What makes a car - a car? How do you choose one

What makes a car special to you?

- Looks?
- The way it makes you feel when you drive it?
- The raw power and torque?
- NA/Turbo/SC/ITB technology interests you?
- Your masturbated to a poster of a girl in the car when you were younger?

Discuss.

When it’s mine.
Plenty of sampans on the road, my sampan is damn special cause, well it’s sum of its parts costs more than the car itself for starters lol.

Reactions: Izso

alcyon

Sep 13, 2015
I want something stylish, that stands out, an attention grabber, but not tacky like those stancers or hellaflushers. While I still have the energy and the cash to own such cars.
A retro time machine. The more 1980s it is , the better. Preferably RWD and 2 doors.
My dad had a ford escort early on in my life. Since then to me a proper car should always have a longitudinal engine with a shaft driving the back wheels...
When I feel too old to take care of cars like these I will sell them and go to plain cheap bargains till the end of my life.

parakey

Apr 30, 2012
When it’s mine.
Plenty of sampans on the road, my sampan is damn special cause, well it’s sum of its parts costs more than the car itself for starters lol.
Found it odd that you spoke of the sampan rather than the cruise liner. The attachment is strong

Nightstalker1993

Aug 30, 2010
Subang Jaya

- Looks?

Discuss.
All of the above except the last one.

Also, the quest for knowledge and that satisfaction you get when the theory you had in your head worked out in real life when you applied it.

Found it odd that you spoke of the sampan rather than the cruise liner. The attachment is strong
I guess its because of what I went through with the sampan. All the modifications done to customise it to MY LIKING, that journey, experience and what I've learned.

The cruise liner is a superior car in every single way. Like seriously. But I've not done anything to it except stick a spoiler on it myself. Is it special? Not really.

The way I look at it, the car that's special to us, is the one we have and the one we want to have, the poster of which is on the wall. I have a RX-7 FD3S on my wall. Would I want it? Not really LOL I am not ready to live with the rotary engine maintenance.

Since @Izso 's question is what makes a car special to you. I guess if you lost your virginity in the car, it'd make that car pretty special too.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
For me, at least 70% is down to how it feels when i drives it, 20% is on equipment, 10% on looks.

I dont mind what brand or model as China cars are getting better, I dont mind high maintenance as long as not crazy high...after all i own a Renault-powered waja.

20% on Gadget;
When we review cars we tend to say this model or that is better equipped and is the one to buy. However, on daily commute do we utilise all these money-spent gadget? I am happy with push start,keyless entry, and reliable GPS. Safety is a different matter, it should comes as standard.

70% on how it feels;
This is down to individual preference. Some are blinded by placebo effect of driving certain make. For me its not about all out speed or all out handling. Its the solid confidence, effortless cruising yet composed body control. This could be why i luv my bro W124 and my Waja. My friend Kia K3 is not bad too and so does another friend 2012 Pug 508. There is a mixed of make and model here but they seems to be able to make me feel cosy in my comfort zone.

Then comes my luv for 4x4 which does not cruise or take corner well. However, this type of vehicle gives u solid confidence on the beaten path. Its hard to explained this feels as it involved lots of money esp in the fuel section but i dont mind fuelling once a while to the brim just to drives it offroad or even balik kampung.

I think for me, a car must be solid and capable. However the most important thing is that it must be able to unleash the inner kid which is trapped in u. We all have this tingling feeling to do something naughty once a while...just admit it. Dont tell me u mod your car with turbo engine and have never ever floor it in the 1st 3 gear?
That something naughty could be the factor which swing me more toward cars with continental ride feel and 4x4.
However some just settle for the feeling of 'If i want to do it then i know i can'

If i were to list down all the cars which i have experienced it will be a boring list as they are just normal cars but the outcome is very interesting as different vehicle category is considered as a 'car' to me. Even different variant for a model will yield different outcome.

For me, at least 70% is down to how it feels when i drives it, 20% is on equipment, 10% on looks..
I used to think like you. But ever since I've been driving around my loaner Saga FLX manual with mods, I've had a shift in my thinking.

- how it feels to drive : I've come to realize this can be modified to make it feel nice to you. Like Ixeo and his sampan, I've totally fallen in love with the Saga FLX manual 1.3. The one car I had never even looked at when it was new and only after 3 generations later only come to love. It's not stock but totally beats the crap out of almost all the cars I've ever driven in terms of how it makes me feel when I drive it. I wake up in the morning actually looking forward to driving it. The only disappointment is it's not mine.

- Modern accessories and gadgets are getting scary as hell. Having read about hacked Teslas, hacked brakes on other cars, hacked push-start, etc... I am beginning to appreciate the analog stuff.

- Looks : Like I said. I'm driving a Saga FLX. How much looks matters to me now? I'd say 5-10% at most. The only time looks matters to me is when people give way because of the Porsche badge or the Skyline tail lights. I appreciate good manners on the road. heh.

All this is not helped by the fact that I haven't bought my replacement car yet.

- Looks?

Discuss.

i always love subaru since legacy entered rally championship...
then the gc8...

and suddenly got one "mysterious white angel" have the same scooby rumble and brapp in oil palm estate with same speed and capability in the rally special stages as the GC8 impreza....

i'm straight falls in love with her...

and i'll never be separated again with my love of my life... :biggrin: :driver:

rally of malaysia sf5.jpg

white sf5 rally.jpg

so thats it... :driver:

DNGFashion

Apr 20, 2017
I used to think like you. But ever since I've been driving around my loaner Saga FLX manual with mods, I've had a shift in my thinking.

- how it feels to drive : I've come to realize this can be modified to make it feel nice to you. Like Ixeo and his sampan, I've totally fallen in love with the Saga FLX manual 1.3. The one car I had never even looked at when it was new and only after 3 generations later only come to love. It's not stock but totally beats the crap out of almost all the cars I've ever driven in terms of how it makes me feel when I drive it. I wake up in the morning actually looking forward to driving it. The only disappointment is it's not mine.

- Modern accessories and gadgets are getting scary as hell. Having read about hacked Teslas, hacked brakes on other cars, hacked push-start, etc... I am beginning to appreciate the analog stuff.

- Looks : Like I said. I'm driving a Saga FLX. How much looks matters to me now? I'd say 5-10% at most. The only time looks matters to me is when people give way because of the Porsche badge or the Skyline tail lights. I appreciate good manners on the road. heh.

All this is not helped by the fact that I haven't bought my replacement car yet.

What were some of the mods for this Saga FLX 1.3?

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka

My BLM used to be modded for handling...not hardcore but enough to scare some wannabe...the rear UR arb bar is a magnet for wannabe to cucuk me.Its fun coz u can push it really hard and when u break its limit,it happened in a safe manner (after mod lah).
However its not good for carrying people plus luggage....mine is auto so u can imagine.

Modding will get u there but u will stop at the point it started to compromise daily usage if u plan to use it daily.

On the gadget, high tech gadget is not a must for me. Basic make-your life-easier is all i need...stuff like reverse camera and others i mentioned earlier...plus steering control button...U should see how many time my thumb pressed the empty space on the blm steering to adjust the volume.

U want a stock 1.6 Waja auto (mitsu engine) as project car? i can try ask a friend whom fed up with his car as its start consuming lots of cash. Dun worry the car is good but was sent to slightly rip off mech. Only the power steering pump is kaput and shifting 1-2 got funny free feeling. Its a better base to start and since it will be cheap, better chassis..more reserve cash for mods.

1.8 waja can be bought for less than 6k. Non driving one can get as low as 2k-3k. If lucky u get the premium trim...even cheaper start up cost.

alcyon

Sep 13, 2015

Thats it. Make an offer to your fren. Buy that saga. Its the one you drove when you delivered the penrite ATF to me right ?

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016

- Looks?

Discuss.
1 - nahh, any car fit me will be OK. Some seen me before. lol...
2,3,4 - since my wira is daily cum learning/project car. Stock engine is good enough.
suspension, bars, wheels, tires, bushes....knn wallet koyak
5- well never cross my mind to masturbate in car

once you "hands" on with the car, caress, smell, kiss, talk to the car....kinda make it "special"

hi sifu;s & fren's, my close relatives car had been stolen this morning below is the car descriptions :

Proton Iswara sedan
colour: blue
plate no : WFJ 5715
last seen locations : near Carrefour Peel Road, Kuala lumpur.

I hope ZTH member can help to locate this car.
I know this is a very ordinary car, but it means much to its owner.