Kangoo 1.4A is giving me alot and big headache

unsingable

Jan 27, 2008
i'm driving a limited edition formula kangoo, brought since 2006

few months ago the car having gear and brake problem, sent it back to workshop they tell me the sensor for the gear is spoiled and the rear brake thingy leaking oil, so ok no choice, replace. RM 900++ for the sensor and brake forgot adi but should be around hundred plus.

less than a month later.....

engine mounting spoil and battery died, ok no choice, replace. few hundred plus.

less than a month later again (last week).....

alternator spoil, send back to check, they told me alternator need to replace. additional the tensioner need to replace, timing belt need to replace, front brake pad need to replace, coolant need to replace, flywheel sensor need to replace. all together, almost 4k.........................

the more i fix, soon something else spoil...........can any1 pls tell me why is this kangoo failing me and why all these parts spoil???? am i gonna expect more thing spoil in the future????

BTW i never miss any of the schedule service...........

hulkv6tt

Dec 28, 2004
bro, by looking at your brief history .....it is time for the parts to be replaced, u bought it new rite in 2006...5years already and i belief non of the mention parts have been replace before...except for the timing belt and tension er i guess?......if u have the user/maintenance manual of the car... try to look for the schedule maint chart....at least u can preplan b4 any mishap happen....cheers!

drew1.0beta

May 27, 2006
Sorry to hear about that... i think you are just unlucky that all those parts fail together at the same time.. have you ever changed all those parts before? or is this the first time?

unsingable

Jan 27, 2008
none of the parts replace b4, i dun think the timing belt replace b4 either. all these while the car is sent to those workshop for service, the only time when i sent it back to renault service centre is big issue like the one i am facing now.

what i am curious is all these part that are failling is it my fault that i did not take care the car properly or it's just renault kangoo (some ppl keep telling me this car is not suitable for malaysia climate which i dun reali understand the logic for that :confused: ) plus am i suppose to expect more thing will spoil after i fix all these problem?

most european car rubber parts not well climatized for hot weather....

so the lifespan most of the rubber part shorter than normal stated in manual book.....(if not mistaken they have stated to take care and do earlier maintenance if using car in hot/dusty terrain.... :adore:

most european car rubber parts not well climatized for hot weather....

so the lifespan most of the rubber part shorter than normal stated in manual book.....(if not mistaken they have stated to take care and do earlier maintenance if using car in hot/dusty terrain.... :adore:
thats true...italian cars are worst...:banghead:

ps:including plastic....

btw...don't feel bad...your battery was amazing....from 2006 never change considered quite good already.....normally battery would last 2-4years only....but 5years is really good....

zane_al

Oct 8, 2010
Many of these continentals are like that dude, after a few years many things start to fail and are expensive to replace - 15k budget ought to be reasonable.
That's why many of us opt for jap-based cars unless we can afford to be different/stylo.

unsingable

Jan 27, 2008
ps:including plastic....

btw...don't feel bad...your battery was amazing....from 2006 never change considered quite good already.....normally battery would last 2-4years only....but 5years is really good....
lol, the battery din last that long, over these 5 years course this battery replacement will be the third. but others parts are first time need to replace, anyway got my car this morning and hoping there won't be any other parts falling on me. Will sell the car as soon as there a chance and finacially capable.

max327

Aug 16, 2010
N/A
RM 900++ for the sensor and brake forgot adi but should be around hundred plus.

less than a month later.....

engine mounting spoil and battery died, ok no choice, replace. few hundred plus.

less than a month later again (last week).....

alternator spoil, send back to check, they told me alternator need to replace. additional the tensioner need to replace, timing belt need to replace, front brake pad need to replace, coolant need to replace, flywheel sensor need to replace. all together, almost 4k.........................
i think you mean the rear brake pump for the drum brake.

how much is your mileage?

most of the stuff you mentioned are consumable parts that need to be changed due to wear and tear, not because it's a kangoo or conti. (brake pad, coolant, timing belt, engine mounting)
japs and local would need to change the same stuff over that period of usage.
just that the cost might be higher.

if on a budget, stay away from the service centers, go to a reputable third party renault or french/conti specialist.
some stuff like alternator, you can source for 2nd hand item. it can be like RM300 vs RM1000 for the original (for example).

---------- Post added at 09:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:58 PM ----------

and oh yes, you can expect more thing spoil in the future (again, since it is 5 yr old, not because it's kangoo)

CV joints, (should be fine if the boots are fine, replace the boot before broken)
wheel bearings.
absorbers

A

An Unregistered User

Never send back to the original servive centre. I think they may replace your oringinal parts with the others... I also have one kangoo. Three years after i bought the car, and sent it back to the centre, the qoute me 6K + to replace this and that.

skull

Nov 3, 2005
I have 2 06/08 Sportifs.
In general, the Goo is pretty reliable.
The replacement of the battery every 2yrs+ is expected, and the MF version costs ~RM300.
Timing belts and fan belt sets is recommended every 60k. I change mine ~4yrs, as my mileage is only ~30K/4Yrs.
Flywheel/TDC sensor replacement only if your Goo have difficulty starting. The never sensor version is blue in color.
The power steering sensor might leak and kill your alternator. Best to get this from TanChong when it leaks as they give 1yr warranty.
Gearbox sensor replacement only if the error appears on the display panel and verified through the diagnostics.
Besides these, it's the normal maintenance like engine oil change (~10k semi/fully syn), ATF and brake service.

If any of u looking for the Kangoo remote case replacement, my ad is on mudah.

Hi Guys,

I plan to buy a pair of Jasma 272 cam to put in my 93 engine.
Is Jasma camshaft reliable and durable ?
Anyone experience with this Jasma brand?
Please advise.. Thx