Mazda 1000 - Old School

Jan 15, 2006
Hi Guys and Sifoos!
I'm a new guy here .. I own a 1972 Mazda 1000 aka Mazda Jumbo :embaressed_smile: (previously belongs to my father) This car had gone for transplant many years ago (arround 90) .. hemm If I'm not mistaken the engine was from Mazda 808 1.3cc and the gear box still running on ori Mazda 1000 4 speed manual (back weel drive). The engine is still running smooth and I can easily reach 110km/h but the problem is all the body/chasis will shake like you're in blender machine and the stering shakes hard too oh ya one most important problem is the brake dosent work well... you have to step on the brake pedal as far as 50m before reaching the subject/last stop point! :shcokedcamo:

Now I'm planning to do modification, I know it will be sets of silly questions after this but hey I'm a total 0 in car modification. :embaressed_smile: hope you sifoos here can help. (pictures attached for more understanding of this machine condition :sad_smile: )

1. Can I transplant to a RX-7 13BT Rotary Engine in to this old machine? If can't is there any other alternative but as good as the 13BT power output? How much the cost of half cut for that kind of engine?

2. Can the RX-7 gear box fixed in it? What is the meaning of "firewall knocking have to be done"? What is the disadvantage of doing this.. will any problem accur in future?

3. Is it true the13BT cosume lots of fuel? (minum/makan/baaragghh minyak) how many KM /litre at 110km/h (highway)? and is the engine expensive due to high maintainance?

4. From your oppinion which one shall be done first... weld your entire rusted body or install the engine?

5. I've brought my car to a welder and he's asking for RM3.5K for fully weld entire rusted body and to stregthen the chasis (but he says the chasis is good) ... is there any other workshop can do for lower than that?

6.What is the best spring/shock for this car?

7. What braking system you suggest for this old machine? (prefer front & back disc brake)

8. Which workshop is ideal for the above modification?

9. Do you think this car can go more than 180km/h with above modification?

Best regards,
RX-J aka RX-Jumbo

phantomRX8

Insignificant Fool
Mar 21, 2005
ISS
bro...this is a potentially cool car but not without spending thousands..i am no expert nor i am a mazda owner but i have seen cars like urs with 13b 500hp rolling on 17in..cool factor 10..i strongly suggest u post ur questions here to rotary sifus in the Mazda thread..they will surly have the answers to make u drool..hehe..gud luck bro!!:vroam:

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
yo bro..
its a nice car...

my friend have one..
he is planing some 'project' to the car also
(he retired... so got a lot of time .. :) )

i sit in this car before
really nice car..
smooth original engine
outside looks small
but inside actually not small at all :o
quite spacious front seat.. (maybe due to dashboard and other interior design)

nice car..

and man...
i look at the pic...
beside the right hand side big time rust at the rear
everything pretty intack....
good car to start a project...

rattan

Oct 30, 2005
www.itswat.com.my
yeah man... get the car done up... big side fenders,custom seats, 17" rims, lowered, twin turbo, or maybe turbo. After all, after the modding is completed u will be smiling as your car maybe will be 200HP and u are free of installment. Where as buying a new car u are going to be bonded paying for 5 -7 - 9 years. Furthermore i bet this car has sentimental value of yr dad.

Cheers.

Escortmaniac

Jul 20, 2005
Hello

Hello Joe.......i'm an Old skool owner......Drive this Ford Escort sports...Rear wheel too.....well the probs.....u'r facing..like engine shaking chassis...and body...and steering column.....is..due to...... firstly front Lower arms.....are gone..... change dem......... maybe steering rack too is gone..if ur feeling a loose steering....... if it Runs ler.. ur braking ....is most prob ur......Servo pump..u can mody it into a ....wira servo..does solid brakes..for a Old car................or other wise..... u can choose...a Levin 111.... or ....sr20.. which can also Masuk.....but u've got to work on datbody...or not definate to tear apart.......... if ur in Pj...area....i can introduce u to a Mazda specilist......drives one of the fastest mazda 808 on kessas.....on illegel races..lol..one solid man..In mazda's and fords.......... well...those list above are the probs i bet ur facingnow.... i even have a thing since ur car is rear wheel...get that....Long shaft......serviced.......dats all for now joe...feel free to ask....

RX-J

Jan 15, 2006
Thanks to all Sifoos that replied..
I'm planning to go to KL today with my Mazda Jumbo to survey the engine and RE specialist workshop.. hope you guys can list some half cut shops and RE specialist that does angine transplant and modification...

Rafi
012-6774777

The BRZ / 86 is in a little bit of a limbo these days. A brilliant coupe on one hand and a asthmatic child on the other. Although Toyobaru coupes are never known to be powerful nor fast within the sports car vocabulary, they make up for purity, soul and driveability. It defines the true meaning of a driver's car. That's why driving legends like Tengku Djan has an 86...