need some info about 6a12 tt

ash_kimura

Apr 22, 2006
so sorry here....:embaressed_smile: i need some help frm old timer here to give a good advice abt 6a12 tt here coz i want to convert to my perdana v6

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
not a very powerful engine for a tt but very smooth.
and i hear that the maintainance is kinda high.

but try searching 1st..i think it has been discussed.

alvin24

Good advice:
If you're going to transplant and leave it stock... go for it! =)

Otherwise... go for a 4G63 instead.

V6 TT higher maintanence, and no power. On top of that, you can't find performance parts for this engine (unless they're custom made)... best u could do would be to PnP and change bigger turbo.

arih

Apr 12, 2005
Sunway
www.resakse.com
for me, it depends. If you're racing type dump the Evo instead of 6A12TT.But if you're going to cruise,boost here and there without lagging (good for zig zagging the busy road) and enjoy the marvelous sound from ur exhaust...then this is a good choice.Maintainance wise, just the same like other turbo engine cept at 75k mileage be prepare for about rm1.2k maintainance cost (6 iridium spark plug, timing belt,etc). For me I think it doesnt matter much cos I hardly can touch 75000km mileage in 2 year time. What I like most about 6a12tt are their response.Every time I tap the paddle, I know the power is there. No need change gear. Last month V-Sixers got a track day, on that day I realize is that my friend perdana with evo II engine can archieve 190kmph on that straight road but so're my 6a12TT. They may go faster 0-100kmph but 100-190kmph I think 6a12TT is faster. Too bad there's no drag race that count from 100km unless 6a12tt would be 1 of the engine choice.

just my 2 cents.

ash_kimura

Apr 22, 2006
what will happend if i change the twin tubo for TD025 to TD04 for twin?

alvin24

wooosh.... then u're on ur way to becoming an GTO... just that short of 1000cc !! hahahaha...

GTO does run on twin TD04.... it'll be interesting to find out how it'll be... should be quite power... but ur main concern is lag...

On the other hand... is metal gasket available for your car? Otherwise... ur normal gasket might leak easily if u boost high.

Precisely the reason why I said 4G63 would be a better option... coz' u can easily find performance parts. 6A12 what also cannot get...

kher

Aug 30, 2004
Klang, Selangor
If hand itchy 1 put Evo so when ur hand feel itchy n ur pocket very full u can play wif it.

If u plan to jus turbocharge ur car by adding a lil bit more of power n need some comfortable n smoooooth driving then 6a12tt is enuff for u.

ash_kimura

Apr 22, 2006
alamak!!!

i already buy the 6a12 tt coz if i go to eIII,i hv to change the mounting...i need to change the turbin TD025 twin to TD04 twin n used a metal gasket...ok ker?i already have GTO injector...should i install it?

Gawo

Mar 18, 2006
Dun worry dudes, 6a12tt engine is OK but if you are using auto transmission, watch out man... As other members said, 16 valve engine is mor powerful and pick up, but
in term of cruising, go for 6a12tt man !

alvin24

can get metal gasket for ur engine meh??

ash_kimura

Apr 22, 2006
metal gasket

i hv know somebody that can get me the metal one...

hey guys....if i change the turbine to become single turbo like using a TD06...ok ka?

what will be the effect? need i chang the injector?

so my parents decided to sell their 2009 lancer ES and I was wondering if i can add a turbo to it.
It is a 2009 mitsubishi lancer es, automatic 4.0. Even if it is pricey, i would like to add a turbo to my car, would i need a turbo kit? can my car take a turbo kit? if so, what would be some reliable brands and sources?

Im not a car expert, but i would at least like to know the ins and outs of my vehicle.

my budget is about $2500