new engine conversion rules?

zan

Feb 20, 2005
i heard there will be new regulations with regard to engine conversions. is this true?

1. any engine replacement must maintained its capacity (or similar) without going any bigger. no matter 10% higher or 20%.

2. for proton and perodua cars which never produced turbocharged cars ... conversion to turbocharged engines wont be allowed any more.

hopefully sumone can confirm this...

zan

Feb 20, 2005
wait sumone confirm first lah. this might be rumours only..

ken yeang

faster-faster convert engine now.......before jpj change rules.....

Wait, izit a rumor??

kelvio

Jan 16, 2005
selangor
www.geocities.com
i dont think so lor if got sure news paper publish edi lor

raja_emeperor

Apr 29, 2006
nah..it just a rumors!my car just passed the inspection 2 months ago,it just cost me rm45 ringgit only.im doin it my self, no runners that will sembelih your money.here i listed the rules and regulation for engine conversion.for proton and perodua only,other model are still grey in rules but can apply tu ketua pengarah jpj putrajaya.

1. 2.0 convertion are not allowed anymore even your prv engine is 1.8 eg satria gti, putra or perdana.
2.cannot add engine bracket.must a drop in type engine.
3. 25% increase in engine cc are still applied.but no more 2.0 conversion.so max is 1.8 only.
4. same cc convertion no need surat kawal selia,but if u change your gear box frm auto to manual or vise versa u need that kawal selai letter.
5. if the prv engine are using diesel must use engine that using diesel,cannot reg for petrol,unless 4wd and taxi.

thats all i know and all info are up 2 date.tq

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
hi bro raja
let say i wan to convert a 660 manual kancil to L200 auto engine
so how is the procedure???

thanks in advance

raja_emeperor

Apr 29, 2006
gsrTurbo9166 said:
hi bro raja
let say i wan to convert a 660 manual kancil to L200 auto engine
so how is the procedure???

thanks in advance
u still need to get kawal selia ltt from jpj putrajaya to endorse this engine,then after u receive that ltt,u can proceed to puspakom.u need this ltt bcos u converted manual to auto.

p/s:oh ya forgot to add this info, if u want to convert engine more than 25% displacement cc,yes u can do so,but must get kawal selia ltt.so u can conv frm 1.3 straight to 1.8.

KeV-TEC

Jan 28, 2006
i wonder where u guys got such info... ermmm
many thing going around nowadays about cars

raja_emeperor

Apr 29, 2006
i gained this info since that im dealing directly with jpj and puspakom to endorse my 4g93t engine.im not using any runners,im doing it by my self.saved alot of money man,it cost me rm45 ringgit to register my engine,runners normaly charge aroud rm600-1500,depend on cases.u can check all the info directly to jpj kawal selia putrajaya and they will give u more explaination on this.cheers! :)

Slipknot Fanatic

Jul 3, 2005
HELL
raja_emeperor said:
i gained this info since that im dealing directly with jpj and puspakom to endorse my 4g93t engine.im not using any runners,im doing it by my self.saved alot of money man,it cost me rm45 ringgit to register my engine,runners normaly charge aroud rm600-1500,depend on cases.u can check all the info directly to jpj kawal selia putrajaya and they will give u more explaination on this.cheers! :)
Did puspakom do all those stupid tests like brake testing and side-slip test? Did not like the way how they do it. Was your conversion from 1.5-1.8 or 1.8 4G93P to 1.8 4G93? Good to know that you manage to endorse your new engine without using a runner. I thought of using a runner but did not since mine was endorsing 1.8-1.8.