Removing carbon

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
Since some how the admins had messed all the good threads in the forum (admins reli messed up real bad, i hate u guys now coz i cant find all the threads i m interested in)

So, i made some interesting discovery recently n open back this thread

How to remove carbon deposits

i tok bout using strong detergens to remove it, but this kind of detergen are not reli available in shops.
So, one day i wonder if there are any detergens laying around that are as strong

i found out the Formahero Wheel Cleaner also works :biggrin:
i dip a spark plug into it n the deposits did come out, but it isn't as strong as the detergen i was using before

But, if u dip it long enough (1 day), i cud work just as well

ps;
1) i buy formahero at ENEOS Jusco Metro Prima, the cheapest wheel cleaner they have oni RM13.90, coz i m kiasu . . . . .
2) also, the volume of formahero needed is depends on how much carbon there is, if more carbon means u need to dip in more liquid. As i said, its not reli a solvent, it has some kind of reaction.

also, mebi i try dipping some carbon into
a) chloroform
b) methanol
c) ethyl acetate
d) acetic acid
e) sulfuric acid
f) nitric acid (tis one cud probably work, mebi i add some HCl)
g) hexane
h) aiyaaaaaaa, lab got so many solvents arrr, got time oni try others arrr

eeehhh, anyone got any ideas of wat kind of chemicals can remove carbon, pleez suggest to me, also if u know the reasoning do tell me

i oso dunno, i play guessing oni :stupid:

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
so, today i oni manage to find 2 plugs tat have carbon
try on ehtyl acetate and chloroform

on the left is chloroform( NGK R plug) and the right is ethyl acetate (Denso Iridium)

The chloroform works ! ! !!
the solvent becomes browning and carbon particles slowly falls off
u can see my fren there doin his work on activated sludge, next time can work for Indah Water :rofl:
he called me a dickhead for doin nonsense work :stupid:

Ethyl acetate no effect at all . . . .

to be continued . . . . . :stupid:

cybtech

Feb 20, 2008
Great Bro!!!
nice work there...

One common factor about carbon.... it likes oxygen.
try any solvents that may contain oxygen properties that will gives off oxygen at quite hot temp. i think that might work but dunno how effective.

may try electrolisis... using the carbon as terminals..... but how to do that inside a car???

You can try many things bro... just put your chemical skills up to the test.
Good Luck Bro!

cybtech

Feb 20, 2008
Bro... try ultra hot water (by boiling it with the spark plug or something) donno it could work or not... but just give it a shot.

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
last time got one guy tell me carbon likes ion
now u tell me carbon likes oxygen

can both of u explain to me the reasoning pleezz . . . .

dun wan electrolysis arr, i lazy arr, veli susah mau bikin

wat is ultra hot water arr, u wan me make superheated water ?
nid heat n pressurized chamber
veli dangerous arr, i heard people said can explode eehhh
i takuutt . . .

anyone tried putting hydrogen peroxide ?
tis one can easily buy in pharmacy arr
u know lar, those women use to clean their private parts wan

cybtech

Feb 20, 2008
hahaha... you got a lab to play arround with....

i'm no chemist...... i stop during form 5 long time ago.
that time had a very good teacher.
all the simple jokes that related to chem.... some how still remember till now.

it's about the octate and the covalent strands.... need to get 8 ions to get stability.... when got enough... the charge is different.... so likes to get near anods.... walla!.....

if you put to chamber....long enough...(few millions years)... you'll get diamonds!

what i ment was... in a cylinder... you'll get high temp at quite high preasure...
so if add water vapour inside... what would happend....
this... i would like to know if decarbonizing by water works or not...

it is not that i want you to do experiments for me.....
but you noted that :
"eeehhh, anyone got any ideas of wat kind of chemicals can remove carbon, pleez suggest to me, also if u know the reasoning do tell me"

so suggest 'hot water' lo....

cybtech

Feb 20, 2008
last time got one guy tell me carbon likes ion
now u tell me carbon likes oxygen
thats me (both)! explained @ just posted it earlier

anyone tried putting hydrogen peroxide ?
tis one can easily buy in pharmacy arr
u know lar, those women use to clean their private parts wan
very good oxydizer... but scare... it gets karat faster than carbon to carbon dioxide.

very complex this chemistry... last time used to have migraines for this subjects.

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
aktuali arr . . . the 2.8.8.8 octet rule is mostly bullshit
the malaysian education system give all of us inaccurate knowledge
den when u go to form 6 or A levels or higher, suddenly they tell u all to forget watever u learn in form 5 n now they teach u real chemistry . . . .

reli depressing huh . . . get lied for 2 years, then suddenly oni tell u the truth. Most other people get cheated their whole life oso never know the truth :mad:

not 8 ions arr, its electrons . . .

not i dun wanna do ur hot water arr, no equipment n dangerous arr playing with high pressure . . . .
u go buy a pressure cooker n try lar, lab dun have arr

eeehh, hydrogen peroxide veli fun to play ler, can make roket :rofl:

ooii, y u so fascinated with diamonds wan arr, u r a gurl arr ?

cybtech

Feb 20, 2008
hahaha...
solly i'm a guy...
and guys need money or need to get untung whatever it takes...

that diamonds.... is one of the jokes that my teacher made....

you mean that what i've struggle in 2 years and tones or migraines are just for bull shit??? damn buggers

thanks for the corrections "ions & electrons" confused during the years...

ya hor H2O2.... both of them are flamable..... are they weak? if near fire definatly "pop" + "kaboom"???:biggrin:

if use this for decarbonization.... wonder how's the results.....
maybe become like nos.... hahaha.....

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
nice thread.
u want to remove carbon from combustion chamber or from the plug?
if it is the plug, then use tooth brush lar. haha. brush it with engine decreaser.

maybe u can try to use the penunu bunsen to burnt the plug see if the carbon can drop from there or not.

my 2 cents.

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
the purpose here is not to find some kemikal tat u can put in ur fuel tank or spray into ur intakes to remove carbon lar

i never see the point why to do tat, u clean now, once u start engine its full of carbon again. haiiiyaaaaa :mad:

Here just try to find the right stuff to remove carbon deposit oni
mebi useful when overhaul engine or can clean ur exhaust
remove carbon deposit kemikally :hmmmm:

bunsen burner is just same like ur cooking stove lar, not hot enough lar the gas
Need acetylene/oxygen gas flame oni can vaporise the carbon lar
flame like tis lar

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
i read from elsewhere mentioning the spark plug cleans itself under high temperature so i tot of using the penunu bunsen to burn it. haha....

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
under high temp and high pressure lar

if just simply burn it in normal pressure, u nid veli hot flame

but then if u use acetylene torch on a piston, ur piston will be cleaned, but later i tink not useable animore ler . . .

quik guys, tink kemikally
dun simply use force or heat or eletricfy it

cybtech

Feb 20, 2008
bro tried H2O2 yet???
i can't.... my gf used other subtances can't proceed.

using acetylene torch??? siao ah???
later find piston & valve cair....

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
bro tried H2O2 yet???
i can't.... my gf used other subtances can't proceed.

using acetylene torch??? siao ah???
later find piston & valve cair....
later on piston head got lubang!
haha................
i still prefer the traditional style.
use brush and diesel.

Was wondering if it's possible to change the cams that MIVEC operates on when it kicks in? So let's say I still maintain my normal set below 4.5k, then after 4.5k a new more aggresive set of cams take over. Is this possible?

Thank you!!