Upgrade 4G93 Sohc

mr_lageenda

Jan 21, 2009
Need Advise n Opinion For 4G93

Now i want very fast to get Out Meter.i already change lancer meter 180KM/H.

So all of u can help me to get best performance with my car.(wira sedan)

1- Should be i convert to 4G91 HEAD DOHC.

2- Still use SOHC but Port Polish,install H/CAM,Adjstable Cam Pully, n use 3 kaki EXEDY Clutch.

For your refrence..
-I use 4g91 gearbox with 8.5" clucth n cover clucth
-Zenden extractor,1 bullet,2" piping n straight pipe
-Standard air filter but use long paip until front bumper to get cool air
-That all

I Know u all can solve my problem..And more skill n knowledge about car.

Thnks to all of u..

zac

Feb 7, 2007
Dunno abt others, but if i were you i will choose plan-2 like that still can maintain low end torque and high cam can enhance your hi rev power... if you really into NA, then you might have to change dohc, even if you chose plane-2 and get sicked of the power you still can go for BOT, sohc bot is very powerful also, commonly seen in civic...

Btw, your cost for plan-1 and 2 is?? i dont they are equal arent they?

mr_lageenda

Jan 21, 2009
I already think n make decision to upgrade my SOHC to DOHC.

My 1st planning is to find :

*Head 4G91
*Distributor 4G91
*Timming Belt 4G91
*Tensionar Arm

For your information :

-Still use back standard wiring (Original 4G92 SOHC )
-Original ECU 4G92 SOHC

Anyone have experience,skill n knowledge to upgrade SOHC to DOHC,please teach me n we can
sharing n discuss about this project.

I hope,i will learn n get more2 knowledge n skill from all of u.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
use 4g91 twincam head with 4g93t camshafts...
get it port n polished....

i thought 4g93 uses external coil instead of distributor??

zac

Feb 7, 2007
And your target is? fuel efficiency? performance?

Hijacked a bit can? Bro Sky, if i use evo3 gb replacing my mivec 1st gen close ratio gb, does it affect the performance? anyone did it before here?

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
And your target is? fuel efficiency? performance?

Hijacked a bit can? Bro Sky, if i use evo3 gb replacing my mivec 1st gen close ratio gb, does it affect the performance? anyone did it before here?
gearbox gear ratios compatibality i not very sure bro... sorry...

mr_lageenda

Jan 21, 2009
use 4g91 twincam head with 4g93t camshafts...
get it port n polished....

i thought 4g93 uses external coil instead of distributor??

1.Let me know what difference camshafts 4g91 n 4g93T..??
2.Standard price Port N Polish Head how much..??
3.Anything should me do..??

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
1.Let me know what difference camshafts 4g91 n 4g93T..??
2.Standard price Port N Polish Head how much..??
3.Anything should me do..??
if not mistaken 4g93t cams have longer duration and abit higher lift... of coz u have more budget, straight get JUN high profile camshafts... dun need play with oem cams...

there is no standard price for port n polish job... price ranges from 300-1.5k... it is advisable for u to check out their pnp job first before proceeding... a good pnp job normally worth rm500 above...

what are u planning to do first anyway??... ur budget??...

mr_lageenda

Jan 21, 2009

Tq SkYwAlKeR..

My 1st planning is want to convert SOHC to DOHC.But i cannot find the Tensionar Arm.Timing belt mybe next month.

I more think..should i change mounting beside timming belt..??same or not with with my old mounting.

My budget is around 1k.Not included do some modifications.Just convert SOHC to DOHC only.thats all.

1 more questions..??
*Head 4g91 just plug n play with 4g92 SOHC n 4g93 SOHC right.Or must be do some modification

zac

Feb 7, 2007
twin cam will have better high rev power, single cam better torque at low rev. Top speed dependd on their gb ratio... :biggrin:

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
Tq SkYwAlKeR..

My 1st planning is want to convert SOHC to DOHC.But i cannot find the Tensionar Arm.Timing belt mybe next month.

I more think..should i change mounting beside timming belt..??same or not with with my old mounting.

My budget is around 1k.Not included do some modifications.Just convert SOHC to DOHC only.thats all.

1 more questions..??
*Head 4g91 just plug n play with 4g92 SOHC n 4g93 SOHC right.Or must be do some modification
4g91 bore and 4g92/4g93 piston bore size is different... i not sure if it is 100% plug and play....

single cam should be better top speed than twin cam is it?
twincam would have better top speed...

mr_lageenda

Jan 21, 2009
Anyone have done modifications SOHC to DOHC..??
So how the improvement..??

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
Anyone have done modifications SOHC to DOHC..??
So how the improvement..??
I guess dyno b4 & after u can get min 10hp!!!

Bump: it does need any part changing for 4G9X model no matter for single to twin...
But pls ask those expert regarding wiring...but i think no diff...

My suggestion, u put 91 head & 1.8 intake magnifold(not sure if it's diff)
And y u waan use 92 ecu? use back 93, more fuel inject!!!

Adj cam gear in my car isn't that statisfy with functioning...no much help...some foreman said it do after u change hi cam to compensate the timing!!!
Pls the 91 top 1st...afterward only unlock the potential by hi can & Stand alone ECU!

GOod luck!!!:biggrin:

Korean Chaebol - KIA Motors is out to impress with their upcoming and newly designed next generation Kia Forte – Cerato in other markets and K3 in Korea’s domestic market, having sold over 445,000 units globally in 2011 alone.

<!--more-->The next-gen Forte (as it’s known in Malaysia) will be provided with a newly and futuristically designed exterior that will be longer, lower and wider whilst...