modding brembo, sifu pls help!

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
i open this thread since i know many sifu around zth had done this, so i need experience on doing this, pls,all sifu pls share and help:adore::adore::adore:....

i currently bought 1 set of evo 5 brembo brake, front and rear.... but sadly, with rotor,calipers and rear brake hose only......my car condition is, full evo 4 front parts, rear with evo 3 (4wd)..... 5x114.3 all 4 wheels

my problem and question

1.) handbrake cable can just use evo 4 or my ori wira ?

2.) can brake hose use back mine?

3.) how to fit in all the four brakes? i know front should be easy since e4 and e5 not that much different, but what a bout rear brake since it is e3? just custom a new bracket is enough??:hmmmm:

i need help pls:bawling::adore::adore:

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
any sifu can help?

drift_devil05

Feb 26, 2008
bro... ur ride sounds familiar.. use to send to JC? hahaha...

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
bro... ur ride sounds familiar.. use to send to JC? hahaha...
no bro, i am at sarawak..... i really need some clear explanation on how to do it:adore::adore:

mitsu4G

Jan 7, 2009
bro..already pmed u..i think i hv an answer for yr no.3 question..its true,u need to custom a new bracket for the rear brembo..for the front shud b pnp edy..

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
Peter, if you are using Evo3 rear brakes and plan to fit the rear Evo5 brembo twin pot then you need the whole knuckle for the Evo5 together with the rear rotors. This is because the rear brembo caliper do not have handbrake function!!. The hand brake is build into the rotor hub in the Evo5 onwards. This is well beyond just a bracket... unless you don't need handbrakes :)

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
Peter, if you are using Evo3 rear brakes and plan to fit the rear Evo5 brembo twin pot then you need the whole knuckle for the Evo5 together with the rear rotors. This is because the rear brembo caliper do not have handbrake function!!. The hand brake is build into the rotor hub in the Evo5 onwards. This is well beyond just a bracket... unless you don't need handbrakes :)
Mitsu4G , pls clearify is this true?

i got the e4 rear knucle too:biggrin::biggrin: disc hub 2 in 1 like u mentioned:biggrin::biggrin:

---------- Post added at 12:48 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:30 AM ----------

i found something, mitsu4g mod brembo to his lancer ck by using fto rear arm, fto rear arm and knuckle only got disc but no drum, and yet can mod brembo, i think the brembo suppose to have handbrake function:hmmmm:

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
anyo:hmmmm:ne?

viper5965

Oct 6, 2007
Q1--this situation ur need try n error 1st, bcoz u need to measure hnd brake cabel not too long or short from hnd brake to brake drum.

Q2--yes ur can used back the old 1 but for safety and life span should replace a new 1 ..eg:steel braided hose.

Q3--from ur mention, u have complete rear rotor from e4......mean ur have drum brake inside ur disc is it.....if like that u only plug and play ur e5 rear brembo on e4 rotor....i attach some pic e4 conv rear e5 brembo..

mitsu4G

Jan 7, 2009
wut viper5965 mention is true..but peterj rear 4wd system was from evo3 right?yes he can pnp those e5 rear brembo brake directly to rear rotor from e4, i think need to 'kacuk' rear e4 knuckle with rear e3 knuckle,or maybe jez need to change it(honestly,i dun hv any experiences on dis)..then only can fit, if not then jez like AlucarD says..hv to use everythng from the e4,arms,knuckle,hub,etc..which is out of the story for peterj..

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
i think i can take the drum and mod to e3 rear,try 1st.....

i use steel braided hose all 4 wheel dy,that is y i wanna use back .....

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
i will.... pray for me that i can successful mod the rear brake from e4 to my e3 rear and my rim can clear the brembo....

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
i think i can take the drum and mod to e3 rear,try 1st.....

i use steel braided hose all 4 wheel dy,that is y i wanna use back .....
Peter, you may have problems with the rear drum assembly fitting your E3 wheel bearings since you need to press in the rear drum assembly from the E5 to your E3. I recalled the rear bearings for the E5 is larger so the drum assembly may not fit. Lots of RnD and sakit kepala :)

The rear E5 disc is 300mm so will clear most 16" rims.

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
Peter, you may have problems with the rear drum assembly fitting your E3 wheel bearings since you need to press in the rear drum assembly from the E5 to your E3. I recalled the rear bearings for the E5 is larger so the drum assembly may not fit. Lots of RnD and sakit kepala :)

The rear E5 disc is 300mm so will clear most 16" rims.
i am using 17 btw, u mean the bearing at the center of the hub? i already jet out the center bearing from e4 rear hub and put in my when i convert to 5 lugs:biggrin::biggrin: no much different actually:biggrin: