open port or carbon air filter

funkydog

Known Member
Sep 28, 2006
hi, went to the car accessories shop..... the guys said carbon air intake system better than open port wor........... true anot ? (newbie here la.... )

he say open port n carbon wil give off sound leh ..... any 1 here mod their air firlter before ? do give some comments.....

wat i wanna know is , is the sound loud or okok only ...... ( i dun wan loud loud ar....later mother scold)
hahahaha

funkydog

Known Member
Sep 28, 2006
wow..... fluffy .... seems like u r super active on this board...... haha.... every Q i ask...... only u reply ...... and u're knowledgeable........

RESPECT !!!!!!!!!!!

but which 1 more powerful ? open port or carbon ?

the guy also say , if dun open port ......juz changet the air filter only ..... (meaning putting it back to the original position ) like this also got effect anot ? (changing to k&n filter)

thanks in advance

alexklg

4,000 RPM
Feb 13, 2006
www.zerotohundred.com
funky, you should join our TT in JB. Then you can ask the questions to our sifu there.

Anywayz, which brands of carbon air filter did the guy intro to you? what engine you using and your budget... basically, a drop-in air filter can give you some performance upgrade.. if you have more budget, can consider open-pod and you need to make sure the open pod get enough cold air, if not, it will not work to its full potential. For Carbon air filter, i dun have much knowledge on it.

If you change to open pod or even drop in, the sound from your engine will be slightly louder... but i dun think your mum will notice it. :)

ethanphoon592

Known Member
May 11, 2005
Petaling Jaya