Proton 4G13/4G15....Satria/Wira/Saga

S16

Known Member
Senior Member

S16

Known Member
Senior Member
Nov 17, 2010
64
3
508
Melaka
i am using 4g13 efi satria. i wanted to ask you tat if i change the clutch from 1.3 to 1.6 by not change the flywheel cn?
if i not change the flywheel, will it can increase the power? o same?
Can be done. 1.6 clutch is heavier if compared to 1.3 clutch, so the flywheel need to be lightened (skimmed) to make it equal to the weight of 1.3 clutch + flywheel (before skimming).
 

S16

Known Member
Senior Member

S16

Known Member
Senior Member
Nov 17, 2010
64
3
508
Melaka
thx u bro. other than tat wat i can do to increase the top speed?
my advice, jz gt a 4g15 block and stroke it to 1.6. Mild mod will improve the torque slightly only.
 
Nov 12, 2012
2
1
503
Kuala Lumpur
mr skywalker, how to tune the 4g15 8 valve carburator? the air and fuel screw are separated isn't it?
and i just wanna know, i just upgrade my piston and currently i use kembara piston 1.3 in my 4g15.the pickup memang naik gilerr but is there any problem with that modification? thanks
 

funnymon

Junior Member
Senior Member

funnymon

Junior Member
Senior Member
May 29, 2006
11
0
1,501
Wira SE 04 VDO Jerk During Cold Start Idling
Item changed:
1. Spark Plug
2. New Throttlebody
3. New Plug Coil
4. Hotbit Exhaust Middle Piping + S Flow
Problem:
1. During cold start if u rev it RPM will suddenly drop to =<500 & jerking but it will back to normal again in 1 second time. Totally can't rev it! In other word, can't b drive...Gonna wait for few minute...(If turn on aircon situation even worst)
2. Car seriously under power, my gear 1 look like normal Wira GEAR 2!
What should i do ? Any suggestion other than buying halfcut....
Thank You
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,377
6,409
5,213
KL
Wira SE 04 VDO Jerk During Cold Start Idling
Item changed:
1. Spark Plug
2. New Throttlebody
3. New Plug Coil
4. Hotbit Exhaust Middle Piping + S Flow
Problem:
1. During cold start if u rev it RPM will suddenly drop to =<500 & jerking but it will back to normal again in 1 second time. Totally can't rev it! In other word, can't b drive...Gonna wait for few minute...(If turn on aircon situation even worst)
2. Car seriously under power, my gear 1 look like normal Wira GEAR 2!
What should i do ? Any suggestion other than buying halfcut....
Thank You
Auto or Manual? The TB is a 1.5 VDO TB or the 1.8 VDO TB? What's the condition of your spark plug cables? What engine oil weight are you using?
 

funnymon

Junior Member
Senior Member

funnymon

Junior Member
Senior Member
May 29, 2006
11
0
1,501
Wira SE (Manual)
Replace new Ori TB as per Mechanic advice but unfortunately didn't help to solve the problem...
According to the mechanic plug cable are ok.
I am using Nasa fully synthetic
 
Last edited:

CelicaIzPower

Known Member
Senior Member

CelicaIzPower

Known Member
Senior Member
Jan 3, 2006
58
0
1,506
www.zbs.com.my
Hi Guys,

I haven't been here for a while now... for those who did follow my 1st Gen Saga mods, FYI (car is currently under going recovery from an apartment fire).

So 1st up, since I am doing "Project Saga 2 (the recovery)" I need help and advise from some sifu's here about the following...

This is my current car specs that are not standard:
- Naturally Aspired 1.5 (12 valves, Carb, Manual)
- Hotbits Extractor with 1.75" Exhaust.
- Alloy Crank Pulley
- Bosch Super 4 Spark Plugs
- NGK Plug Cable
- ICEEEEE :proud:
- After market steering wheel with boss kit.
- 15" JRD Alloy Rims
- Strut Bar
- Short Shifter
- K&N 3" Open pod air filter
- Razo NA/Turbo Timer
- Swoosh Vacuum & Volt meter
- Zaptor voltage regulator and DIY grounding cables.

I am planning to do the following upgrades, any advise, comments or suggestions?

1. "Sparco" Steering Quick Release (anyone using? does it shake?)

2. "SARD" Fuel pressure regulator (I am using the standard saga carb, is this upgrade ok? or do I need to change the fuel rail and weber carb also before doing this upgrade?)

3. Arospeed Cam Pulley (or should I use the standard one since I am not going to put in Hi Cam?)

4. Mod 1.6 flywheel? (got benefit or the increase in power is not worth the cost & time?)

5. Exedy semi racing clutch? (or should I just stick to standard? benefits?)

Thanks in advance to those who reply. Appreciate it.
 
Just got a 4g91 fuel injection Auto half cut, planning to install it into my old wira and replace the original 4g15 carb 1.5 auto which has terrible FC. Starts blowing out white smoke once i drive up to 80kmph.
Question is will i get more power in terms of pick up or mid from this 4G91 auto? Will the FC improve as well? This half cut mileage is already 160,000km by the way.
What do i need to change once this engine has been transplanted?
Many thanks.
 

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member

badguy

500 RPM
Senior Member
Jun 15, 2004
951
2
3,018
Just got a 4g91 fuel injection Auto half cut, planning to install it into my old wira and replace the original 4g15 carb 1.5 auto which has terrible FC. Starts blowing out white smoke once i drive up to 80kmph.
Question is will i get more power in terms of pick up or mid from this 4G91 auto? Will the FC improve as well? This half cut mileage is already 160,000km by the way.
What do i need to change once this engine has been transplanted?
Many thanks.

bro sure the FC will become better

but since ur halfcut already 160K KM is better to change all tear and wear part togather as well as timing belt set together

1.engine oil (is better to get semi or fully oil - will improve FC also)
2.gear oil (change oil first if got problem u neeed to take out the whole gearbox to gearbox specialist to service)
3.brake oil (i think the forman sure will change for u)
4. aircond gas and oil (I think the forman will change for u also - since half cut come in already cut the pipe)
5.power steering oil (i think the forman sure will change for u)
6.timing belt, oil seal water pump, air cond belt, power steering belt

i think u done the above is good enough already
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,377
6,409
5,213
KL
I have a Proton Wira Automatic 1.5 GLI. May I ask where are the horns situated in this car. I cannot see the horn in this car. Thanks for your help.


lai
More than likely located stock position which is under the signal lamps on the side. People relocate them to the front for ease of installation.

Wira SE (Manual)
Replace new Ori TB as per Mechanic advice but unfortunately didn't help to solve the problem...
According to the mechanic plug cable are ok.
I am using Nasa fully synthetic
You should try changing the plug cables. I don't know how your mech checked the cables. This kind of power loss is usually electrically related.
 

tofu_manic

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

tofu_manic

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jan 11, 2007
1,342
91
1,648
1. "Sparco" Steering Quick Release (anyone using? does it shake?)
I'd skip this one, wudnt want it to snap while cornering

2. "SARD" Fuel pressure regulator (I am using the standard saga carb, is this upgrade ok? or do I need to change the fuel rail and weber carb also before doing this upgrade?)
SARD fuel pressure regulators are for EFI systems, not carb. FPR's not really needed for carbs. even though they do make them.

3. Arospeed Cam Pulley (or should I use the standard one since I am not going to put in Hi Cam?)
Can use also but for minimal adjustments only. Better if with high cam. Btw my old arospeed cam pulley had excessive wear at the camshaft pin hole area.

4. Mod 1.6 flywheel? (got benefit or the increase in power is not worth the cost & time?)
Never did this, majority of aftermarket flywheels are lighter (not bigger / heavier) to improve response etc. etc. so id rather lighten the standard one instead.

5. Exedy semi racing clutch? (or should I just stick to standard? benefits?)
Go for this if your power levels are such that standard clutch starts to slip and not able to cope.

Thanks in advance to those who reply. Appreciate it.
Reply is above in bold. Cheers!
 

yyap2

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

yyap2

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 16, 2005
1,146
2
3,138
Kuala Lumpur
Visit site
Hi guys, sorry to bump old thread, may I ask if the airbox between 4G13/4G15 Satria is the same?
Is it u young boi new in automotive?


Yes.. ur izzit fuel injection? 1.3 and 1.5 wira and satria is same body chasis... they have same parts mounting point.

---------- Post added at 08:43 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:41 AM ----------

Hi

Can some one tell me what is the valve clearance for the 4g13 engine

THX
Wow.... diy?.. u can always google for answer. I forgot about proton wira. . As I always adjust it. Removing the top cover will cost u a new seal.... so get a pro to set it bck for u
 

synail

Known Member
Senior Member

synail

Known Member
Senior Member
May 13, 2004
259
19
3,018
.
Visit site
yes iszo

vdo to vdo
mmc to mmc
no prob pnp

vdo to mmc
mmc to vdo
got prob to mount the sensor
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,377
6,409
5,213
KL
So K&N filter same for both lah?


Sent from my Lumia 925 using Tapatalk.
Yes la. K&N sells for "Wira/Satria", they don't say "Wira/Satria 1.3" or "1.5".

I wouldn't buy K&N though. It's expensive and constantly needs oiling. Very mafan
 

synail

Known Member
Senior Member

synail

Known Member
Senior Member
May 13, 2004
259
19
3,018
.
Visit site
airbox for the air filter same but air hose different, vdo had a IAT sensor, proton called that surge tank sensor:hmmmm:

same?:hmmmm:
my bro mmc4G13 got a sensor the size of my palm maf sensor
he want to use my vdo4G13 stock air box but no mount point for his maf sensor:confused:
i can use his open pod no problem w/o the adapter la:biggrin:
later he uses 4G9x stock air box settle
 

desmond0318

Known Member

desmond0318

Known Member
May 31, 2013
467
48
528
Kuala Lumpur
same?:hmmmm:
my bro mmc4G13 got a sensor the size of my palm maf sensor
he want to use my vdo4G13 stock air box but no mount point for his maf sensor:confused:
i can use his open pod no problem w/o the adapter la:biggrin:
later he uses 4G9x stock air box settle
haha drill hole and lock nut only ma.. ur bro mod on maf sensor, as i know mmc dosen't produce maf sensor for car below 1500cc those day, they use map sensor.