MR2 max boost 1.1bar only?

vh-101

To all sifu, how come my fren's MR2 with Greddy Profec B2 boost controller maximum boost at only 1.1 bar. How come I can't boost over 1.1 bar? Stock Turbo CT26, stock exhaust.

ask him change the exhaust n try again......for my 245 model can go 1.3bar n think higher somemore but 1.2 for me is enuf...........hahahaha

Guys, what is the performance of your CT26 like? The housing is quite big but the fins are actually quite small. I am just wondering what is the performance like compare to a td05 or td04.

Thanks.

GroundZro, i've changed from a CT20 to a 26 (long story) but after porting and re-fin it goes like crazy :-0 can take a CT20 easy :P

ask him change the exhaust n try again......for my 245 model can go 1.3bar n think higher somemore but 1.2 for me is enuf...........hahahaha

well we will try that.. thanks man!

iexit,

Please share more. if you dont feel like sharing in public, pls pm me. I am considering the same. Who did u send it to? Wht is the spec now? how much in total for the mod? worth it? pls share pls share

goob, i said CT20 ma... never say CT20 and a ported eng. blowing 1.2bar of boost also :P

GroundZro, Easy, port the bugger, fit 2mm larger fins on the entry only (budget ma) & balance the turbo. If can afford it change the shaft to steel, and you can start boosting more.

Mine cost me about rm700 but i had to do it as my original fins were half past dead anyway. My mech. send the turbo to a turbo specialist, i also don't know where. But this is a cheap, reliable and 'standard' way to get more power... but if you considering getting max power out of the car you might want to change the entire turbo set up, it has more potential that way.

Remember when you change the fins you got the option of top end or acceleration you can't have both :-P

p/s i old man liau so only want to go standard :-)

Haha. I am also an old man. I am not driving an MR2. MR2/S are for youngster like you all. I doing a transplant for my car. Bought 3SGTE and I am planning to mod the original CT26. I am planning to go standard with a lil mod. I heard tht the std CT26 is weak so I am planning to have it modded. Engine is not in the car yet. Need to overhaul and replace a fair bit of the engine parts like water pump and seals and a few others. Since the engine is still a 'work in progress', i guess it is the best time to have the turbine modded lo.

2mm bigger and the difference is that noticeable.....I was actually planning to have the fin changed together with the shafts too. My mech told me that there is a SEG with 3SGTE and a 56mm fin. similar size to the evo td05 and the car goes like crazy. Not too sure how true it is but i guess it can be true since the fin is so much bigger (ori, if i am not wrong, ard 44m oni).

GroundZro, i've changed from a CT20 to a 26 (long story) but after porting and re-fin it goes like crazy :-0 can take a CT20 easy :P

We know ur car fast..........make me sad u say like that *sigh*

who dare challen tom's? i thot his car was d fastest?...running dual haltech e11s... 1 for engine control, the other one for dashboard meters, wipers, reverse sensor (d beep beep wan), antenna up & down, signal and etc... *clap clap*.... last i saw he smoked a ferrari while on reversing! ... don play play... yesterday at 'D-P" gathering also he smoked so many NSXs, GTRs and Supras... 350Z he say gay dun wanna play.. and he go spit on Celicas! (owners all diam diam)... memang dahsyat... got 1 old Z there.. Wangan Champion.. also dare not race him...

I'm running on stock 225 engine and stock turbo.

Once upon a time I boosted 1.3bar for half a day (hope the potential new owner doesn't see this)
I was running on 100ron av gas, new hks plugs, semi slicks tires, no exhaust back then.
Quite fast my butt dyno tells me.
0-300m in Pasir Gudang drag is 11.16s if i remember correctly.

Pls dun flame me or laugh at me ok.
My stock car is for sale btw...

lol..iexit..looks like you will have a number of ct20s ready to tapau your ct26. hehe.

225 stock engine..boost cut is 0.9 bar
245 stock engine..boost cut is 1.2 bar
You will be able to boost abit more due to peak(spike) boost.
Get an aftermarket ecu to remove boost cut.
Then boost-up...
Careful that u have enough fuel supply, if not you will have boom-boom engine.
:)
Try not to boost too high too cause CT20 and CT26 have ceramic fins on the exhaust fin. It will break easily and then you wont have any boost then...
Good point about ceramic fins...RESPONSE..
Have fun bro.

GroundZro, LOL love the CT26 vs. CT20 challenge... hehehe anyway the CT26 spools faster (better for acceleration) the CT20 has a better flow (better top of rev power) so it really depends on your driving requirements.

BTW my fins are 57mm. But i don't think the original fins are only 44mm not sure also. And yes there are SEG's running around with the 3S.

Tom's, What? you still faster in autocross wanna talk to much sommore ah!!! :P faster means faster lah, no difference what turbo you using :D. We should drag one day just to bench mark the turbo's, have to find a safe place first ok.