Modding a Peugeot 408

marv3

Jun 5, 2014
Hello all sifus,

Im just wondering which is actually better? I mean the pros and cons and cost. My ride is a 408 Turbo.

And also, usually at which stage to do these? Im asking this is because, lets say, i do it now. Then later i change my downpipe and exhaust, or even change a mushroom or a new turbo kit, will it have a affect the remap or piggyback?

Thank you guys.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Hello all sifus,

Im just wondering which is actually better? I mean the pros and cons and cost. My ride is a 408 Turbo.

And also, usually at which stage to do these? Im asking this is because, lets say, i do it now. Then later i change my downpipe and exhaust, or even change a mushroom or a new turbo kit, will it have a affect the remap or piggyback?

Thank you guys.
piggy back as the name suggest tap into the existing ecu.
its a simple plug and play mod.it works with stock engine and minor mod like air filter and exhaust change.
if not mistaken,not much can be alter with the piggyback,which is why its the cheapest ecu mod.Race chip is one brand of piggy back.

remap is basically like deleting everything in yr stock ecu and downloading a new software or parameter for the engine to run on.stock car from showroom have setting which restraint some parameter the engine run on like misture,ignition.it is done by the manufacturer to meet emission regulation and for durability purpose.
remap is abit more pricy compared to piggyback.

then u have standalone ecu.this is needed if u change to bigger turbo with larger injector and so on.done properly,u can do whatever u want to the engine.low rpm for pickuo or high rpm..bla..bla..bla..

if yr car is thebone with the prince engine and using the paddle shift.keep in mind the max torque the gb can handle to make sure u dont destroy it by producing too much torque.

marv3

Jun 5, 2014
Roger that. Will take note on the gb torque limitation. But....I dont know how much torque my gb can take "-_-

Also, at which stage should i do a remap? Anytime? Or after all hardware mod is done?

Thank you.

---------- Post added at 02:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:18 PM ----------

Roger that. Will take note on the gb torque limitation. But....I dont know how much torque my gb can take "-_-

Also, at which stage should i do a remap? Anytime? Or after all hardware mod is done?

Thank you.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka

Thank you.

---------- Post added at 02:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:18 PM ----------

Thank you.
u can do it now.
if yr hardware mod is not extreme then u wont need to another remap when its done

marv3

Jun 5, 2014
Wouldnt i need to remap or retune the piggyback again after every hardware mod?? Say like now, if i do remap or piggyback, then later i change downpipe and exhaust system. The current mapping or piggyback setting may be different right?

By the way, which is better? Piggyback or remap??

Thank you

Thank you.
Piggybacks are reversible. Remaps are permanent. And it's usually done to support the hardware you've installed (if any).

Mind elaborating abit on this and also recomend some places?

Thanks....
Tuners are more important than the device you choose to go for. I could give you an expensive Haltech Interceptor but since I know nothing about tuning it, it'd be pointless. Find a good tuner you can work with and go with whatever they recommend to you.

Piggybacks are reversible. Remaps are permanent. And it's usually done to support the hardware you've installed (if any).
But not all ECU can remap, right?
I remember mine they have to re-chip then reprogram, or maybe mine just too old school dy....:smokin:

But not all ECU can remap, right?
I remember mine they have to re-chip then reprogram, or maybe mine just too old school dy....:smokin:
Change standalone ECU adi :love:

---------- Post added at 09:23 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:22 AM ----------

If once remapped and not reversible or adjustable, then what if after Remapping and it isnt what we wanted? Have to get another standalone ECU? :confused:

Hello all sifus,

Thank you guys.
Do absolutely NOTHING to your car. The Prince THP engine is notorious of problems. From the carbon buildup due to its less than stellar direct injection, to turbo failures, to depollution error, whatever the f that means.

Unless you want to pay through your nose. Its best you keep your car stock and warranty intact. The only thing you can do is change the original filter to a drop in variant by the likes of K&N.

marv3

Jun 5, 2014
Thank you all for the advise/comments/feedback.

Can anyone recomend where is a good tunner for both piggyback and remap??

Thank you

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Do absolutely NOTHING to your car. The Prince THP engine is notorious of problems. From the carbon buildup due to its less than stellar direct injection, to turbo failures, to depollution error, whatever the f that means.

Unless you want to pay through your nose. Its best you keep your car stock and warranty intact. The only thing you can do is change the original filter to a drop in variant by the likes of K&N.
Use K&N more carbon buildup dei!

Change standalone ECU adi :love:

---------- Post added at 09:23 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:22 AM ----------

If once remapped and not reversible or adjustable, then what if after Remapping and it isnt what we wanted? Have to get another standalone ECU? :confused:
Stand alone very expensive woh!

If can remap, probably can re remap? Not sure why non reversible? Non reversible like mine, cannot remap, but can re chip....:driver:

i would go for remap if the stock ecu supports remaps.... because can retain all the goodness of stock ecu and original sensor....the best is can switch back to factory map anytime...(normally use as backup)

for piggyback...u go send to SC already for checking they can detect....

Hi folks,

Anyone here have experience doing the engine balancing? What i know, for make ur engine more lighten.

Is there any reliable to this?