Upsizing brakes in Nissan Sylphy

Hi all.

I've sort of successfully transplanted a 4-pot Nissan caliper taken off a R32 Skyline into my Sylphy. The only problems I have now :

1. I can't find a decently priced service kit. Anyone have? RM300+ for rubber seals is unreasonable.

2. The brake oil bolt that locks the brake hose to the caliper for the Sylphy is too long. I had to use spacers and washers to lock it out and prevent leakage. After asking 2-3 spare parts shops they aren't sure if they'll be able to source a shorter but similar bolt. Does anyone know where I can find a shorter bolt that has the hole in the middle to allow brake fluid through, 0.25mm thread and shorter than 3/4 inch long?

Any feedback, help or offers to sell will be appreciated. But if you have something to sell please PM, don't advertise here.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
The bolt can be bought at any big hardware or bolt shop like United bolt.Car spare part shop wont carry bolt or of they do,only sought after one like alternator bolt.i recommend u buying the stainless steel type.bring along a sample for easy reference.

on the kit,if it consist of only o-ring u can search for a shop specialises only in seal.last time i replaced a resevoir seal on a w124,no spare part shop had that size or are willing to seperate the ring from the rebuilt kit.so,went to a seal shop and got one.always buy the best they had.in my case its rm2 per unit with diameter of abt 5 cm.plus, most of the time their o-ring is better than those available at spare part shop.

r32 brakes shares the same with s13 silvia, just that r32 ones are alluminium, s13 are cast iron.

btw, s14 / s15 calipers are much nicer, y not go for it?

---------- Post added at 11:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:57 AM ----------

Ooo ya your current rims can clear the 4pot anot? if not mistaken u need 8jj rims.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Bro iszo,
Since u diy a lot,i do recommend stocking on some size of bolt u frequently encounter.in my case its size 10,i kept in stock 2 lenght which is half a inch and one inch.another is size 12,same length.

next time u need it,it will be available and wont stalled your project.again,i prefer stainless steel.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
hardware shop have those bolt ah? I think he mean those brake caliper nipples where you bleed the brake fluid....
In that case kinda easy i think coz its almost universal lah.only the nut size os different.

On the seal,there is one seal shop opposite Maybank Malim Jaya Melaka.
Cannot miss as the name of the shop is seal mart.
But taikor not in melaka rite.

In that case kinda easy i think coz its almost universal lah.only the nut size os different.

On the seal,there is one seal shop opposite Maybank Malim Jaya Melaka.
Cannot miss as the name of the shop is seal mart.
But taikor not in melaka rite.
We can arrange touge to there.......:biggrin:
Then gunnerzz brother treat us to lunch......:rofl:

Melaka got mountains to touge meh.
No mountains but winding routes have. You got Melaka you use North South highway. I was driving before the highway was constructed. Use the coastal route, guaranteed have nice time......hahhahahhaha:rofl:

You want mountain, you go Fraser's hill loh.....

The bolt can be bought at any big hardware or bolt shop like United bolt.Car spare part shop wont carry bolt or of they do,only sought after one like alternator bolt.i recommend u buying the stainless steel type.bring along a sample for easy reference.

on the kit,if it consist of only o-ring u can search for a shop specialises only in seal.last time i replaced a resevoir seal on a w124,no spare part shop had that size or are willing to seperate the ring from the rebuilt kit.so,went to a seal shop and got one.always buy the best they had.in my case its rm2 per unit with diameter of abt 5 cm.plus, most of the time their o-ring is better than those available at spare part shop.
Hmm.. Why didn't I think of going to a bolt shop. There's one relatively nearby my place. My issue is I need to dismantle from my car. Need to plan when the Myvi is at home as well. As for the seal shop, where would you find one? I've never come across one.

r32 brakes shares the same with s13 silvia, just that r32 ones are alluminium, s13 are cast iron.

btw, s14 / s15 calipers are much nicer, y not go for it?

---------- Post added at 11:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:57 AM ----------

Ooo ya your current rims can clear the 4pot anot? if not mistaken u need 8jj rims.
Yes, clears 4pot. My R32 are 4pot mah. Very very close tolerance though. And the reason I didn't buy the S13 ones is because of the weight. Too much front weight no good. These R32 ones are lighter than my stock calipers.

Bro. Send me the size of the nut or u can come to my place. Theres this shop that specializes in selling nuts and bolts of all sizes near my shop.
Yeah ok. I'll need to measure. Might take out tomorrow to check.

hardware shop have those bolt ah? I think he mean those brake caliper nipples where you bleed the brake fluid....
izso, bolt find at hardware shop la....
Dude.. You think I haven't tried? This is a very specialised bolt. It's the one that connects the brake hose to the caliper, it has a hole in the center for the brake oil to flow through into the caliper. Hardware shops don't keep these type of bolts.

And that nipple I've broken a few in the past, spare parts shops sell this so I've no issue with this. Replaced a few before. Hehehe

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Agreed that seal shop is hard to find as its kind of a specialist shop.Most of the time only factory or huge plant source seal from them.their cust are 99% industrial customer.
If not mistaken the shop i go to have head office in kl or sel.
will try sesrching for the receipt and post it here if i found it

---------- Post added at 08:22 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:26 PM ----------

No. 47 Jalan Segambut Selatan, Segambut, 51200 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Telephone: +60 (3) 6257 7500 (Hunting Line)

Facsimile: +60 (3) 6257 7600

Above is adress and contact for seal mart.same company in malaim.jaya melaka

Dude.. You think I haven't tried? This is a very specialised bolt. It's the one that connects the brake hose to the caliper, it has a hole in the center for the brake oil to flow through into the caliper. Hardware shops don't keep these type of bolts.

And that nipple I've broken a few in the past, spare parts shops sell this so I've no issue with this. Replaced a few before. Hehehe
Oh! okay, understand what bolt now, similar to my hydraulic clutch ones....

Guys having trouble at the moment..
can a 4G15 racing clutch fit into 4G18 clutch system?
coz i hardly can find any aftermarket 4G18 racing clutch except Exedy...