricant, because we don't go full out on a street car as often as track cars does and track cars are meant to be at excellent condition all the time in order to get the best out of the race.

If one does drive full out all the time, it doesn't matter what lubricant you used, you will still need to change it more often.

racing lubricant much better than typical lubricant? in what sense? do you have used oil analysis to backup your claims?

bera

Oct 27, 2007
better at burning a hole in your wallet maybe... seen a nismo competition oil 5 liter with a RM8++ price tag :banghead:...

Biggest different?

Price.

:biggrin:

Additives in racing lubes make for higher heat resistance, lower detergents, higher shear resistance, etc etc. Kinda ideal for constant redlining, super hot engine conditions.

Normal lubes have higher cleaning properties (detergents) but everything else is somewhat similar, except perhaps the heat tolerances and a few other 'less essential' things not normally important to a street going car.

Ixeo is right about not using racing lube on a normal car - but 100km is exaggerated la. For a racing lube on a normal car I'd recommend perhaps 3000km or half the recommended OCI for the normal lube equivalent. Eg - Mobil 1 gold OCI every 10k km. The racing equivalent 5000 or 6000km max.

No matter what street going engines need detergents otherwise carbon, varnish, etc buildup will be detrimental to your engine. Race cars get completely stripped down and rebuilt (usually) at each race so they don't need so much detergents in comparison.

100km is referring to actual race cars. how often they race more than a 100km? unless its endurance races. they dump engine oil after every race, fact.

the racing engine oil manufacturers are aware of that, and thus, don't care much about extended mileage for racing oils.

welll but example such as castrol edge endurance with 10w-60 oil surely for endurance 24hours that likely clocking thousands of kms in one day..... :biggrin:

ken yeang

having the "LAYSING" word in any product makes it more expensive.

Go kedai abang and see. MAny items sold there got Laysing word.

Kim moh mechanics oso very pandai now, when moddding your car...sure say laysing here, laysing there..

planning to install clifford 2 way alarm system for my car. anybody knows the price and shop which knows how to install the alarm system?

what is the max distance for the 2 way to respond? I worry that the alarm have approx 200 to 300m only.

does the alarm comes with immo?