Standard rims are BORING

That is tyre size, not rim design as in looks....hahaha:biggrin:

Anyway, that is your choice. Car build for comfort comes with comfort tyre size. You want performance then only change to 17 mah!....:driver:

Depends on what is looked at. Bigger wheel with lower aspect ratio can have wider tyres that is why the handling is better....:driver:
But wider then on wet have more aquaplanning hehe!

The new Sylphy is using 17 also with tires 205/50/17. I took a ride in my friends one and it's surely firmer than the old one but still not too bad. For you instead of using 215/45, you should use 225/45 then it will be a tad more comfort similar to 205/50 with even wider footprint.
Ha? Not 215/50? Why would a wider footprint be more comfortable? It technically should be louder. And I don't think 225 will fit on my car.

The new one sits on 17"? I gotta go look see. Perhaps new car the suspension is a bit stiffer than usual until it settles in?

between 15 and 16 rims might be to little for a difference...so you have tested both and the comfort are similar? kudos to nissan..
need to check on sidewall height and tyre model..

btw the vid i see last time is for teana i think..

205/50/15 are just spot on...perfect for 1600cc sepang..lol..
Yeah man! Perfect indeed! The 15 and 16 rims, one profile is 60 (15") and the other 50 (16") so in term of comfort, perhaps you're right about the insignificant difference. But looks wise 16" looks so much betterrr...

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Ha? Not 215/50? Why would a wider footprint be more comfortable? It technically should be louder. And I don't think 225 will fit on my car.

The new one sits on 17"? I gotta go look see. Perhaps new car the suspension is a bit stiffer than usual until it settles in?

...QUOTE]

Nope, it's 205/50/17. The 225/45 will have about 10.1cm of sidewall which is almost the same as the 10.25cm sidewall of 205/50 used in the new one. If 215/45, then you only have sidewall 9.7cm, so a bit thinner and stiffer tire in general. In terms fo noise, yes might be more noisy but the feel should be a bit softer than your current 215/45. I also don't really pay much attention to tire noise since I always listen to loud music in the car! :biggrin:

In terms of fit, should depend on your rim offset. Is the clearance now already very tight when doing full lock turns?

But wider then on wet have more aquaplanning hehe!
Yes, but to a limit. If using 215 to 225 still quite safe and also depends on car weight too. Of course going like 245 and above the tendency to aquaplane is there....:driver:

---------- Post added at 06:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:28 PM ----------

Nope, it's 205/50/17. The 225/45 will have about 10.1cm of sidewall which is almost the same as the 10.25cm sidewall of 205/50 used in the new one. If 215/45, then you only have sidewall 9.7cm, so a bit thinner and stiffer tire in general. In terms fo noise, yes might be more noisy but the feel should be a bit softer than your current 215/45. I also don't really pay much attention to tire noise since I always listen to loud music in the car! :biggrin:

In terms of fit, should depend on your rim offset. Is the clearance now already very tight when doing full lock turns?
Bro. 6UE5t, basically 205/50 and 225/45 have almost same sidewall height but 225 is 20mm wider and more road surface contact will feed bumps to the car especially bumpy road. 45 series tyres also have harder sidewall construction then 50 series and tyre model again comes into play, so got many many aspect to this....:driver:

---------- Post added at 06:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:36 PM ----------

Yeah man! Perfect indeed! The 15 and 16 rims, one profile is 60 (15") and the other 50 (16") so in term of comfort, perhaps you're right about the insignificant difference. But looks wise 16" looks so much betterrr...
Wider footprint actually more bumpy as more surface contacts.

17" will look best, 16" in between and 15" for comfort only lah!:driver:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Yes, but to a limit. If using 215 to 225 still quite safe and also depends on car weight too. Of course going like 245 and above the tendency to aquaplane is there....:driver:

---------- Post added at 06:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:28 PM ----------

Bro. 6UE5t, basically 205/50 and 225/45 have almost same sidewall height but 225 is 20mm wider and more road surface contact will feed bumps to the car especially bumpy road. 45 series tyres also have harder sidewall construction then 50 series and tyre model again comes into play, so got many many aspect to this....:driver:

I'm using 245 at the rear and still ok la, can still do 120+ in the wet.

Yes, but compared to 215/45 that Bro Izso is using now, then the 225/45 will be a bit better in general (or provided using the same tires just different size) due to thicker sidewall by >0.4cm. From my experience, I feel sidewall thickness plays a bigger factor than tire width in terms of ride comfort, again provided the tires have about the same sidewall stiffness.

I'm using 245 at the rear and still ok la, can still do 120+ in the wet.

Yes, but compared to 215/45 that Bro Izso is using now, then the 225/45 will be a bit better in general (or provided using the same tires just different size) due to thicker sidewall by >0.4cm. From my experience, I feel sidewall thickness plays a bigger factor than tire width in terms of ride comfort, again provided the tires have about the same sidewall stiffness.
If you have 245 in front different story brother......:biggrin:

Usually the lower the aspect ratio the harder the sidewall becomes. You are on the Mark X, right? Totally different from Izso STD.....:biggrin:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
If you have 245 in front different story brother......:biggrin:

Usually the lower the aspect ratio the harder the sidewall becomes. You are on the Mark X, right? Totally different from Izso STD.....:biggrin:
Hehe my front is still 215 only but next change I will use 225 instead.

True, Mark X obviously different than Sylphy but I still believe his tire is too thin already hence becomes a bit uncomfortable. Based on my experience with many other cars, I will never buy tires thinner than 10cm sidewall height as a general rule in the first place. For me, I feel that sidewall around 10.5-11.5cm is the best compromise between performance, comfort, and looks.
Or if worry about 225/45 then just follow the current std size which is 205/50, provided his rims are not too wide (max 7jj).

Hehe my front is still 215 only but next change I will use 225 instead.

True, Mark X obviously different than Sylphy but I still believe his tire is too thin already hence becomes a bit uncomfortable. Based on my experience with many other cars, I will never buy tires thinner than 10cm sidewall height as a general rule in the first place. For me, I feel that sidewall around 10.5-11.5cm is the best compromise between performance, comfort, and looks.
Or if worry about 225/45 then just follow the current std size which is 205/50, provided his rims are not too wide (max 7jj).
That is why he looking for 215/50......:driver: but I love my 215/45R17, many many sets already, actually main reason, this size very common, many choices and best is the cheapest size. Going 225 price increase a lot......:biggrin:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
That is why he looking for 215/50......:driver: but I love my 215/45R17, many many sets already, actually main reason, this size very common, many choices and best is the cheapest size. Going 225 price increase a lot......:biggrin:
215/50 is nice and quite comfy, I'm using that size now for my front.
I'll never use 215/45 coz just too thin even though got tons of choices. 225/45 is about as thin as I'm willing to go for. (10cm sidewall is my limit).

Hey this thread is about rims, now talking about tires again! Should come back to the tire thread. :biggrin:

215/50 is nice and quite comfy, I'm using that size now for my front.
I'll never use 215/45 coz just too thin even though got tons of choices. 225/45 is about as thin as I'm willing to go for. (10cm sidewall is my limit).

Hey this thread is about rims, now talking about tires again! Should come back to the tire thread. :biggrin:
Because tyre fit to rims mah!:smokin:.......hhahahhahaha:rofl:

Serious? This one is your car? Never seen before pictures of it.
No la just photo from google. Same car but not like this one...but stock though haha!