Mit 6A10 - How to mod?

Ken1778

May 10, 2005
Hi, I got a Mit 6A10 (is a smaller version of the v6 - only 1.6)

Currently, auto but will soon change a manual gear.

Just want to lightly mod the engine.

For daily driving, but just want a bit more power.

Any sifu out the to give some advice.

What gear box can I use.

Newbie here......

Thanks........

Kelis

Jul 5, 2004
Hi, maybe u might wanna consider changing your exhaust system, intake, n perform port & polish for your cylinder head? :smile:

Ken1778

May 10, 2005

Exhaust system changed.

Kelis, how much is the cost of port & polish???

Bangkai bro, any significant mod you done?

Anyone know wat manual gear box can be use?

Kelis

Jul 5, 2004
Ken1778, not sure about your place, but for mine, Port and polish can be done for around RM900. As for the gearbox, I am not really sure which one is suitable for your engine, sorry... Maybe the other sifus hear can hep out? He, he... :tongue:

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
first u need to look for 6A* series manual gearbox to replace, and it will cost u around 1k.

second, u need to lighten ur flywheel to get better pick up and fuel consumption in city drive.

3rd, extractor 6-2-1 for hotbit brand will cost u at RM900++

4th : u need have cool air intake for this engine.

happy to mod :D

bangkai_jk

Sep 4, 2005
m
i mod hks ext sistem and a k&n intake...ressting and changed the break lo.. dats all... port n polish cost so expensive??? omg...

alvin24

take off engine... sell... and transplant 4G93 DOHC. =) hehehe...

Reason why coz' 6A10 maintanence high, no performance parts available, and there's nobody who knows how to tune it properly.

Ken1778

May 10, 2005
Thanks, guys for the advice.

How much is your K&N intake, Bangkai? Where you got it? :rolleyes:

Bangkai, "very nice and fun at highway...." . :smile:

Advice, can you use a GTI gear box for 6A? Any idea, guys/sifu? :)

Engine transplant & the works got a good deal. Car running fine.

Just got the car registered with JPJ. For the time being stick with my 6A 1st....... may pass the car to GF.

Next, may be changing to 4G93 DOCH (if GF don't want the car) or buy an EG6. :biggrin: Still considering.

Boyzone, any recommendation where to lighten the flywheel?

Sifu, any idea how we can improve the stability of the car?

Any recommendation of what adjustable suspension to use? GAB is selling for RM 1.7k..... ok? expensive? Pls recommend.

alvin24

Gti gearbox on 6A10? What do u wish to achieve by this? Not sure if the ratios are the same... if it isn't, it will effect your response and acceleration.

Lighten flywheel most workshops also can do.

Improve stability of the car... well, 6A10 needless to say is damn heavy... u'll end up having quite a lot of understeer... try stiffening the suspensions... and get an anti roll bar for the rear... helps a lot.

bangkai,
you like V6 sound so much... mah record it and play it over your radio lor. =Þ

Kelis

Jul 5, 2004
Ken1778 said:
Thanks, guys for the advice.

Sifu, any idea how we can improve the stability of the car?

Any recommendation of what adjustable suspension to use? GAB is selling for RM 1.7k..... ok? expensive? Pls recommend.
Go for GAB's adjustable suspension system. :smile:

bangkai_jk

Sep 4, 2005
m
yah.. correct.. i also changed the vr4 suspention d.. i use integra suspention for rear..

When one mentions the Toyota 86, the usual suspects of keywords that describe this new rear drive sports coupe will come in the form of “going sideways”, “touge driving” or “great balance”. Those impressions are undeniably true, and the car is truly a sporty baby that has successfully inherited the soul that famed the old AE86. But those are not the only characteristics that made the new 86 as what it...