Wash Engine Tragedy !

VeiL

Jon : do u saw wat color of liquid they use to wash ur enjin bay? our side here normally they use Red in color, those red color is use for clean Air Cond...is strong and very powerfull(my house also got...). those can clean dirty & oily stain... jst spray some on top and the stain will gone, see how powerfull ? :)

erm...mine not serious as urs, jst my POWER STEERING cap sticker become white color only... hahaha... others still okie~ :lol:

so better wash with ur self lo next time~

ninety3

Originally posted by halteche6k@Nov 21 2003, 02:34 PM
My all time advice is watever engine u r having , DONT WASH YOUR ENGINE !!

its onlie my advice.... its up 2 u !!
watabout those professional car care centres? i'm sure they have enough experience to cover parts properly right? anyone have any experience with these kinda places? my engine bay needs a wash badly le ...

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Thanks all for your reply..
I will remind myself to WASH my OWN ENGINE next time.. :( :angry:

Will try out all you guy's great technics... Should be much better and engine shining clean :)

THANKS AGAIN !

Wayward

Nov 16, 2003
Penang, Malaysia
do you guys think that there are any other benifits to a clean engine other than looking good ?

Wayward

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Originally posted by Wayward@Nov 26 2003, 01:48 AM
do you guys think that there are any other benifits to a clean engine other than looking good ?

Wayward
Easy to locate parts in the car..

"OH, there is the battery... couldn't see it at first.." haha.. joking..

cyclonite

Nov 27, 2003
Ohh no wonder la last time my car went through a bad flood then for a few mins the engine really no power.... rpm cannot climb above a certain level. Cannot use 2nd gear also... no power. Even on 1st gear, need to neutral, rev engine a little then only release clutch and keep repeating that. If I left it in 1st gear also I think the engine would have died and then I was afraid couldn't start back the car. Scary man... I put hazard light to stop for a while then drove on, still same problem... after a while then ok already.

S_04

Originally posted by halteche6k@Nov 21 2003, 02:34 PM
My all time advice is watever engine u r having , DONT WASH YOUR ENGINE !!

its onlie my advice.... its up 2 u !!
I agree wit haltech don ever wash ebgine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

wllim5

guy can wash engine with engine degreaser or oven cleaner which is more friendly but not friendly to your hand and nose coz the smell is worst like killing your nose.

Spray it all over then wipe off with clothes. Remember no water.

I if the stain still remain use carbie cleaner they are stronger but still engine friendly. But don't shoot on hot header otherwise you will need fire extinguisher.

^_^

LB8610_Wira

Dec 10, 2003
last time in AUS i used to wash my own engine bay as well.....i just buy some kinda can thing......wat is it called oledi ah.....degreaser.....ya ya....just spray it all over the parts tat is dirty n wanna wash.....leave in for a while n then u can notice tat all the dirty parts starts to melt down n by then u can start spraying ur engine bay with high pressure water to hose away all the dirty sutffs....but do take in mind to cover the air filter n dun spray the cables where it connects from the spark plug......after tat quite satisfy also...but will notice tat the engine sounds different....like got bubble inside....then after a while it will resume to normal again loh......

PS: my own experience only..... :P

Having this problem where if my car don't start for 2 days, i will need to jumpstart it... happen for 3 weekends in a row...

Changed the battery to AC Delco MF but still same problem... switch to another AC Delco batt but problem still persists....

However, when car starts, charging show 13.0 Volt .... sometimes when idle at traffic light.. drops to like 12.2 Volt .. and even once to 11.5 Volt ....

And when engine is off, its about 12.4V only ... is this a sign that my alternator is a...