Local vs Original

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Guys,
Local vs original parts, what kind of problems do they have?
I know spare parts like arms are more vital, for accessories, do they have any problem?
Price very, very huge gap.

Need advice:
Taillight for
Innova RM85 vs RM230

Headlight for
Persona Elegance RM105 vs RM250

Other than potential seal problems, which I can reseal it myself DIY, what problems do they have?

ken yeang

local made lamps are low quality. The colour of the lenses will fade in a few months. Even faster if left under hot sun, rain, etc. Plastic are too brittle, like keropok.

Better buy ori. My KE70 ori lamp (Koito Japan) last so much longer, compared to new ones (Taiwan)....

KenDiriwan

Mar 15, 2006
kendiriwan.multiply.com
local made lamps are low quality. The colour of the lenses will fade in a few months. Even faster if left under hot sun, rain, etc. Plastic are too brittle, like keropok.

Better buy ori. My KE70 ori lamp (Koito Japan) last so much longer, compared to new ones (Taiwan)....
Exactly what happen to my taiwan signal lamp, just 3months started to fade. Now both side different color tone of orange.

Bought my Kelisa tail lamp. Been about 1 year now. RM35 instead of RM120.

Still as good condition as the ori one on the other side.

If really faded within 2 years. I just buy another also RM35. Still total spent RM70. Means I only change them every 2 years.

Then it will take me about 8 years to totally spend about RM140 for tail lights :biggrin:

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
U can use car window glue.its sold in tube like a silicone glue.
black in colour and wont dry hard.very messy of u dont have steady hand.
or,window seal which is sold in strip but not recommended as its very hard.

on the lights,why dont u try searching for 2nd hand online which is near to you.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
U can use car window glue.its sold in tube like a silicone glue.
black in colour and wont dry hard.very messy of u dont have steady hand.
or,window seal which is sold in strip but not recommended as its very hard.

on the lights,why dont u try searching for 2nd hand online which is near to you.
Couldnt find second hand leh.

ken yeang

So far, taiwan made lights dont have water leaking probs. Just fading of colour.....I oso noticed that the reflector in the lamp isn't chrome, but painted silver. The light wont be as bright as jap ori lamps when lit up. This is very noticable at night.

I guess what you get is what you pay.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
So far, taiwan made lights dont have water leaking probs. Just fading of colour.....I oso noticed that the reflector in the lamp isn't chrome, but painted silver. The light wont be as bright as jap ori lamps when lit up. This is very noticable at night.

I guess what you get is what you pay.
I got it back tonight. Will let u guys know how it went.
For rear im not so concerned. Front is hotter, better take ori?

---------- Post added 11-06-2014 at 12:19 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was 11-05-2014 at 08:48 PM ----------

Well, the Innova taillights was pretty reasonable. Besides the fact that the wiring socket was wrong. :rofl:
For RM85, the fitment only abit out. Pretty satisfying. But the paint finish is pretty bad on the inside.

i recently change from manual to auto and there is slight power lost, can upgrade or not that auto gearbox? like manual can change flywheel and clutch plate..